Skip to main content

Full text of "Little visits to historical points in Westchester County"

See other formats


n> 


"-X 


A 


,\ 


\,M  Willi     H. 


I 

I 
i 

I 

X 


^i>s 


\ssrA 


LITTLE  VISITS 

TO 

HISTORICAL 

POINTS  IN 

WESTCHESTER 

••COUNTY 

PART  ONE 

BY 

AN  AUTHOPJTY 


rmTx 


,   -•  >  o  » 


)  <     I.      >    >  ■  •     ' 


WKite '  Hains 


MAMARONECK,  N.  Y.      •       PUBLISHED 
Br  THE  51ICHBBLL  PRESS  -  M  C  M  ^  I 


(- 


PUBLIC  LIBRARY 

355664 


ASTOR,    LFNOX    AND 
Tit.DtN    ^OU^DAT!0^iS 


'    -  f 


•• »    t     •    •  1 

•   •  ■  •    *    * 


•  II    « 

a    t 


•       »  » 


'""I  " 

•       •   • 

•  •  t 


The  Richbell   Press    •    Waterbury 
&  Clapp   •   Mamaroneck    •    N.  Y. 


Copyrighted    1902 
WATERBURY  &  CLAPP. 


LITTLE  FISirS  TO 
HISTORICAL  POINTS  IN 
WE SrCHES TE R  CO  UN TT 


WHITE  PLAINS 


HITE  Plains  was  originally  included 
in  the  Richbell  patent,  but  in  1683,  by- 
some  authorities  said  to  be  November 
2 2d  of  that  year,  the  people  of  the 
town  of  Rye  bought  of  the  Indians  a 
tract  of  land  embracing  approximately 
4,500  acres,  and  thereby  obtained  pro- 
prietorship; this  tract  of  land  was  called 

by  the  aborigines  Quaroppas,  and   by  the  whites 

the  White  Plains,  from    the   fact  that   when   first 

seen  by  them  the  plain  was  covered  with  White 

Balsam,   (Gnaphalium   Polycephalum.      Meaning 

a  head  of  soft  down  or  wool)  then  in  full  blossom. 


WHITE  PLAINS 

After  the  purchase,  White  Plains  was  with  Rye 
under  the  government  of  Connecticut;  White 
Plains'  connection  with  Rye  was  dissolved  in  1816. 
After  a  time  a  new  boundary  line  was  fixed  which 
gave  both  Rye  and  White  Plains,  to  New  York. 
As  early  as  1760  White  Plains  constituted  one  of 
the  precincts  of  Rye  parish,  and  paid  a  small  sum 
annually  towards  the  support  of  the  Rector  and 
poor. 

The  original  county  seat  of  Westchester  was 
in  the  village  of  the  same  name,  but  in  1759  the 
courts  were  removed  to  White  Plains,  as  a  half 
shire  town  with  Bedford,  the  courts  being  held 
alternately  at  both  places.  The  first  Court  House 
was  built  and  here  were  enacted  many  stiring 
events  which  lead  in  time  to  the  establishing  of 
our  national  liberty.  The  present  Court  House 
stands  near  the  centre  of  the  village  and  occupies 
the  site  of  the  old  building.  Upon  the  removal 
of  the  Courts  from  Westchester,  the  first  Court  of 
Common  Pleas  assembled  here   the   27th   day   of 


WHITE  PLAINS 

May  1760.  Previous  to  the  American  Rev- 
olution party  feeling  ran  high,  the  people  to  a 
unit  were  in  favor  of  adhering  as  loyal  subjects  to 
his  most  Gracious  Majesty  King  George  the 
Third;  but  there  were  different  ideas  as  to  what 
constituted  this  allegiance;  many  deemed  it  prop- 
er to  pay  without  dissent  the  taxes  demanded  by 
the  King,  others  held  that  the  interpretation  of 
the  British  constitution  permitted  the  inhabitants 
of  the  Country,  or  at  least  the  freeholders  to  a 
voice  in  the  disposal  of  the  revenue,  they  were 
opposed  to  taxes  without  representation,  and  as 
the  press  was  entirely  in  the  hands  of  the  King's 
officers,  the  revolutionary  party  was  compelled  to 
issue  circulars  and  hand-bills,  to  publish  their  sen- 
timents. Both  parties  held  many  meetings  and 
passed  resolutions  declaring  their  adherence  to 
what  each  considered  right.  Meanwhile  the  rev- 
olutionists were  quietly  drilling  and  preparing  for 
the  conflict,  which  they  thought  might  take  place, 
as  they  saw  the  uncompromising  spirit  manifested 


WHITE  PLAINS 

by  the  King  who  continued  sending  troops  to 
the  Colonies. 

There  are  events  connected  with  White 
Plains  which  will  long  live  in  the  pages  of  Amer- 
ican History. 

It  was  here  that  the  Whigs  of  Westchester 
Co.,  solemnly  in  convention  promised  at  the  risk 
of  their  lives  and  fortunes,  to  join  with  the  other 
colonies  in  supporting  the  liberties  of  the  country 
and  protesting  against  the  army  that  King 
George  was  sending  into  the  country,  presumedly 
with  the  intention  of  frightening  the  people  into 
submission. 

It  was  in  White  Plains  that  the  Whigs  of 
Westchester  Co.,  appointed  t6  meet  the  commit- 
tees of  the  several  towns  to  elect  deputies  to  the 
Continental  Congress,  who  were  to  assemble  at 
Philadelphia  on  the  first  day  of  September  1774. 

Earnest  and  spirited  efforts  were  made  to 
get  the  voice  of  both  parties  on  the  great  ques- 
tion of  the  day,  and  a  special  meeting  was  called 


WHITE  PLAINS 

to  obtain  an  expression  of  the  sentiments  of  the 
freeholders  or  voters  of  the  county,  to  be  held  at 
White  Plains  on  Tuesday  the  eleventh  of  April 
1775.  A  spirited  article  appeared  in  Rivington's 
Gazette  on  the  sixth  of  April  addressed  to  the 
Freeholders  and  inhabitants  of  Westchester  Co., 
calling  them  to  be  prompt  in  acknowledging  their 
county.  On  the  13th  of  June  the  Provincial 
Congress  of  this  State  adjourned  from  the  City  of 
New  York,  to  the  Court  House  in  White  Plains 
where  they  met  on  the  9th  of  July  following  and 
there  continued  in  session  until  the  29th  of  that 
month,  it  was  there  resolved  that  the  Treasurer 
and  Secretary  of  this  Congress,  be,  and  they 
thereby  are,  directed  forthwith  to  repair  with  all 
and  singular  the  public  papers  and  money  now  in 
their  custody  or  possession  unto  the  White  Plains, 
County  of  Westchester,  and  this  Congress  be  and 
hereby  is  adjourned  to  the  Court  House  aforesaid 
there  to  meet  on  Tuesday  the  2d.  day  of  July 
next,  and  proceed   upon   business;   and   that   the 


WHITE  PLAINS 

next  Congress  of  this  County  do  meet  at  the 
same  place  on  Monday  the  8th  of  July  aforesaid 
unless  otherwise  ordered  by  Congress. 

It  was  further  ordered  that  all  the  lead,  pow- 
der, and  other  military  stores,  belonging  to  this 
State  be  forthwith  removed  to  White  Plains. 

It  was  at  White  Plains  on  the  9th  of  July 
1776,  the  Provincial  Congress  received  the  Dec- 
laration of  Independence;  there  it  was  read  in 
front  of  the  Court  House,  and  there  the  people 
solemnly  in  convention  promised  at  the  risk  of 
their  lives,  and  fortunes,  to  join  with  the  other 
colonies  in  supporting  it.  It  was  there  resolved 
that  500  copies  of  the  Declaration  of  Independ- 
ence be  published  in  hand-bills  and  sent  to  all 
the  county  committees  of  the  State.  The  letter 
of  John  Hancock  enclosing  to  them  that  declara- 
tion, after  acknowledging  their  dependence  for  suc- 
cess upon  the  Ruler  of  the  Universe^  with  almost 
prophetic  vision  announced  the  important  conse- 
quences, which  would  flow  from  that   declaration. 


WHITE  PLAINS 

"The  Declaration  of  Independence  was  read 
by  John  Thomas  Esq.  and  seconded  by  Michael 
Varian  and  Samuel  Crawford  two  prominent 
Whiss  of  Scarsdale.  The  latter  met  a  sad  and 
early  fate  by  the  hands  of  British  refugees." 

On  Thursday  the  nth  day  of  July  1776 
with  beat  of  drum  the  official  proclamation  of  the 
great  Declaration  on  the  part  of  the  Representa- 
tives of  the  State  of  New  York  was  made  before 
the  Old  Court  House. 

The  Old  Court  House  honored  by  this  fear- 
less step  in  the  cause  of  liberty  and  associated 
with  the  wisdom  and  virtue  of  the  great  and 
good  men  of  the  period,  was  destroyed  by  fire 
about  12  o'clock  on  the  night  of  the  5th  of  No- 
vember 1776,  together  with  every  dweUing  left 
by  the  enemy  at  White  Plains.  By  order  of  Gen- 
eral Washington  the  culprits  were  tried  by  the 
laws  of  the  state.  Pierre  van  Cortlandt  vice  pres- 
ident of  the  committee  of  public  safety  in  a  letter 
to  the    Honorable   John    Hancock,  President   of 


V/HITE  PLAINS 

the  Congress  of  the  United  States,  writes,  "The 
soldier  who  plunders  the  country  he  is  employed 
to  protect  is  no  better  than  a  robber,  and  ought 
to  be  treated  accordingly,  and  a  severe  example 
in  the  opinion  of  the  committee  ought  to  be  made 
of  the  officer  who,  without  any  necessity,  or  his 
general's  permission,  set  fire  to  the  Court  House 
and  other  buildings  at  White  Plains."  At  the 
trial  which  followed  it  was  made  known  that  the 
firing  of  the  town  which  consumed  the  Court 
House,  the  Presbyterian  Church,  with  a  quantity 
of  timber  desined  for  its  enlargement,  besides  all 
that  remained  of  the  town,  was  done  bv  order  of 
Major  Osborne  of  the  Massachusetts  line,  for  the 
purpose  of  preventing  them  from  being  used  by 
the  British  troops,  then  in  the  neighborhood, 
during  the  ensuing  winter;  these  facts  are  fully 
proven  by  affidavits  of  witnesses,  said  to  be  now 
in  existance. 

Washington's  army  was  stationed  at  Harlem 
Heights  and    King's   Bridge,  but  kept  a  lookout 


WHITE  PLAINS 

on  the  Sound  and  Hudson  river  routes,  to  pre- 
vent the  enemy  moving  south  and  east,  consider- 
able bodies  of  troops  were  advanced  along  these 
lines  and  temporary  entrenched  camps  were  es- 
tablished all  the  way  to  White  Plains.  The  prin- 
cipal magazine  of  provisions  had  been  accumulated 
at  the  town  of  White  Plains;  a  place  not  too 
far  removed  from  Harlem  Heights  headquarters 
and  yet  at  a  sufficient  distance  in  the  interior  to 
be  deemed  safe.  White  Plains  commanded  the 
whole  country  above,  since  all  the  roads  centered 
there.  These  various  conditions  positively  indi- 
cated White  Plains  as  the  essential  point  for 
Washington  to  reach.  The  military  stores  at 
White  Plains  were  under  the  guard  of  a  militia 
force  of  300  men.  Washington  accordingly  made 
a  deliberate  countermove  for  that  place.  Mean- 
while General  Howe  had  transported  his  army 
from  New  York  City,  to  Throgg's  Neck,  and 
from  there  to  PelFs  Neck  or  Point,  each  army 
keeping  a  sharp  lookout  on  the  other.     Washing- 


WHITE  PLAINS 

ton's  troops  had  been  filing  into  White  Plains  for 
several  days,  and  finally  on  October  26th  1776 
General  Lee's  division  had  the  honor  of  bringing 
up  the  rear,  more  than  three  days  being  required 
to  cover  the  distance.  The  full  strength  of 
Washington's  army  finally  concentrated  at  White 
Plains,  was  in  the  neighborhood  of  13,000  al- 
though many  authorities  give  a  much  less  number. 
The  British  soldiers  were  well  equiped  and  thor- 
ougly  disciplined;  while  the  Americans  were 
principally  raw  recruits,  indifferently  fed  and 
armed.  Directly  across  the  Bronx,  in  the  pres- 
ent town  of  Greenburgh  rose  an  elevated  height 
called  Chatterton's  Hill  which  was  to  be  the  scene 
of  the  impending  battle,  which  General  Howe 
supposed  would  be  the  decisive  conflict  of  the 
War;  on  the  crest  of  this  Hill  a  breastwork  had 
been  begun  on  the  night  of  October  27,  1776  but 
it  was  not  sufficiently  advanced  to  prove  of  any 
value.  There  were  no  American  troops  west  of 
Chatterton's  Hill.      From  his  camp   in   Scarsdale 

10 


WHITE  PLAINS 

General  Howe  marched  early  on  the  morning  of 
Monday,  October  28th,  1776  to  White  Plains. 
He  proceeded  in  two  heavy  columns,  the  right 
commanded  by  Sir  Henry  Clinton,  and  the  left 
by  General  de  Heister;  on  arriving  at  Hartsdale 
he  was  met  by  a  body  of  2,600  New  England 
troops  under  Major  General  Spencer;  this  force 
had  been  pushed  forward  by  Washington  to  stop 
the  enemy's  advance,  some  authorities  say  these 
New  Englanders  made  only  a  sorry  defence,  and 
this  circumstance  largely  determined  the  scene  of 
the  conflict  known  as  the  battle  of  White  Plains. 
The  Hessian  force  was  commanded  by 
Colonel  Rhal;  Rhal  in  his  pursuit  of  the  New 
Englanders  approached  Chatterton's  Hill  and  ob- 
serving that  the  summit  was  occupied  by  an 
American  force  turned  his  attention  thither,  he 
accordingly  took  a  station  commanding  the  Hill. 
The  American  troops  on  Chatterton's  Hill  who 
had  engaged  the  attention  of  Colonel  Rahl  were 
Colonel  Haslet's  Delaware  regiment    and  a   regi- 

1 1 


WHITE  PLAINS 

ment  of  Massachusetts  militia  commanded  by 
Colonel  John  Brooks.  During  Rahl's  artillery 
attack,  Washington  sent  over  a  strong  force  com- 
manded by  General  Mc.  Dougall  to  assist  the 
Americans  already  on  the  Hill,  the  united  force 
was  about  i,8oo  and  made  a  respectable  showing 
as  they  took  their  positions.  Just  outside  Wash- 
ington's lines  the  English  commander  ordered  a 
halt,  and  General  Howe  and  his  officers  held  a 
consultation  on  horseback.  They  concluded 
that  the  force  on  Chatterton's  Hill  was  a  serious 
menance  and  that  it  must  be  dislodged.  There- 
upon their  best  regiments  were  ordered  to  storm 
the  Hill;  the  attacking  army  was  large,  some 
authorities  placing  it  as  high  as  7,500.  The 
Massachusetts  militia  again  showed  their  weekness, 
and  although  protected  by  a  stone  wall  fled  in 
confusion  without  more  than  a  random  scattering 
fire,  when  Rahl's  troops  who  it  was  their  duty  to 
oppose,  advanced  upon  them.  Shonnard  and 
Spooner  thus  describes  the  affair. 

12 


WHITE  PLAINS 

"The  Massachusetts  militiamen  who  had 
been  so  skittish  under  the  artillery  fire,  showed 
themselves  equally  disinclined  to  sustain  an  in- 
fantry shock,  and  although  sheltered  by  a  stone 
wall  fled  in  confusion,  without  more  than  a  ran- 
dom, scattering  fire."  "Dawson  calls  this  the 
Rout  of  the  Bashful  New  Englanders." 

The  Delaware  men  were  only  about  300 
strong  and  made  a  most  gallant  defense;  the  Dela- 
ware riflemen  stood  their  ground  nobly  and  their 
remarkable  steadiness  in  maintaining  their  posi- 
tion was  greatly  supported  by  the  artillery,  under 
command  of  Alaxander  Hamilton.  In  fact  the 
crowning  honors  of  the  day  were  won  by  the 
Delaware  riflemen  and  Hamilton's  artillery. 
The  engagement  on  Chatterton's  Hill  was  not 
fought  by  the  Americans  from  behind  entrench- 
ments, but  on  ground  fully  exposed  to  the  on- 
rush of  the  enemy  relieved  only  by  the  slight 
protection  of  two  or  three  stone  walls  or  an  oc- 
casional rock  before   troops   outnumbering   them 

_ 


WHITE  PLAINS 

by  three  or  four  to  one.  The  retreat  when  noth- 
ing but  retreat  remained  was  performed  with 
dignity  and  without  material  loss. 

The  British  loss  in  killed  and  wounded  was 
157,  the  mercenery  regiments  79,  total  on  the 
enemy's  side  233.  The  losses  in  killed,  wound- 
ed, and  missing  was  93,  which  added  to  the  47 
lost  on  the  march  through  Hartsdale,  made  the 
American  total  147. 

It  has  been  proposed  to  erect  a  monument 
commemorative  of  this  battle  either  in  White 
Plains  or  on  Chatterton's  Hill  to  mark  this  in- 
teresting Revolutionary  event. 

The  following  account  of  the  military  quar- 
ters in  this  town,  and  its  vicinity,  in  October  1776, 
is  from  the  address  of  J.  W.  Tompkins,  deliver- 
ed at  White  Plains. 

"The  county  of  Westchester  at  the  com- 
mencement of  the  Revolution,  contained  a  multi- 
tude of  hardy  yomen  inured  to  toil  whose  ancestry 
had  fled  from  oppression  abroad,  and  In  the  en- 


WHITE  PLAINS 

joyment  of  greater  freedom  in  the  colony,  had 
imbibed  an  ardent  love  of  liberty.  When  the 
star  of  Independence  arose  in  the  east,  they  were 
ready  to  follow  its  lead;  and  when  New  York  in 
1776,  was  threatened  with  invasion,  they  flocked 
with  alacrity  to  its  defence.  When  the  battle  of 
Long  Island  turned  the  tide  of  war  against  us,  they 
still  adhered  to  the  American  army,  contending 
every  inch  of  ground  to  Harlem,  thence  to  Kings- 
bridge,  and  through  the  southern  part  of  West- 
chester County  to  White  Plains,  where  General 
Washington  again  determined  to  entrench  himselt 
and  make  another  stand  against  an  overwhelming 
force  of  the  choicest  British  troops,  flushed  with 
victory  and  confident  of  success.  A  brief  ac- 
count of  the  movement  of  the  two  armies  to  this 
place,  and  of  their  operations  here,  it  is  my  pur- 
pose to  give." 

"The  City  of  New  York  was  selected  by  the 
English  as  the  centre  of  their  military  operations, 

with  the  view  of  commanding  the  North   River 

_ 


WHITE  PLAINS 

and  acting  in  conjunction  with  a  force  from  Can- 
ada, descending  through  Lake  Champlain,  thus 
securing  the  Colonies.  Their  march  into  West- 
chester County  was  designed  to  obtain  command 
of  tlie  two  principal  routes  leading  to  New  Eng- 
land, one  through  Rye  and  the  other  by  way  of 
Bedford,  and  thereby  cut  off  the  American  army 
from  its  supplies  principally  derived  from  the 
East,  and  obtain  the  rear  of  General  Washington's 
army,  and  force  him  to  a  general  battle,  or  to  a 
precipitate  retreat.  But  Washington  penetrated 
their  intentions,  and  conducted  his  forces  north- 
ward from  Kingsbridge  with  great  skill,  moving 
in  a  line  parallel  with  the  British  a  little  in  ad- 
vance of  them,  facing  them  constantly,  with  the 
Bronx  in  his  front,  which  was  fortified  at  every 
assailable  point. 

On  the  1 2th  of  October  1776,  a  portion  of 
the  British  army,  consisting  of  the  Guard,  Light 
Lifantry  reserve,  and  Count  Dunop's  Corps  land- 
ed on  Throgg's  Neck,  and  on  the  night  of  that 

^6 


WHITE  PLAINS 

day,  Colonel  William  Smith  (then  a  lieutenant) 
with  a  Corporal's  guard,  broke  down  the  bridge 
connectingr  the  Neck  with  the  Town  of  West- 
Chester,  and  left  Sir  William  Howe  upon  an  island. 
On  the  i6th  and  17th  of  October,  the  English 
force  on  Throgg's  Neck  were  augmented  by  the 
1st,  2d,  and  6th  Brigades  crossing  from  Long 
Island,  and  by  the  3d  Hessian  battalion  from 
New  York. 

On  the  1 8th  the  whole  British  Armv  cross- 
ed  to  Pelham  Point,  and  marching  northerly,  en- 
cam.ped  the  same  night  on  the  high  ground  be- 
tween Hutchingson  River  and  the  village  of  New 
Rochelle,  where  they  remained  until  the  21st. 

On  the  2 1  St  the  British  removed,  and  en- 
camped on  New  Rochelle  Heights,  north  of  the 
village,  and  both  sides  of  the  road  leading  to 
Scarsdale.  This  camp  was  broken  up  on  the 
25th,  and  the  Army  moved  forward  to  a  position 
upon  the  high  ground  in  Scarsdale  and  there 
remained     till     the     morning     of    the     28  th     of 

17 


WHITE  PLAINS 

October. 

General  Washington  during  that  time  had 
not  remained  inactive;  as  early  as  the  nth  of 
October  a  part  of  his  army  crossed  from  Harlem 
Heights,  reached  White  Plains  on  the  12th  and 
commenced  erecting  fortifications,  and  on  the  2  2d 
General  Washington  leaving  his  headquarters  at 
Fort  Washington  established  them  at  Valentine's 
Hill,  whence  they  were  removed  to  White  Plains 
on  the  23d. 

The  entrenchments  at  White  Plains  were 
erected  under  the  directions  of  a  French  engineer, 
and  consisted  of  a  square  fort  of  sods  in  the  main 
street,  with  breast  works  on  each  side  running 
westerly  over  the  south  side  of  Purdy's  Hill  on 
the  Bronx,  and  easterly  across  the  hills  to  Horton's 
Pound. 

When  the  English  attacked  Chatterton's 
Hill  on  the  28th  they  were  unfinished,  but  dur- 
ing the  night  of  the  28th  and  29th  of  October 
they  were  raised  and  strengthened,  being  intended 

18 


WHITE  PLAINS 

for  temporary  use  until  the  position  above 
Abraham  Miller's  in  North  Castle  could  be  forti- 
fied, which  was  done,  and  to  which  the  American 
army  afterwards  retired. 

During  the  march  of  the  two  armies  to 
White  Plains  frequent  skirmishes  occurred.  On 
the  1 8th  the  vanguard  of  the  British  army  was 
attacked  by  a  detachment  under  General  Sullivan, 
and  the  fight  which  ensued  near  New  Rochelle, 
has  always  been  represented  as  very  creditable  to 
the  Americans. 

On  the  morning  of  the  28th  of  October,  the 
British  army  marched  from  their  camp,  in  two 
columns—  the  right  commanded  by  General  Clin- 
ton, the  left  by  De  Heaston,  and  came  in  sight 
of  the  American  forces  about  10  o'clock. 

On  the  previous  day  two  regiments  had  been 
sent  over  to  throw  up  entrenchments  on  Chatter- 
ton's  Hill,  and  the  next  morning  General  Wash- 
tngton  ordered  Colonal  Haslet  to  take  command 
of  the  Hill,  having  under  his  command  a  Delaware 

19  ~ 


WHITE  PLAINS 

Regiment,  the  Militia,  and  a  part  of  the  Mary- 
land troops.  General  McDougal  soon  followed 
him,  and  took  command.  Colonel  Haslet  says 
the  enemy  in  the  first  place  moved  toward  the 
fortifications  in  the  village—  they  then  halted—  the 
general  officers  then  had  a  council  of  war  on  horse 
back  in  the  wheat-field  and  the  result  w^as  that 
their  forces  inclined  towards  the  Bronx.  Fifteen 
or  twenty  pieces  were  placed  upon  the  high 
ground  opposite  the  Hill,  and  commenced  a  furi- 
ous cannonade  upon  McDougal's  forces,  under 
cover  of  which  fire  the  British  built  a  bridge  over 
the  Bronx  and  prepared  to  cross. 

General  McDougal  placed  two  field  pieces 
upon  a  ledge  of  table  rock,  which  did  great  execu- 
tion among  the  British  officers  and  soldiers.  So 
soon  as  the  bridge  would  admit  their  crossing, 
they  rushed  forward  and  attempted  to  take  the 
two  pieces  by  a  charge  up  the  Hill-  these  two 
cannons  were  in  charge  of  Alexander  Hamilton, 
and  never  did  officers  and  men  do   better  execu- 

20 


WHITE  PLAINS 


tion.  When  upon  the  spot  in  after  years,  de- 
scribing it  to  a  youthful  friend  he  was  heard  to 
say,  "For  three  successive  discharges  the  ad- 
vancing column  of  British  troops  were  swept  from 
hill-top  to  river." 

The  British  finding  this  table-rock  inaccessi- 
ble inclined  to  the  left  down  the  river,  and  joined 
the  troops  under  General  Rhal  which  had  cross- 
ed about  a  quarter  of  a  mile  below. 

They  now  attacked  McDougal  and  at- 
temped  to  turn  his  right  flank.  He  retreated, 
but  contested  the  ground  all  the  way  up  to  the 
summit  of  the  hill,  making  a  stand  at  every  fav- 
orable point.  At  length  the  British  cavalry  gained 
the  crest  ot  the  hill,  and  charging,  cut  to  pieces 
the  militia  on  McDougaFs  right. 

The  last  stand  was  made  by  the  Americans 
behind  a  fence  at  the  top  of  the  hill,  where  the 
Delaware  regiment  and  part  of  McDougal's 
brigade  twice  repulsed  the  British  Light  Intanury 
and  Cavalry.     At  length  compelled  to  retreat,   it 

21 


WHITE  PLAINS 

was  done  in  good  order  over  the  bridge  at  the 
foot  of  the  hill  under  cover  of  some  regiments 
detached  by  Washington  from  his  main  army. 
The  militia  and  a  few  of  the  regulars  were  dis- 
persed among  the  hills  of  Greenburg,  but  soon 
returned  to  headquarters.  The  British  forces 
engaged  in  the  attack  were  the  flower  of  the 
army  consisting  of  the  second  brigade,  the  twenty- 
eight,  the  fifth,  and  the  forty-ninth  regiments, 
Rhal's  battalion,  the  Hessian  Grenadiers  under 
Dunop,  and  a  party  of  Light  Dragoons  all  com- 
manded by  General  Leslie. 

That  General  Washington  did  make  a  suc- 
cessful stand  at  this  place  has  ever  excited  the 
wonder  of  miltary  men.  His  troops  were  greatly 
inferior  in  numbers,  and  discipline  and  composed 
in  parts  of  militia  and  raw  recruits.  After  the 
battle,  the  enemy  for  several  days  attempted  to 
gain  Washington's  rear,  tried  to  alarm  him  and 
induce  him  to  retreat  or  fight  by  threatening  his 
flanks.     At  several  times  they  formed  a  semicir- 

22 


WHITE  PLAINS 

cle  about  him.  On  the  night  of  the  31st  of  Oc- 
tober, Washington  evacuated  his  camp  at  White 
Plains  and  establishes  his  new  position  in  the 
hills  of  North  Castle,  about  one  mile  in  the  rear 
of  his  former  encampment,  when  the  British  ap- 
pear to  have  relinquished  all  further  offensive 
operations.  At  the  advance  of  the  British  army 
to  White  Plains,  the  Whig  families  were  seen 
hurrying  unprotected  before  them  with  their 
clothing  and  a  scanty  supply  of  provisions  to  seek 
shelter  for  the  coming  winter,  they  knew  not 
where.  Desolation  and  famine  marked  that  fair 
region  over  which  the  two  armies  passed.  The 
English  army  finding  all  attempts  to  circumvent 
General  Washington  hopeless,  broke  up  their 
camp  at  White  Plains  on  the  5th  of  November 
and  retired  to  Dobb's  Ferry,  and  from  thence  to 
Kingsbridge  where  they  encamped  on  the  13th 
of  that  month.  Thus  ended  in  Westchester  for 
the  year    1776    the    movements    of  the    British 

army. 

_ 


WHITE  PLAINS 

The  Wars  of  1776  and  18 12  Impoverished 
the  County  and  the  population  dedined.  In 
one  year  (1814)  there  was  a  shrinkage  of  nearly 
4,000.  This  loss  is  easily  accounted  for,  West- 
chester County  responded  with  alacrity  to  the 
calls  of  the  National  and  State  grovernments  for 
troops  to  serve  in  the  war  of  18 12  with  England, 
and  therefore  the  decline  was  considerable  in 
every  township. 

Early  in  the  twenties  rail-roads  were  brought 
into  use.  Trains  commenced  running  on  the 
New  York  and  Harlem  railroad  in  1 842,  but  is  was 
not  until  1 844  that  the  road  extended  to  W^hite 
Plains,  this  was  the  first  railroad  in  the  County. 
Although  the  road  was  conducted  in  a  very  im- 
perfect manner  its  completion  through  the  Coun- 
ty was  an  event  of  great  importance,  not  only  to 
the  people  living  along  the  route,  but  also  to 
those  of  other  sections,  and  as  the  work  progres- 
sed,  stage   communication   between   the    villages 

near  the  railroad  was  immediately  established. 

_  _ 


WHITE  PLAINS 

With  the  completion  of  the  railways  the 
population  quickly  increased,  and  the  value  of 
personal  property  and  real  estate  was  almost 
doubled. 

The  first  County  Judge  elected  in  West- 
chester County,  was  John  W.  Mills  of  White 
Plains  1850— 1856;  the  first  surrogate,  Lewis  C. 
Piatt  of  White  Plains  i  848-1  856;  the  first  Coun- 
ty Treasurer,  Elisha  Horton  of  White  Plains 
1849-1852. 

Intense  partisan  feeling  characterised  the  dis- 
cussion of  political  issues  in  Westchester  County 
in  the  electoral  campaign  of  i860.  The  County 
has  always  been  on  the  conservative  side  political- 
ly, and  the  Democrative  party  was  largely  domi- 
nant; the  startling  events  of  1861  made  a  radical 
change  in  the  political  sentiments  of  very  many. 
It  was  no  longer  a  question  of  the  supremacy  of 
this  party,  or  that,  but  of  the  existance  of  the 
federal  union.  The  president's  proclamation 
calling  for  75,000  militia  volunteers  was  issued  on 


WHITE  PLAINS 

the  15th  of  April  1861.  White  Plains  immedi- 
ately responded  to  the  call,  but  for  financial 
reasons  the  men  drifted  into  different  regiments, 
some  were  credited  to  Elmira,  their  captain  being 
made  lieutenant-colonel  on  the  21st  of  May. 
The  original  line  of  White  Plains  officers  were: 
Company  B-Captain  E.  W.  Anderson,  Lieuten- 
ants Thomas  W.  Dick  and  Horton  R.  Piatt. 
Another  regiment  in  which  the  White  Plains 
men  were  largely  represented  was  the  i6th  New 
York  Cavalry  mustered  into  service  between 
June  and  October  1863.  The  war  interfered 
seriously  with  the  growth  of  this  section  of  the 
country. 

A  beautiful  monument  which  is  shown  in 
the  half-tone  cut  on  the  frontispage,  was  erected 
by  the  Patriotic  Town's  people  of  White  Plains, 
in  memory  of  the  Soldiers  who  fell  in  the  War 
of  Secession. 

The  Village  of  White  Plains  was  incorpo- 
rated by  an  act  passed    April    3d,    1866.       The 

_ 


WHITE  PLAINS 

first  officers  of  the  village  were:  President,  John 
Swineburne;  Clerk,  John  M.  Rowell;  Trustees, 
Gilbert  S.  Lyon,  Edward  Sleath,  H.  P.  Rowell, 
J.  P.  Jenkins,  J.  W.  Mills,  and  Harvey  Groat. 
The  present  population  is  about  10,000. 

The  trolley  is  exercising  a  developing  in- 
fluence in  this  section  of  the  country;  the  line 
from  Tarrytown  through  White  Plains  to  Ma- 
maroneck,  is  well  patronized  at  all  hours. 

As  a  residential  town,  it  is  unsurpassed  by 
any  town  in  this  locality;  its  government  is  con- 
ducted by  energetic,  progressive,  business  men. 
Within  the  last  five  years  the  village  has  acquir- 
ed the  water  works,  the  sewerage  system  has  been 
extended  to  all  parts  of  the  town,  fifteen  miles  of 
macadam  roads  have  been  built  at  a  cost  of  $400, 
000,  a  free  mail  delivery  has  been  established, 
the  county  buildings  have  been  enlarged  and 
improved,  three  school  buildings  and  one  church 
erected,  the  train  service   has   been  improved  so 

that  at  the  present,  ninety-eight   passenger   trains 

_ 


WHITE  PLAINS 


to  and  from  New  York  arrive  each  day,  a  high- 
school  organized  and  charted,  and  a  pubhc  Hbra- 
ry   established. 

The  streets  are  splendidly  paved,  and  im- 
maculately clean.  The  houses  are  comfortable, 
and  in  many  instances  large  and  beautiful,  and  an 
air  of  contentment  and  civic  pride  appears  to 
prevail. 

Whitelaw  Reid's  beautiful  residence,  Ophir 
Farm,  is  justly  admired;  Mr.  Reid  is  the  leading 
envoy  and  special  embassador  from  the  United 
States  to  witness  the  coronation  ceremonies  of 
Edward  VII.  Among  the  mxost  magnificent  of 
palatial  the  residences  are  the  Gedney  farm  of 
Howard Willets;  Hillair  of  Paul  G.  Theobald; 
Hill  Crest  of  Trenor  L.  Parks,  etc. 

The  sanitariumiS  are  large  and  picturesque,  not 
the  least  of  which  are  the  White  Plains  Hospital; 
the  Keely  Institute;  the  enormously  wealthy 
Bloomingdale  Asylum,  which  is  a  village  in  itself, 
covering  with  its  fourteen   great    buildings    and 


WHITE  PLAINS 

beautiful  grounds  308  acres,  was  originally  found- 
ed in  New  York  City  in  171 1  and  remained  there 
over  one  hundred  years,  being  removed  here 
about  twenty  years  since. 

All  the  Christian  denominations  are  repre- 
sented at  White  Plains;  as  you  enter  the  village 
from  Mamaroneck  Avenue  the  Baptist  Church  is 
the  first  to  attract  your  attention,  this  is  a  substan- 
tial stone  structure,  with  a  congregation  fully  appre- 
ciative of  its  pastor  the  Rev.  Dr.  J.W.T.Boothe. 
There  is  also  an  interesting  and  steadily  growing 
Baptist  Colored  congregation.  The  Presbyterians 
hold  the  oldest  Church  property  in  White  Plains, 
dating  back  to  1727.  The  Episcopalians  have 
a  large  and  flourishing  congregation.  The  first 
Methodist  Church  was  incorporated  in  1795. 
The  Roman  Catholic  in  1848. 

The  Police  and  Fire  Departments  next  claim 
our  attention.  An  efficient  Police  Department 
thoroughly  housed  and  equipped.  A  Fire  De- 
partment with  modern  apparatus.      Lighting  plant 

__ 


WHITE  PLAINS 


fully  up  to  date.  The  three  Banks  are  in  a  flour- 
ishing condition  and  are  ready  to  transact  busi- 
ness to  any  extent.  While  the  Hotels  furnish 
ample  accomadation  to  people  visiting  the  town, 
all  are  under  superior  management  and  therefore 
it  is  unnecessary  to  make  invidious  distinction, 
although  Admiral  Dot's  wide  known  popularity, 
being  exhibited  by  P.  T.  Barnum,  as  the  famous 
dwarf,  brings  his  hotel  into  special  notice. 

The  tax  rate  for  State,  County,  School  and 
local  purposes  is  less  than  2  per  cent;  and  every- 
thing points  to  great  future  prosperity  and  pro- 
gress. 


30 


^IC  LIBRARY  \ 

-.1 


Vol.  I.  FEBRUARY  1902  No.  2 


'}  9SS^) 


LITTLE  VISITS 

TO 

STORICAL 

OINTS  IN 


.H^vJ^  JL  ^v^  Jn.  J.  JLLa'vJ^  M.  mL^ 


"w 


PART    TWO 


BY 


AN  AUTHORITY 


NEW  ROCHELLE  ,, 


Wl 


MAMARONECK,  N.  Y.       •      PUBLISHED     '^^\ 
BTTHE  RICHBELL  PRESS   -   M  C   M  I  1 


assK^)^) 


Copyrighted    1902 
BY 

J.   WALLACE  CLAPP. 


The    Richbell   Press    •  J.    Wallace 
Clapp     •     Mamaroneck     •     N.  Y. 


WWi 


LITTLE  VISITS  TO 
HISTORICAL  POINTS  IN 
IFESTCHESTER  COUNTT 


NEW   ROCHELLE 


[HE  town  of  New  Rochelle,  formerly  a 
part  of  the  Manor  of  Pelham,  was  orig- 
inally included  in  the  grant  made  by  the 
Indians  in  the  year  1640  to  the  Dutch 
West  India  Company,  but  no  settlement 
was  actually  commenced  on  it  until 
long  after  Thomas  Pell's  purchase 
which  occurred  in  1654.  The  aborigines  appear 
to  have  resided  on  Davenport's  Neck,  where 
they  had  a  large  settlement  denominated,  Shippa; 
a  few  settlements  were  also  scattered  along  the 
fertile  meadows  bordering  the  various  fresh  water 


31 


NEW         ROCHELLE 

streams,  especially  in  the    northern    part    of  the 
town, 

"On  the  sixth  day  of  October  1666,  Richard 
Nicolls,  governor  of  the  province,  dia  give  ratify 
and  confirm  unto  Thomas  Pell,  all  that  tract 
of  land  lying  to  the  eastward  of  Westchester 
bounds,  being  a  portion  of  Pelham  Manor, 
which  said  tract  of  land  hath  heretofore  been 
purchased  of  the  Indian  proprietors,  and  ample 
satisfaction  given  for  the  same." 

In  1669  the  patentee  devised  the  whole 
Manor  of  Pelham  to  his  nephew,  John,  common- 
ly called  Lord  Pell,  who  obtained  a  further  con- 
firmation tor  the  same  from  Thomas  Dongan, 
governor  of  the  province,  on  the  28th  of  October 
1687.  "On  the  20th  of  September  1689  we  find 
John  Pell,  Lord  of  the  Manor  of  Pelham,  and 
Rachel,  his  wife,  conveying  to  Jacob  Leisler  of 
the  City  of  New  York,  merchant,  in  considera- 
tion of  the  sum  of  Sixteen  Hundred  and  Seventy- 
five  Pounds  Sterling,  current  money  of  the  prov- 


NEW    ROCHELLE 

ince,  all  that  tract  of  land  lying  and  being  within 
said  Manor  of  Pelham,  containing  six  thousand 
acres  of  land,  and  also  one  hundred  acres  of  land 
more,  which  the  said  John  Pell  and  Rachel,  his  ^ 
wife,  do  freely  give  and  grant  for  the  French  ■ 
Church,  to  be  erected  by  the  inhabitants  of  the 
said  tract  of  land,  or  by  their  assignees,  being 
butted  and  bounded,  as  herein  is  after  expressed, 
beginning  at  the  west  side  of  a  certain  white  oak 
tree,  marked  on  all  four  sides,  standing  at  high 
water  mark  at  the  south  end  of  Hog  Neck,  by 
shoals,  harbor,  and  runs;  northwesterly  through 
the  great  fresh  meadow  lying  between  the  road 
and  the  Sound,  and  from  the  north  side  of  the 
said  meadow,  to  run  from  thence  due  north  to 
Bronx  River,  which  is  the  v/est  division  line  be- 
tween the  said  John  Pell's  land,  and  the  aforesaid 
tract  bound  on  the  southeasterly  by  the  Sound 
and  salt  water,  and  to  run  northeasterly  to  a 
certain  piece  of  salt  meadow  lying  in  the  sait 
creek  which   runneth   up   to    Cedar   Tree    Brook 

33 


NEW    ROCHELLE 

or  Gravelly  Brook,  and  is  the  bounds  to   south- 
ern. 

Several  of  the  leaders  of  the  Huguenots 
entered  into  correspondence  with  Lei&Ier,  with  a 
view  to  the  purchase,  by  him,  as  agent,  of  eligible 
land  for  the  establishment  of  a  Huguenot  Colony. 
The  Edict  of  Nantes,  a  decree  granting  a  meas- 
ure of  liberty  to  the  Protestants  of  France,  pro- 
mulgated in  1598  by  Henry  IV.,  was  revoked 
by  Louis  XIV.,  on  the  22nd  of  October  168-5, 
and  by  that  act  of  state  policy,  the  conditions  of 
life  in  the  Kingdom  of  France  v/ere  made  intol- 
erable to  most  persons  of  Protestant  belief. 

For  a  long  time  previous  to  the  revocation 
an  increasing  number  of  French  Protestants  had 
begun  to  seek  homes  in  foreign  lands.  America 
was  especially  attractive  to  them,  and  after  the 
revocation  (1685),  the  emigration  grew  to  large 
proportions. 

The  French  Protestants  already  in  America 
were  constantly  looking   about   them   for   a   suit- 

34 


NEW        ROCHELLE 

able  place  to  plant  a  colony,  and  in  1686  and 
1687,  secured  from  John  Pell,  portions  of  land 
in  that  part  of  Pelham  now  embraced  in  the  City 
of  New  Rochelle,  and  as  the  location  met  the  ap- 
proval of  the  Huguenots,  Leisler  as  the  constitut- 
ed agent  of  the  French  Protestants  was  led  to  locate 
the  settlement  in  that  place;  he  was  authorized  by 
the  Committee  of  Public  Safety  on  the  i6th  of 
August  1689,  "to  use  the  power  and  authority 
of  commander-in-chief,  until  orders  should  come 
from  their  Majesties  King  William  and  Queen 
Mary.  And  further  to  do  all  such  acts  as  are  re- 
quisite for  the  good  of  the  province,  taking  coun- 
sel with  the  militia  and  civil  authority  as  occasion 
shall  require.** 

For  assuming  the  government,  Leisler  was 
afterwards  tried  on  a  charge  of  high  treason,  and 
executed,  May  i6th  1691.  Everything  proves 
Leisler  was  condemned  unlawfully  and  executed 
unjustly.  A  petition  in  favor  of  reversing 
Leisler*s  attainder  was  signed  by  the  Huguenots 

35 


NEW         ROCHELLE 

of  New  Rocheik.  "Jacob  Leisler  was  truly  an. 
honest  man,  but  was  a  martvr  to  the  cause  ct 
liberty,  and  sacrificed  by  injustice,  aris;tocracyy 
and  party  malignity."  Throughout  the  year  pre- 
ceding his  execution^  we  find  Leisler  releasing  ta 
the  exiled  Huguenots,  the  lands  which  he  had 
purchased  in  their  behalf  of  John  Pell  in  1689. 

The  Huguenots  or  French  Protestants  of 
New  Rochelle  came  directly  from  England,  and 
were  a  part  of  the  50,00a  persecuted  who  had 
fled  into  that  country  before  the  revocation  of 
the  Edict  of  Nantes;  this  is  confirmed  by  the 
Charter  of  Trinity  Church,  New  Rochelle,  where- 
in they  specify  that  "they  fled  from  France  in 
1681." 

La  Rochelle  in  France  v/as  the  stronghold 
of  the  Protestants  and  the  English  favored  them 
at  every  opportunity.  "Assure  the  Rochellese 
that  I  will  not  abandon  them,"  was  the  message 
of  King  Charles  of  England  in  1627,  and  the 
same  interest  and  sympathy  was  extended  by 
-  ^6 


NEW        ROCHELLE 

King  Charles  IL,  who  on  the  28th  of  July  1681^ 
granted  letters  of  denization  in  council,  undef 
the  Great  Seal,  and  assured  the  exiles  that,  at  the 
next  meeting  of  Parliament,  he  would  introduce 
a  bill  by  which  they  should  be  naturalised;  reliev- 
ed them  at  the  moment  from  importation  duties 
and  passport  fees,  aud  encouraged  voluntary  con- 
tributions for  their  support. 

This  order  was  issued  the  same  year  in 
v/hich  the  Huguenots  of  New  Rochelle  fled  from 
France,  conclusive  evidence  that  they  constituted 
a  portion  of  those  exiles  who  accepted  the  royal 
offers,  and  afterwards  under  the  patronage  of  the 
government,  purchased  and  settled  here  in  1689, 
The  Huguenots  must  have  been  aided  in  their 
escape  from  France  by  the  English  vessels  that 
lay  for  some  time  off  the  Island  of  Rhe,  opposite 
La  Rochelle,  in  which  they  were  conveyed  to 
England. 

Tradition    says    that    they    v/ere    afterwards 

transported   to   America    in    one    of  the    King's 

_  _ 


NEW    ROCHELLE 

ships.  The  point  on  Davenport's  Neck,  Bauffet's 
or  Bounefoy's  Point,  was  the  spot  where  they 
first  landed. 

On  the  17th  of  April  1695,  we  ^^^^  letters 
of  denization  granted  to  Francis  LeCount,  under 
oaths  appointed  to  be  taken. 

On  the  6th  of  April  1595-6  letters  of  den- 
ization were  issued  under  the  Seal  of  the  province, 
to  twenty-eight  persons  of  foreign  birth;  being 
fugitives  by  the  persecution. 

They  continued  to  arrive  from  England,  as 
far  as  can  be  ascertained,  till  the  year  1700. 

The  settlement  of  New  Rochelle  was  com- 
menced by  the  Huguenots  in  1691,  two  years  after 
the  purchase  of  the  town.  The  records  of  New 
Rochelle  commenced  on  November  ist  1 699  in  the 
French  language.  The  first  independent  election 
for  town  officers  took  place  in  1783.  The  early 
settlers  gave  the  place  the  name  it  now  bears,  in  re- 
membrance of  their  native  residence.  La  Rochelle, 

in  France,  and  soon  became  noted  on  account  of 

_ 


NEW    ROCHELLE 

the  hospitality  and  politeness  of  the  people,  and 
also  for  the  facilities  for  acquiring  the  French 
language.  Many  people  who  afterward  became 
distinguished,  received  under  the  charge  of  the 
French  clergy,  the  elements  of  their  education; 
mention  may  especially  be  made  of  Washington 
Irving,  the  author  of  numerous  interesting  books; 
John  Jay,  "who  made  the  celebrated  Treaty  of 
Paris,  for  the  independence  of  our  Country,  and 
exerted  a  powerful  influence  in  extending  the 
limits  of  the  United  States  to  the  Mississippi," 
he  was  also  the  first  Chief  Justice  of  the  United 
States. 

Philip  Schuyler  entered  the  army  during  the 
French  and  Indian  War;  after  the  Revolution  he 
became  a  member  of  the  Colonial  Assembly  of  New 
York,  and  resisted  earnestly  the  British  attempts 
to  tax  the  Colonies  without  their  consent;  he  was 
a  delegate  to  the  Continental  Congress,  by  whom 
he  was  assigned  to  the  command  of  the  troops 
in   New    York,    and    of  the    expedition    against 

39 


NEW        ROCHELLE 

Canada;  he  afterwards  actively  superintended  In- 
dian alfairs.  Before  the  National  Constitution  was 
formed  he  became  a  member  of  Congress;  and 
afterwards  twice  represented  his  State  in  the 
United  States  Senate.  His  name  is  perpetuated 
in  this  county,  by  naming  the  Fort  at  Throgg's 
Neck  in  honor  of  him. 

For  two  generations  the  Huguenots  of  New 
Rochelle  preserved  in  its  purity  the  French  lan- 
guage. 

In  the  grant  to  Jacob  Leisler,  John  Pell, 
Lord  of  the  Manor,  and  Rachel,  his  wife,  "did 
give  and  grant  to  the  said  Jacob  Leisler,  the  fur- 
ther quantity  of  one  hundred  acres  of  land  for 
the  use  of  the  French  Church  erected,  or  to  be 
erected,  by  the  inhabitants  of  the  said  tract  of 
land."  This  property  was  long  in  dispute  be- 
tween the  Episcopalian  and  Presbyterian  Cor- 
porations, each  claiming  to  be  the  original  French 
Church. 

On  July  22d  1700  in  the  general    assembly 

40 


NEW        ROCHELLE 

of  the  inhabitants  of  this  place,  according  to 
Justice  Mott's  warrant,  "it  has  been  agreed  by 
the  plurality  of  votes,  that  above  the  hundred 
acres  of  land  given  by  Sir  John  Pell  for  the  j 
Church  of  this  place,  the  said  hundred  acres 
shall  be  taken  on  the  undivided  lands  according 
to  the  choice  of  the  elders  of  the  church,  as  they 
will  find  the  more  profitable  for  the  church  and 
people." 

In  1763  the  members  of  Trinity  Church  ob- 
tained a  further  confirmation  of  the  grant  from 
the  heirs  of  John  Pell,  and  subsequently  released 
to  each  other. 

On  the  4th  of  February  1763,  David  Guion 
released  the  same  to  Trinity  Church  for  the  sum 
of  One  Hundred  Pounds. 

Isaac  Guion,  Peter  Flandreau,  Samuel 
Gelliot  and  Magdaline  Stouppe  also  released  to 
the  Church  in  1767. 

Prior  to  the  erection  of  the    first    Huguenot 

Church  in  New    Rochelle   the   pious   inhabitants 

_ 


NEW    ROCHELLE 

of  this  town  walked  regularly  every  Saturday, 
starting  about  midnight,  to  New  York  a  distance 
at  that  time  of  twenty-three  miles,  to  attend  the 
Sunday  service  at  the  old  Church  du  St.  Esprit 
in  Pine  street,  New  York  City,  and  returned  on 
Sunday  evenings  to  their  homes  to  be  ready  for 
their  regular  duties  on  Monday  morning;  always 
commencing  their  march  by  singing  their  beauti- 
ful hymns.  Many  continued  to  worship  in  this 
manner  until  the  American  Revolution  broke  out, 
when  this  part  of  the  country  became  harassed 
and  over-run  by  the  British  troops;  the  people 
in  consequence  were  scattered,  and  the  younger 
members  of  the  community  grew  up  without 
going  to  any  regular  place  of  worship.* 

The  Rochellese  were  the  first  to  bring  the 
Marigold   to    America;    this    was    their    national 

*For  further  particulars  on  this  subject  see 
Rikeman's  Evolution  of  Stuyvesant  Village  (New 
York  City) 


NEW    ROCHELLE 


emblem,    and    on    all    occasions    displayed    with 
pride. 

John  Pintard  In  his  "Recollections",  refers 
to  the  Huguenots  of  New  Rochelle  as  receiving 
the  Holy  Sacrament  four  times  a  year — Christ- 
mas, Easter,  Whitsunday  and  the  middle  of 
September;  during  the  intermission  that  occurred 
the  communicants  walked  to  New  York  for  that 
purpose.  Previous  to  their  departure  they  always 
collected  the  young  children,  and  left  them  in 
the  care  of  the  friends  who  remained  at  home. 
The  Huguenots  were  very  solicitous  In  the  do- 
mestic education  of  their  children.  In  the  com- 
mon sitting  room  of  most  houses,  the  mantle- 
piece  was  finished  with  Dutch  tiles,  containing 
chiefly  the  history  of  the  New  Testament,  and 
the  Parables;  they  used  these  object  lessons  with 
excellent  effect,  in  connection  with  verbal  train- 
ing. 

The  first  minister  of  the    French    Reformed 
Church  in    New  Rochelle  appears   to  have  been 

43 


NEW    ROCHELLE 

the  Rev.  Daniel  Bondet,  although  there  are  some- 
reasons  for  supposing  that  the  Rev.  Thauvet 
Ecotonneau  occupied  that  position. 

The  year  of  the  Rev.  Daniel  Bondet's  set- 
tlement at  New  Rochelle  was  1700.  At  iirst  he 
used  the  French  Prayers  according  to  the  Protes- 
tants Churches  of  France,  but  in  1709,  his  con- 
gregation unanimously,  with  the  exception  of 
two  individuals,  followed  the  example  of  their 
French  Reformed  brethren  in  England  and  New 
York,  by  conforming  to  the  English  Church. 
Upon  this  conformity  we  find  the  venerable 
Propagation  Society  making  an  allowance  to  the 
Rev.  Daniel  Bondet,  and  directing  him  to  use 
Liturgy  of  the  Church  of  England. 

Governor  Ingoldsby  issued  the  following 
order  or  license  empowering  the  inhabitants  to 
erect   a    new    Church. 

"By  ye  Honorable  Richard  Ingoldsby,  Esq. 
her  majesties  Lieutenant  Governor  and  Com- 
mander-in-chief of  ye  province  of  New  York  and 

44 


NEW         ROCHELLE 

New  Jersey,  To  ye  Rev.  Mr.  Daniel  Bondet 
minister,  Chaplain  Oliver  Beesley,  Mr.  Isaac 
Vallian,  Dr.  John  Neuille,  Joseph  le  Villian,  and 
ye  other  inhabitants  of  ye  town  of  New  Rochelle, 
in  ye  county  of  Westchester,  communicants  of  ye 
Church  of  England,  as  by  law  established,  greet- 
ing: Whereas,  I  am  informed  of  your  pious  de- 
sign to  build  a  Church  for  the  worship  and  ser- 
vice of  God,  according  to  ye  form  and  manner 
prescribed  by  the  Liturgy  of  the  Church  of  Eng- 
land, and  have  been  applied  to  for  lycense  to 
erect  it  on  ye  public  street.  I  have  thought  fit, 
and  do  hereby  give  leave  and  lycense  to  you  to 
erect  such  building  in  such  convenient  place  of 
ye  street,  as  ye  shall  think  most  proper,  provid- 
ed ye  breadth  of  such  Church  do  not  exceed  thir- 
ty foot.  And  further  I  do  authorize  and  empow- 
er you  to  receive  and  collect  such  sums  of  mon- 
ey and  other  help,  as  charitable  people  shall  be 
disposed  to  contribute  to  the  good  work. 

Given  under  my  hand  and  seal  at  New  York, 

45 


NEW    ROCHELLE 

this  20th.  day  of  March,  1709,  and   of  her   maj- 
esties reign  ye  ninth  year." 

"Richard  Ingoldsby" 
Church  erected  in  1710-11  was  constructed  of 
stone,  and  formed  nearly  a  square,  being  perfectly 
plain,  within  and  without.  The  foundation  stone 
was  laid  by  Governor  Hunter;  and  the  people 
were  so  enthusiastic  that  even  the  women  carried 
stones  in  their  hands,  and  mortar  in  their  aprons, 
to  complete  the  work. 

On  February  7th  1714  Queen  Annie  of 
England  was  pleased  to  grant  and  confirm  the 
new  Church,  and  the  ground  whereon  it  stood. 

During  the  incumbency  of  the  Rev.  Michael 
Houdin,  Trinity  Church,  New  Rochelle,  receiv- 
ed her  first  charter  from  King  George  III. 
Queen  Annie  in  1706,  presented  to  Trinity 
Church  a  large  chalice  and  paten;  this  beautiful 
service,  was  many  years  since  deposited  in  the 
vaults  of  Tiffany,  Mahattan.  The  Queen  also 
presented  a  Church  Bible,  Book  of  Homilies,  and 


NEW         ROCHELLE 


cloth  for  the  pulpit  and  communion  table. 
About  the  same  time,  two  small  chalices  were 
presented  by  a  member  of  the  Davenport  family. 

On  the  28th  of  February  1808,  the  Presby- 
terian Church  was  incorporated  under  the  title  of 
the  "French  Church  of  Nev/  RocheJle./*  proving 
-conclusively  that  many  of  the  Huguenots  did 
not  enter  the  Episcopal  fold;  this  congregation 
"was  at  iirst  attached  to  the  Bedford  presbytry. 
There  is  a  tradition  that  one  of  the  old  Hugue- 
nots would  daily  repair  to  Bounefoy's  or  BaufFet's 
Point,  the  place  where  the  Huguenots  first  land- 
ed, and  turning  his  eyes  in  the  direction  in  which 
he  supposed  France  was  situated,  would  sing  one 
of  Marot's  hymns,  and  send  to  heaven  his  morn- 
ing devotions.  Frequently  his  friends  joined 
him  in  these  pious  remembrances  of  their  God, 
and  their  beloved  country,  from  which  they  had 
been  so  cruelly  driven. 

The  Huguenots  opened  the  road  from  New 
Rochelle  to  White    Plains,    this    road    seperated 

47 


NEW    ROCHELLE 

their  farms  into  two  sections,  distinQ-uished  as 
the  eastern  and  western  division. 

The  land  was  originaJly  laid  out  in  parallel., 
narrov/  strips,  containing  each  from  fifty  to  sixty 
acres.  Some  of  the  early  settlers  purchased 
double  lots,  and  a  very  few  from  eight  to  ten^^ 
containing  four  or  five  hundred  acres  in  all. 

The  lower  p^rt  of  the  town,  designated  as  the 
southern  division,  was  laid  out  in  a  similar  man- 
ner, the  lots  extending  from  the  south  side  of 
the  Boston  Turnpike  to  the  Sound.  Am.ong 
those  in  the  west  division,  were  the  Drakes^ 
Badeaus  and  the  Secors.  In  the  east  division 
the  Le  Counts,  Soulices,  Scurmans  and  Bonnetts, 
And  in  the  southern  division  the  Guions,  Rhine- 
landers  and  Flandreaus. 

The  refugees  escaped  from  France,  w^ith  only 
a  few  articles  concealed  about  their  persons;  the 
woman  hiding  their  smxall  bibles  in  their  high 
dressed  hair.  Their  farms  were  not  paid  for 
until  after  many  years  of  toil,  rigid  econom.y  and 


NEW         ROCHELLE 


£rm  reliance  in  the  All  Powerful  One^ 

"What  sought  they  thus  afar, 
Bright  jewels  of  the  mine  ? 

The  wealth  of  war,  the  spoil  of  seas  ? 
They  sought  a  faiths  pure  shrine." 

This  ceaseless  toil  and  endeavor,  developed 
still  further  their  already  well-rounded  characters, 
and  placed  them  among  the  noblest  of  our 
national  pioneers. 

A  descendant  of  one  of  "these  men  of  sterl- 
ing worth"  has  recorded  his  name  on  Boston's 
great  Kail.  Peter  Faneuil  a  native  of  the  "Town 
of  New  Rochelle,"  went  to  Boston  in  the  year 
1720,  at  the  age  of  eighteen;  his  uncle  Andrew 
Faneuil,  was  a  wealthy  merchant  of  that  place,  and 
Peter  obtained  employm.ent  with  him,  and  inherit- 
ed his  fortune.  In  1740  the  people  of  Boston 
were  divided  in  opinion  upon  the  question  of  the 
erection  of  a  new  Central  Market  Hall,  and  much 
bitter  feeling  was  aroused.  Thereupon,  Peter 
Faneuil,  actuated  by  public  spirit,  erected  Faneuil 


NEW        ROCHELLE 

Hall,  and  presented  it  to  the  City. 

During  the  Revoiutionar)'  War  New  Ro- 
chelle  appears  to  have  endured  her  share  of  suffer- 
ing from  the  incursion  of  the  enerny,  and  their 
emissaries.  On  the  i^th  of  October,  Lord 
Howe,  the  British  commander,  took  post  in  the* 
village,  General  Washington  occupying  the  in- 
termediate heights  between  the  two  rivers  the 
enemy  was  joined  by  the  second  division  of 
Germans,  under  the  command  of  General  Knvp- 
hausen,  and  by  an  incomplete  regiment  of  caval- 
ry from  Ireland,  some  of  which  had  been  captur- 
on  their  passage. 

The  Scotch  Highland  battalion  occupied 
the  heights  of  New  Rochelle.  From  this  place 
both  armies  moved  toward  White  Plains,  on  the 
25th  of  October,  1776.  On  the  29th  of  January 
1777,  General  Wooster's  division  was  ordered  to 
New  Rochelle. 

At  the  east  end  of  the  village  a  severe  skir- 
mish took    place   between   a    body   of  American 

50 


NEW    ROCHELLE 


light  horse,  under  Colonel  Moyland,  and  the 
Queen's  Rangers,  commanded  by  Lieut  Colonel 
Simcoe.  In  this  affair,  Colonel  Moyland  greatly 
distinguished  himself,  by  beating  oif  the  enemy, 
and  making  good  his  retreat  to  Greenwich. 
During  the  War,  the  entire  coast  suffered  sev- 
erely both  from  the  enemy's  shipping  and  the 
incursions  of  the  whale  boat-men. 

Shortly  after  our  Country's  strugle  for  Inde- 
pendence the  State  Government  conveyed  to  the 
notorious  Thomas  Paine,  a  large  tract  of  land  in 
the  eastern  division  of  New  Rochelle,  for  services 
he  had  rendered  during  the  War.  Paine  came  to 
this  Country  under  the  auspices  of  Franklin, 
Rush  and  other  prominent  people.  In  1774  he 
composed  his  first  song,  followed  soon  after  by 
"Common  Sense, ""Crisis, ""The  Age  of  Reason," 
etc.  Paine  was  a  companion  of  Robespierre, 
and  was  on  the  trial  of  the  Innocent  Louis.  Lie 
several    times    escaped    a    miserable    death,    and 

spent  a  large  part  of  his  time  in  the  New  Rochelle 

_ 


N    E    Vv^         R    O    C    H    E    L    L    E 

house,  but  at  one  period  lived  in  a  house  that 
stood  not  far  from  Prince  and  Marion  Streets,  N. 
Y.,  he  was  invariably  seen  sitting  before  an  old 
table,  on  v/hich  stood  a  jug  of  spirituous    liquors. 

Paine  died  on  the  8th  of  June  1809,  aged 
72  years  and  5  months.  His  body  was  brought 
up  from  New  York,  and  interred  on  his  farm;  his 
bones  were  afterward  disinterred  by  William 
Cobbett,  and  taken  to  England  for  exhibition. 
Som.e  authorities  assert  that  the  remains  were  re- 
interred  in  the  original  ground,  and  others  with 
equal  certainty,  claim  that  after  the  death  of 
Cobbett,  a  box  of  human  bones  v/ere  found 
among  his  goods  and  chattels.  In  the  early  four- 
ties,  Paine's  friends  purchased  the  site  of  his  sup- 
posed grave,  and  erected  a  handsome  monument 
to  his  m.emorv,  to  which  for  a  long  period  they 
made  an  annual  pilgrimage. 

Many  of  the  towns  in  Westchester  County 
owe  their  very  existance  to  the  railroads,  but  not 
so  with  New^  Rochelle,  nearly  two  hundred  years 


NEW         ROCHELLE 

before  railroads  were  even  thought  of,  the  town 
was  occupied  by  a  prosperous  community. 

The  Churches  in  the  tov/n  are  commodious 
and  every  way  attractive;  the  Episcopalians  were, 
after  the  Huguenots,  the  first  to  erect  buildings, 
followed  by  the  Presbyterians  in  1754,  the  Meth- 
odists in  1 79 1,  the  Baptists  in  1849,  ^'^^  Roman 
Catholics  in  1850  and  later  by  the  Lutheran  and 
Colored  Congregations. 

Among  New  Rochelle's  literati  may  be  men- 
tioned. Rev.  Dr.  C.  W.  Bolton,  Rev.  Mr.  Cane- 
dy,  V/illiam  Leggett,  an  able  journalist,  who 
died  at  the  early  age  of  37,  Frederick  Remington, 
artist  and  author,  etc. 

The  islands  off  the  coast  are  picturesque  and 
useful;  David's  Island  has  been  used  by  the 
Government  for  military  purposes  since  1861. 

Starin's  Glen  Island  is  a  popular  resort  and 
is  connected  with  the  mainland  by  trolley  and 
steamboat. 

The  Young  Men's  Christian  Association  has 

53 


NEW    ROCHELLE 

located  in  the  Roval  Arcanum  Building,  "is  dif- 
ferentiated  form  m.erely  recreative,  educational,  or 
ethical  movements,  by  its  pervading  spiritual 
intent,  and  its  aggressive  religious  activity."  Its 
work  at  Fort  Slocum,  David's  Island,  among  the 
soldiers  has  received  unsolicited  testimonials  from 
both  officers  and  men. 

The  New  Rochelle  Exchange  for  Women's 
Work,  was  founded  in  1891,  for  the  purpose  of 
aiding  reduced  gentle  women  who  shrink  from 
ordinary  charity,  but  are  thankful  for  opportuni- 
ty to  help  themselves.  The  Rooms  are  at  295 
Main  Street. 

The  New  Rochelle  Public  Library,  founded 
April,  1893.  Chartered  July  5,  1894,  is  nicely 
located  in  the  Masonic  Tem.Dle,  Main  Street. 
The  Library  is  under  superior  managem^ent,  and 
is  exerting   a  pov/erfal  educational  influence. 

A  beautiful  monument  erected  in   1895   ^7 

the  Patriotic  Citizens   of  the  City  in   memory  of 

those  v/ho  fought  in  the  War  of  Secession  for 
._  _  __ 


NEW        ROCHELLE 

"One  Flag  and  One  Country"  is  most  advanta- 
geously placed  at  the  divergence  of  the  two  roads 
near  the  Presbyterian  Church. 

New  Rochelle  was  incorporated  as  a  City  by 
act  of  the  legislature  of  1899,  which  received  the 
Governor's  signature  on  the  24th  day  of  March. 
The  first  City  election  was  held  April  18,  1899. 
The  city  government  was  organized  the  25th  day 
of  April  1899. 

All  the   fraternal    societies    are    represented. 
The  schools  are  numerous  and  well  conducted  by 
competent  teachers,  and  the  old  town  promises  to 
attain  the  distinction  of  it's  prototype: — 
"Proud  City  of  the  Waters." 


55 


r-4EW  YOP 
PUBLIC  L 


b5 

O 

z 

< 

X 


o 


h 

a. 

< 


Jtivi'v 


Vol.  1.  MARCH   1902  No.  3 


LITTLE  VISITS 

HISTORICAL 

POINTS  IN 

WESTCHESTER 

COUNTY 

PART  THREE 


BT 

AN  AUTHORITY 


TARRYTOWN     i 


MAMARONECK,  N.  Y.       •      PUBLISHED 
^rTHE  RICHBELL  PRESS   -   M  C  M  I  I 


Copyrighted     1 902 
BY 

J.   WALLACE  CLAPP. 


The    Richbell   Press    •  J.    Wallace 
Clapp     •     Mamaroneck     •     N.  Y, 


LITTLE  F I S LT S  TO 
HISTORICAL  POINTS  IN 
WESrCHESrER  COUNTY 


TARRYTOWN 


jHE  chieftaincies  of  Westchester  Coun- 
ty are  capable  of  tolerably  exact  geog- 
raphical location.  The  entire  county 
south  of  the  Hudson  River  Highlands^ 
was  occupied  by  chieftaincies  of  the 
Wappinger  division  of  the  Mohicans. 
One  of  their    villages    was    Alipeonek 

the  "place  of  the  elms"  now  Tarrytown. 

Tarrytown  is  pleasantly  situated  in    the    lap 

of  the  Greenburgh  hills,  overlooking  the  Hudson 

at  the  widest  point  of  the  Tappan  Zee,    which    is 

here  nealy  three  miles  across 


57 


TARRYTOV/N 

Tarwe  town,  was  the  name  given  to  this 
locahtv  by  the  first  white  settlers  from  the  old 
Dutch  word  tan^e  (wheat)  i.e.  "the  wheat  town  ," 
probably  so  called  from  the  abundant  culture  of 
that  grain  in  this  vicinity. 

The  first  Frederick  Philipse  bought  of  the 
Indians  several  large  tracts  of  land  on  the  Hud- 
son in  1 68 1,  (confirmed  in  1683.)  the  Pocantico 
tract,  covering  the  territory  around  Tarrytown. 

Dr.  David  Cole,  in  his  historical  discourse 
delivered  at  the  second  centennial  of  the  old 
Dutch  Church  of  Tarrytown,  October  11,  1897 
after  fixing  upon  1683  as  the  year  when  Philipse 
removed  to  Tarrytown,  says  "that  he  found  there, 
at  that  early  date,  a  small  commiunity  already 
gathered."  The  first  dwellings  appear  to  have 
been  erected  near  the  water's  edee,  for  the  con- 
venience  of  shipping,  which  found  here  a  fi^ne 
natural  harbor.  Philipse  found  the  old  srave- 
yard,  now  knov/n  as  Sleepy  Hollow  Cemetery  as 
old  as  the  settlement;  it  is  believed  to  have    been 


TARRYTOWN 

Started  as  early  as  1645,  ^^^  ^^^^  ^^  ^^^  ^^  ^^  three 
graves  by  1650,  and  fifty  by  1675,  ^^'^  ^^^^ 
hundred  and  eighty  by  1700. 

Evidently  Tarrytown  and  the  country  round 
about,  belong  to  the  oldest  settled  locations  of 
the  County. 

Philipse  erected  a  mansion  on  the  Pocan- 
tico  which  was  known  as  Castle  Philipse,  *  this 
structure  was  substantially  built,  and  carefully 
fortified  to  resist  attack,  its  walls  were  pierced 
v/ith  port  and  loop  holes  for  cannon  and  musket- 
ry. The  building  of  Castle  Philipse  appears  to 
have  been  immediately  followed  by  the  arrival  of 
tenants  and  the  settleing  of  farms. 

The  settlement  grew   to  such  an  extent  that 

'i^Mr.  William  F.  Minnerly,  well  known  in  Tarrytown 
as  a  builder,  states  that  in  1864  he  was  employed  to  make  some 
alterations  in  the  old  (Pocantico)  Manor  House.  One  was  in 
taking  down  the  chimney  which  was  very  large.  In  the  secoid 
story  he  found  that  a  room  about  four  feet  square  had  been  built 
in  the  chimney  to  be  used  as  a  smoke-house  for    smoking    meat. 

59 


TARRYTOWN 


The  number  of  bricks  in  this  chimney    was    a    marvel.        They 
had  all  been  brought  from  HoUand,    and  landed    on    the    north 
shcre  of  the  Pocanrico,  very  near  the  old   mill,  one  of  the    pro- 
mixient  objects  on  the  manor.        The    portion    of  the    chimney 
taken  down  was  relaid  with  the  bricks,  five  feet  breadth,  sixteen 
inhces  deep,  to  the  same  height  as  before,  and  a    nevv"    partition 
bulk,  fifteen  feet  long  and  nine  feet  high.        The    remainder    of 
the  bricks  that  came  out  of  the  chimney-  for  strange  to  say  there 
was  a  remainder,  and  a  large  one,  too-    Mr.  Minnerly   bought, 
and  with  them  he  filled  in  a  new  house,  twenty-two    feet    front 
by  tw-enty-eight  feet  deep,    and    two    stories    high,   and    found 
them  amply  sufficient  for  the    purpose.        The    bricks    were    so 
hard  that  when  the  masons  who  did  the  work  wished  to  cut  them 
they  were  obliged  to  use  a  hatchet.      In  size,  each  brick  was  an 
inch  and  a  quarter  thick,  three  and  one    half  inches    wnde,     and 
seven  inches  long Scharf,   i  i.,  309. 

Philipse  deemed  himself  under  obligations  to 
provide  the  people  with  suitable  opportunities  for 
religious  worship.  His  first  wife,  Margaret,  and 
his  second  wife,  Catherina,  were  also  greatly  in- 
terested in  the  work.  The  result  was,  the  build- 
ing of  the  Reformed  Church  of   Sleepy    Hollow, 

6^ 


TARRYTOWN 

one  of  the  most  noted  of  old  religious  edifices  in 
America.  It  is  supposed  that  Philipse  com- 
menced to  build  this  church  as  early  as  1684;  the 
bell  was  cast  to  order  in  1685.  But  according  to 
records  now  in  existance  it  v/as  not  until  1697 
that  the  church  organization  was  effected;  and  a 
minister,  the  Rev.  Guiliam  BertholfF  summoned. 
The  tablet  over  the  door  of  the  church  states 
that  it  was  built  in  1699,  but  presumedly  this 
tablet  was  not  put  up  until  the  completion  of  the 
structure,  making  no  mention  of  the  time  at 
which  it  was  begun.  Frederick  Philipse  was  a 
worshipper  within  its  walls,  and  was  buried  in  a 
vault  beneath  it,  which  was  prepared  expressly 
for  his  family. 

The  church  is  constructed  of  gneiss  and 
granite,  found  in  the  neighborhood,  this  stone 
will  not  disintegrate  for  many  generations;  while 
the  solid  oak  beams  are  as  free  from  decay,  as 
though    placed  but  yesterday;  the  bricks  used    in 

the  building  were  brought  from  Holland,  as    the 

_ 


TARRYTOWN 

pioneer  Dutchmen  had  no  facilities  for  making- 
bricks.  The  door  of  the  church  now  faces  the 
west;  but  previous  to  1837,  it  opened  more  to 
the  southeast. 

The  bell  which  i&  suspended  in  the  turret  of 
the  church,  is  small  and  peculiarly  shaped,  it  was. 
cast  in  old  Amsterdam,  in  1685  and  presented  to 
the  society  by  Frederick  Philipse. 

Inscribed  on  the  bell  is  this  sentence: 
"Amsterdam^     1685,      Si    Deus    pron'obis    quis 

CONTRA  NOS." 

(If  God  be  for  us,  who  can  be  against  us.) 

In  1697  Jan  Ecker,  became  the  first  deacon; 

and  at  the  same  time  the  Rev.  William  BartholiF, 

of  Hackensack,    New    Jersey,    the    first    settled 

minister.      In  the  church  annals   he    is    described 

as  "the  learned  and  Godly  Dominus  Guilliaume" 

This  pastor  came  from  Hackensack  three  or  four 

times  annually  to  preach  in  Sleepy  Hollow,  con- 

^>.'^^#^ng  there  as  dominie  until  171 5.       The    pre- 

^■^'%^ent  pastor  is  the  Rev.  John  Knox  Allen,   of  the 

— 


'Va    , 


T     A     R      R      Y      T      O      W      N 

First  Reformed  Church  of  Tarrvtown.  The  old 
church  is  open  Sunday  afternoons  from  August 
to  November. 

The  tvvo  Reformed  churches  of  Tarrytown 
had  charge  of  the  bicentennial  of  the  Sleepy 
Hollow  church,  v/hich  was  observer  on  Sunday 
and  Monday,  October  tenth  and  eleventh,  1897, 
Friends  and  Strangers  from  all  parts  of  the 
country,  were  drav/n  to  this  region  to  participate 
in  the  commemorations.  The  two  hundredth 
anniversary,  was  in  recognition  of  the  year  1697 
w^hen  the  Dutch  Association  called  its  first 
minister  and  in  honor  of  the  two  centuries  and 
over,  which  have  looked  upon  the  building. 

"On  Sunday  morning  the  Rev.  Mr.  Allen 
began  the  services  in  the  First  Fvefcrmed  Church 
by  preaching  a  sermon  appropriate  to  the 
occasion.  In  the  afternoon  the  observance  was 
continued  in  the  Sleepy  Hollow  structure.  In 
this  building  an  old  time  ceremony  was  held, 
with  the  selected    choir    accompanied  by  a  vio- 


TARRY      TOWN 

loncello.  The  church  will  barely  accommodate 
two  hundred,  but  it  was  crowded  to  its  fullest 
capacity,  while  some  who  could  not  gain  an 
entrance,  occupied  the  windows,  and  others 
v/andered  about  the  old  cemetery,  endeavoring 
to  decipher  the  verses  on  the  lichencovered  head- 
stones. In  the  evening  an  address  by  Hamilton 
W.  Mabie  attracted  a  crowd  to  the  First  Re- 
formed Church.  All  day  Monday  the  Sleepy 
Hollow  church  was  open  to  the  public.  The 
church  had  been  somewhat  repaired  for  the 
celebration;  v/hile  the  architect  in  making  the 
changes,  had  been  careful  to  follow  the  original 
lines  of  the  building.       The  celebration     closed 

on  Monday  evening,  when  a  large  assembly 
gathered  in  Music  Hall,  Tarrytown.  A  chosen 
choir  rendered  the  national  anthem  of  Holland. 
-Mr.  Edgar  Bacon  read  an  original  poem,  and 
the  principal  address  was  delivered  by  Colonel 
(now  President,)  Theodore  Roosevelt,  himself 
a  member  of  the   Dutch   Reformed   Church." 


TARRYTOWN 

The  old  cemetery  begins  at  the  church,  the 
tomb  stones  having  been  imported  from  Flolland, 
while  on  the  hill  sloping  to  the  north  is  continued 
the  newer  part;  on  the  eastern  side  of  this  beautiful 
necropolis  the  land  falls  precipitately  to  the 
channel  of  the  Pocantico,  and  then  abruptly  rises 
to  Tarrytown  Heights,  at  a  considerable  altitude 
above.  The  western  section  of  the  cemetery 
forms  a  gradual  slope  to  the  shore  of  the  Hudson, 
visions  of  whose  broad  stream  may  be  caught 
through  the  trees.  This  burial  place  Vv^as  first 
styled  the  Tarrytown  Cemetery,  but  v/as  finally 
changed  to  the  Sleepy  Hollow    Rural  Cemetery. 

Here  are  interred  many  persons  of  note: — 
Christopher  Collins,  the  first  man  who  planned 
the  Erie  Canal;  General  Adam  Badeau,  a  member 
of  General  Grant's  staff,  as  well  as  his  private 
secretary  and  historian,  also  the  author  of  several 
exceedingly  interesting  books;  Henry  B.  Dawson, 
the  historian,  and  many  others.  Near  the 
western  gate  of  the  cemetery  stands  the  monument 


TARRYTOWN 

erected  in  remembrance  of  those  volunteers  of  the 
civil  war  who  were  sent  out  from  this  vicinity; 
about  thirty  of  whom  are  now  sleeping  in  the 
plot,  in  whose  centre  now  stands  their 
memorial. 

In  another  part  of  the  cemetery  is  a 
substantial  cenotaph  of  Quincy  granite,  placed  here 
to  honor  the  soldiers  who  fought  in  the  Revolu- 
tion; it  is  located  in  that  part  of  the  cemetery 
known  as  Battle  Hill,  because  in  1779  the 
Continental  troops  formed  a  redoubt  at  this  point 
and  posted  a  battery  to  command  the  Albany  post 
road  below.  A  section  of  these  earthworks  has 
been  allowed  to  remain  undisturbed.  In  this 
vicinity  are  interred  the  remains  of  General 
Daniel  Delavan,  who  was  a  staunch  friend  of 
both  Washington  and  Lafayette.  Near  by  is 
the  grave  of  Washington  Irving,  a  new  headstone 
has  been  erected,  the  first  stone  being  ruined  by 
people  who  chipped  it  to  pieces  for  mementos; 
it  bears  this  inscription. 

66 


T 

A 

R 

R 

Y 

T 

O 

W 

N 

^ 

WASHINGTON    IRVING 

BORN 

APRIL  3.   1783. 

DIED 

NOVEMBER    28,    1859, 


On  almost  any  pleasant  day  throughout  the 
year  lovers  of  the  great  genius  come  on  pilgrim- 
ages to  his  grave.  Just  below  Tarrytown  is  Irving- 
ton,  and  passing  over  tuppenny  bridge,  we  arrive  at 
Sunnyside  Lane,  which  turns  west  from  the  more 
travelled  thoroughfare,  and  leads  in  the  direction 
of  the  Hudson;  at  the  end  of  the  lane  is  a  low 
stone  structure  of  the  Dutch  style  of  architecture; 
over  the  main  porch  is  this  inscription. 


ERECTED  ANNO    1650 

REBUILT  BY 

WASHINGTON    IRVING 

ANNO   1835. 


GEO.  HARVEY,  ARCHITECT 


67 


T     A      R      R      Y      T      O      V/      N 


This  was  Washington  Irving's  home  trom 
1835— 1859,  twenty-four  vears.  "The  outlook 
from  the  place  aitords  a  fine  panorama  of 
the  Hudson,  upon  which  one's  eyes  may  dwell 
with    contentment    from    morning    till  evening." 

Two  nieces  of  Irving,  who  were  with  himi  at 
the  timiC  of  his  death  occupied  the  property  until 
1897,  when  the  estate  passed  into  the  hands  of 
Mr.  Alexander  Duer  Irving,  a  grand-nephew  of 
the  author. 

Washington  Irving's  genial  nature  was  a 
magnetic  force,  quickly  drawing  all  hearts  to  him, 
consequently  he  was  a  great  favorite  in  the  neigh- 
borhood gatherings.  He  had  a  decided  pre- 
ference for  childrens  parties. 

James  Kirke  Paulding  the  author,  and 
secretary  of  the  navy  under  Martin  Van  Buren, 
lived  in  Water  Street  Tarrytown,  the  house  al- 
through  in  a  very  dilapidated  condition  was 
standing  in  1888. 

With  Washington  Irving,    and    his    brother 

68  ~      ~       ~ 


TARRYTOWN 

William,  Paulding  was  a  collaborator  on 
"Salmagundi,"  the  new  world  "Spectator," 
begun  by  them  in  1807. 

Next  to  the  Second  Reformed  Church  on 
the  east  side  of  Broadway  was  the  Jacob  Mott 
place,  the  old  Mott  house  was  destroyed  in  1897, 
that  the  Washington  Irving  High  School  might 
be  erected  on  its  site.  This  old  house  is  said  to 
have  been  the  home  of  Katrina  Van  Tassel,  when 
courted  by  Ichabod  Crane,  although  at  one  time 
Katrina  lived  in  the  house  in  which  Washington 
Irving  afterwards  bestowed  the  title  of  Sunny- 
side.  Irving  relates  in  "Wolfert's  Roost,"  that 
one  Van  Tassel  occupied  the  Dutch  mansion, 
and  that  the  interior  of  the  building  was  burned 
in  the  war  by  a  company  of  British  soldiers,  who 
left  only  the  stone  shell  remaining.  The  build- 
ing has  been  further  honored  by  the  fact  that 
Washington  once  went  there  in  the  Revolutionary 
days,  to  visit  a  wounded  soldier. 

Previous  to  Irving's  death  he  had  been  a 
_  _  _^ 


TARRYTOWN 

member  for  eleven  years  of  Christ's  Episcopal 
Church  in  Tarrytown.  His  long  remembered 
obsequies  were  held  in  this  church  of  which  he 
had  been  for  sometime  an  honored  warden. 
"From  Christ's  Church,  the  funeral  procession 
moved  up  Broadway  toward  the  Sleepy  Hollow 
Cemetery,  followed  by  a  great  concourse  of  his 
friends.  It  was  the  first  day  of  December;  yet 
the  air  was  filled  with  genial  sunshine  so  warm, 
that  the  villagers  could  not  but  liken  it  to  the 
character  of  their  sleeping  friend  and  neighbor. 
Just  before  reaching  the  grave,  the  procession 
crossed  the  Sleepy  Hollow  bridge,  which  was 
heavily  draped  with  black,  thus  recognizing  the 
pen  which  had  given  it  distinction. 

On  April  third,  1883  the  centennial  of 
Irving's  birth  was  celebrated  in  the  Second 
Reformed  Church,  by  the  Washington  Irving 
Association  of  Tarrytown.  Judge  Noah  Davis 
presided,  and  among  those  who  gave  addresses 
were  Donald  G.  Mitchell    and    Charles    Dudley 

70 


TARRYTOWN 

Warner.  Letters  were  read  from  John  G. 
Whittier,  George  William  Curtis,  John  Jay, 
Governor  Cleveland  and  others  of  prominence: 
During  the  centennial,  Sunnyside  was  opened 
for  inspection,  and  was  thronged  for  a  number 
of  days  by  eager  visitors." 

Excepting  the  seizure  of  Major  Andr'e, 
Tarrytown  did  not  perform  an  active  part  in  the 
Revolution,  as  did  some  adjacent  villages.  Still 
the  inhabitants  here  devoted  all  their  strength  to 
sustain  the  American  cause.  General  Howe,  in 
speaking  of  the  Hollanders  along  the  Hudson, 
said  in  1777.  "I  can  do  nothing  with  this 
Dutch  population;  I  can  neither  buy  them  with 
money,  nor  conquer  them  with  force."  Governor 
William  Tyron  of  Nev/  York  was  so  incensed  at 
what  he  considered  the  perverse  patriotism  of 
the  people  of  Tarrytown.  that  he  proposed  burn 
ing  their  village.  Providentually  his  commands 
were    never  executed. 

Both   American    and    British   troops  march- 

_ 


TARRYTOWN 


ed  and  countermarched  throus[h  Tarrvtown 
and  at  different  times  were  encamped  upon  its 
heights.  The  allied  troops  of  V/ashington  and 
Roahambeau  marched  through  Tarrytown  in 
July  1 78 1,  to  threaten  the  British  in  New  York. 
In  his  diary  for  July  2d  of  that  year,  Washing- 
ton v/rites  of  this  march:  "I  made  a  halt  at  the 
church  (Sleepy  Hollow)  by  Tarrytown,  till 
dusk." 

The  Action  at  Tarrytown,  as  it  is  called, 
occurred  on  the  15th  of  this  month.  While  two 
British  sloops,  two  tenders  and  one  galley  were 
sailing  up  the  Hudson  towards  West  Point,  they 
saw  coming  towards  them  from^  the  north  two 
American  Sloops;  these  were  loaded  with  valua- 
ble stores  of  powder  and  cannon.  To  prevent 
the  enemy  from  seizing  these  supplies,  the 
Americans  ran  in  to  Tarrytown  hoping  to  unload 
a  part  of  tTi^  stores  with  expedition.  Unfortu- 
nately, the  sloops  were  grounded  in  the  harbor. 
Only  a  sergeant's  guard,  were  then  at  Tarrytown; 

72 


T      A      R      R      Y      T      O      ^A^      N 

but  Coloricl  Sheldon's  mounted  dragroons  were 
rapidly  hurried  up  from  Dobb's  Ferry,  and  began 
unloading  the  vessels;  the  enemy  soon  came 
.abreast  of  the  scene^  opened  fire,  and  despatched 
mmboats  and  barges  to  destroy  the  American 
sloops.  Then  began  a  fierce  hand  to  hand 
•Struggle,  in  which  the  British  fired  our  vessels,  b-ut 
'the  Americans  extinguished  the  fire,  gallantly 
driving  oft  the  enemy  and  saving  the  boats  and 
the  stores.  Washington  publicly  thanked  the 
Americans  for  their  splendid  behavior  in  this 
encounter.  On  the  western  wall  of  the  main 
railway  station  at  Tarry  town  is  a  bronze  tablet, 
unveiled  July  15,  1899,  by  the  Sons  of  the 
Revolution,  to  comimemorate  this  event  o^  J^ly 
15,    1781. 

During  the  Revolution  the  old  Jacob  Mott 
house  was  occupied  by  Elizabeth  Van  Tassel,  as 
a   tavern. 

There  was  also  another  tavern  a  little  east  of 
Tarrytown.     The  proprietress  was  Mistress  Betty 


TARRY      TOWN 


Flanagan,  who  is  so  humorously  characterized  in 
Fenimore  Cooper's  "Spy."  To  the  novelist  we 
are  indebted  for  the  information  that  Betty  origi- 
nated the  drink  known  as  "the  cocktail.'^ 

Prospect  Hill,  the  highest  point  of  land  in 
or  near  Tarrytown,  was  a  watch-tov/er  for  the 
Americans  throughout  all  the  conflict  with 
England;  and  from  its  elevation  Washington 
observed  the  British  war  vessels  on  the 
Hudson. 

But  the  most  important  event  occurring  in 
this  vicinity  during  the  Revolution  was  the  in- 
terception and  arrest  of  Major  John  Andrei 
Andre'  had  been  long  negotiating  with  the 
American  general,  Arnold,  to  put  the  British 
general,  Clinton,  in  possession  of  West  Point. 
This  post  was  and  is  a  beautiful  place  lying  on 
the  west  bank  of  the  Hudson,  a  little  below 
where  it  breaks  through  the  chain  of  mountains 
called  the    Highlands.        Great    importance    had 

always  been  attached  to  this  post  by  the    Ameri- 

_ 


TARRYTOWN 

cans,  v/ho  had  fortified  it  at  great  labor  and 
expense.  The  British  also  appear  to  have 
appreciated  the  importance  of  this  post,  and  it 
is  probable  that  the  purchase  of  it  had  been 
arranged  with  Arnold  some  months  prior  to  the 
detection  of  the  plot. 

It  was  when  Washington  marched  to 
Kingsbridge  with  a  view  to  the  attempt  on  New 
York  and  when  he  had  mustered  under  him  every 
man  who  could  carry  a  musket,  that  he  placed 
Benedict  Arnold  in  command  of  a  corps  of 
invalids  at  West  Point.  The  commander-in- 
chief  had  offered  Arnold  a  position  suitable 
to  his  rank  and  reputation  in  the  army,  but 
under  various  pretexts  he  declined  acceptance  as 
the  negotiations  for  the  surrender  of  West  Point 
had  already  commenced. 

Soon  after  this  Washington,  leaving  Gener- 
al Green  in  command  of  the  main  army,  in 
concert  with  the  French  naval  and  military  com- 
manders met  at    Hartford    on    the    Connecticut 


T     A     R      R      Y      T      O      W      N 

river  to  consult  on  their  future  joint  operations^ 
This  was  on  the  lyth  of  September  1780.  The- 
British  commander  had  now  become  sensible  that 
no  timxC  v7as  to  be  lost,  as  most  probably  Wash- 
mgton  on  his  return  trorn  Hartford  would  assume 
the  command  m  person  at  West  Point,  Andre'" 
was  accordingly  dispatched  in  the  sloop  of  war 
Vulture,  to  hold  a  personal  conference  with 
General  Arnold.  The  Vulture  ascended  the 
Hudson  river  on  tiie  20th  as  far  as  Teller's 
point,  and  cam.e  to  anchor  at  the  mouth  of 
Harvestraw  bay.  Arnold  had  designated  the 
spot  where  the  meeting  w^as  to  take  place  and 
the  commander  of  West  Point  lay  concealed 
among  the  bushes  and  trees.  Here  the  spy  and 
the  traitor,  matured  their  plans. 

On    the    evening    of  September   22,    1780. 
Major  John  Andre',  under  the  assumed  name  of 
John  Anderson,   crossed    the    river,    mounted    a 
horse  which  was  in  waiting,    and    took    the    road 
leading  to  Pine's  bridge. 

'  ^6 


TARRYTOW       N 

Tradition  says  that  Andre';  having  started 
from  Pine's  bridge  was  advised  to  follow  the  road 
to  White  Plains  and  thence  south  to  the  British 
lines.  Kad  he  acted  under  these  directions, 
perhaps  he  v/ould  have  reached  the  British 
army  in  Nev/  York  with  the  valuable  draw- 
ings of  West  Point  in  his  possession.  But  upon 
learning  that  more  British  sympathizers  were 
likely  to  be  met  with  on  the  Tarrytown  read  he 
changed  his  course,  and  v/as  soon  confronted  by 
his    captors.     Judging    from    the    appearance    of 

Andre',  they  concluded  that  no   ordinary    person 
had  fallen  into  their  power. 

On  this  fated  morning  some  of  the  inhabi- 
tants of  Tarrytown  had  by  agreement  proceeded 
to  the  neighborhood  of  a  small  brook,  now  called 
the  Andre'  brook,  to  prevent  cattle  being  driven 
down  towards  Nev/  York,  and  to  seize  as  a  loyal 
prize  any  such  cov/s  or  oxen  as  might  be  destined 
for    his    majesty's    troops  by  their  friends.     This 


TARRYTOWN 

patriotic  band  of  seven'"  had  volunteered  of  their 
own  account  to  go  upon  ti'iis  expedition  the  day 
previous  September  22,  1780.  Up  by  times  the 
next  morning,  tlie  party  followed  the  v/indings 
of  the  Saw  Mill  valley,  and  from  thence  to  the 
hill  immediatelv  above  Tarrvtov/n.  Here  it  was 
agreed  that  three  of  their  num^ber;,  Paulding,  Van 
Wart  and  David  Williams,  should  go  below,, 
while  the  remaininor  four  should  v/atch  the  road 
above.  The  upper  party  were  stationed  east  on 
the  hill  above  the  lower  party,  the  latter  being 
concealed  in  the  bushes  near  the  post  road. 
Presently  one  of  the  young  men  exclaimed, 
"there  comes  a  gentlem^an-like  lookmg  rnan  who 
is  well  dressed  and  has  boots  on,  let  us  step 
out  and  stop  him;  on  that,  Paulding  got  up 
and  presented,  his  firelock  and  told  him  to  stand, 
at  the  samie  time  asking  him  which  way  he  was 
going  and  his  name;   he    replied'    "Gentlemen    I 

^John  Yerks,  Isaac  See,  James  Romer,  Abraham    Williams, 
John  Paulding,  Isaac  Van  Wart  and  David  Williams. 


78 


TARRYTOWN 

•am  John  Anderson,  going  below  on  important 
business  I  hope  you  belong  to  our  prcrty." 
Paulding  asked  him.  what  party."  He  answer- 
ed "the  lov/er  party/'  Andre'  then  show- 
ed his  pass  from  Benedict  Arnold,  and  said 
'^'Gentlemen  ^^ou  had  best  let  me  go,  for 
your  stopping  me  will  detain  the  General's 
business.  "Upon  this  the  three  young  m^en  took 
Andre'  into  the  bushes,  and  ordered  him  to  pull 
off  his  clothes,  which  he  did,  but  on  searching 
him  narrowly  they  could  not  find  any  sort  of 
writings.  They  then  told  him  to  pull  off  his 
boots,  to  which  he  seemed  indifferent,  but  they 
got  one  boot  off,  and  searched  in  that  boot  and 
found  nothing.  But  there  appeared  to  be  some 
papers  in  the  bottom  of  his  stocking  next  to 
his  foot,  on  which  they  miade  him.  pull  his 
stocking  off,  and  found  three  papers  wrapped 
up.  Mr.  Paulding  looked  at  the  contents, 
and  said  he  was  a    spy.     They    then    made    him 

pull    off  his    other    boot,    and  there  they  found 

_ 


TARRYTOWN 

three  more  papers  at  the  bottom  of  his  foot  within 
his  stocking."  Immediately  Paulding,  Williams 
and  Van  Wart,  hurried  him  about  a  mile  north- 
east from  the  scene  of  capture,  to  the  old  Lan- 
drine  house  which  is  yet  to  be  seen  on  Tarrytown 
Heights.  This  structure  was  one  of  the  points 
of  rendezvous  while  the  Revolution  continued: 
After  a  brief  halt  Andre'  v/as  hastened  inland  to 
North  Castle,  the  nearest  military  post. 

Aithrough  Andre'  offered  his  captors,  his 
horse,  bridle  and  watch,  besides  a  large  sum  of 
money  and  any  quantity  of  dry  goods  to  let  him 
go,  they  spurned  his  offer,  and  avoiding  the 
roads  hurried  their  prisoner  v/ith  all  speed  across 
the  fields  to  North  Castle. 

Upon  the  delivery  of  their  prisoner,  the 
seven  patriots  returned  to  their  different  quarters 
little  imagining  the  importance  of  their  prize. 
More  than  a  month  afterwards  (General  Wash- 
ington having  recom.mended  the  captors  to  Con- 
gress,)  they  received  the  following  vote  of  thanks 

8^ 


TARRYTOWN 

from  that  body. 

In  Congress,  November  3,  1780.  Whereas 
Congress  have  received  information  that  John 
Paulding,  David  Williams  and  Isaac  Van  Wart, 
three  young  volunteer  militia  men  of  the  State 
of  New  York,  did,  on  the  23  day  of 
September  last,  intercept  Major  John  Andre', 
adjutant  general  of  the  British  army  on  his  return 
from  the  American  lines  in  the  character  of  a  spy, 
and  notwithstanding  the  large  bribes  offered  them 
for  his  release,  nobly  disdaining  to  sacrifice  their 
country  for  the  sake  of  gold,  secured  and  con- 
veyed him  to  the  commanding  officer  of  the 
district,  v/hereby  the  dangerous  and  traitorous 
conspiracy  of  Benedict  Arnold  was  brought  to 
light,  the  insidious  designs  of  the  enemy  baffled, 
and  the  United  States  rescued  from  impending 
danger: 

Resolved,  that  Congress  have  a    high   sense 

of  the  virtuous  and  patriotic  conduct  of  the    said 

John  Paulding,  David    Williams    and    Isaac  Van 

_ 


TARRYTOWN 

Wart.  In  testimony  whereof,  Ordered,  that 
each  of  them  receive  annually  out  of  the  public 
treasury  tv/o  hundred  dollars  in  specie,  or  an 
equivalent  in  current  money  of  these  States, 
during  life,  and  that  the  board  of  war  procure 
for  each  of  them  a  silver  medal,  on  one  side  of 
which  shall  be  a  shield  with  this  inscription 
"Fidelity"  and  on  the  other,  the  follov/ing  motto 
"Vincit  omor  patriae",  and  forward  them  to  the 
commander-in-chief,  who  is  requested  to  present 
the  same,  with  a  copy  of  this  resolution,  and  the 
thanks  of  Congress  for  their  fidelity  and  the 
eminent  service  they  have  rendered  their  country. 

The  State  also  gave  each  of  the  captors  a 
farm. 

A  remarkable  incident  is  said  to  have  be- 
fallen the  celebrated  tulio  or  whitewood  tree 
under  which  Andre^  was  captured.  It  was  struck 
by  lightning  on  the  same  day  that  the  intelligence 
of  General  Arnold's  death  arrived  at  Tarry- 
town.     This  tree    was    a    fine    specimen    of  the 


TARRY      TOWN 


ancient  forest,  being  twenty-six  feet  in  circum- 
ference, and  one  hundred  and  eleven  feet  in 
height.  It  was  while  passing  beneath  this  tulip 
tree  that  Ichabod  Crane,  in  his  midnight  career 
toward  Sleepy  Hollow  "suddenly  heard  a  groan, 
his  teeth  chattered,  and  his  knees  smote  against 
the  saddle.  It  was  but  the  rubbing  of  one  huge 
branch  upon  another,  as  they  were  swayed  about 
by  the  breeze." 

President  Van  Buren  while  journeying 
through  Tarrytown  suggested  the  propriety  of 
placing  a  monument  on  this  spot  to  commemor- 
ate the  seizure  of  Major  Andre^ 

An  assocration  was  formed  to  take  charge  of 

the  monument  and  grounds.      On  Monday  July 

4,  1853  the  corner  stone  of  this  monument  was 

laid.        Addresses    were    delivered    by     Colonel 

James  A.  Hamilton,  son  of  Alexander  Hamilton, 

and  Henry  J.  Raymond  editor  of  the  New  York 

Times.     The  monument    was    finally    dedicated 

on  the  succeeding  yth  of  October;  it  was  a  simple 

-  — -— 


TARRYTOWN 

tapering  monolite  of  native  dolomite. 

The  side  of  the  monument  facing  Broadway 
was  finished  with  a  base-relief  copied  from  A.  B. 
Durand's  picture  showing  the  search  which  dis- 
closed the  fatal  papers  in  the  spy's  boots.  This 
base-relief  is  the  work  of  Theodore  Baur,  and 
was  not  placed  until  the  monument  was  remodel- 
ed.   The  south  side  has  the  following  inscription:- 

On  This  Spot 
the  23rd.  day  of  September,  1780,  the  Spy, 

Major  John  Andre 
Adjutant  General  of  the  British  Army  was 

captured  by 

John  Paulding,  David  Williams 

and  Isaac  Van  Wart, 

all  natives  of  this  County. 

History  has  told  the  rest. 

The  People  of  Westchester  County,  have  erected 
this  Monument,  as  well  to  commemorate  a  great 
Event,  and  to  testify  their  high  estimation  of  the 


TARRYTOVVN 

Integrity  and  Patriotism  which  rejecting  every 
temptation,  rescued  the  United  States  from  most 
Imminent  peril,  by  baffling  the  arts  of  a  Spy,  and 
the  plots  of  a  Traitor. 

Dedicated  October  7th.  1853. 

On  the  north  side  of  the  monument  is  a 
quotation  from  the  great  chief:— 
"Their  conduct  merits  our  warmest  esteem.  They 
have  prevented  in  all  probability  our  suffering 
one  of  the  severest  strokes  that  could  have  been 
meditated  against  us" — Washington. 

The  approach  to  the  monument  on  the  west 
side  is  artistic  in  conception  and  execution. 

A  citizen  of  Tarrytov/n—  Mr.  John  Anderson 
presented  a  life  size  statue  of  John  C.  Paulding, 
said  to  be  correctly  delineated,  and  on  September 
23,  1 880  after  the  monument  had  been  remodelled 
and  the  statue  placed  upon  the  apex  making  the 
total  height  27  feet,  and  exactly  one  hundred 
years  after  Major  Andre'  had  yielded  to  the  three 

patriots,  the  inhabitants  of  Tarrytown  were  arous- 

__  .        _ 


TARRYTOWN 

ed  in  the  early  morning  by  the  booming  of  can- 
non and  the  ringing  of  bells.  The  United  States 
vessel  of  war  Minnesota  was  anchored  near  the 
shore  and  answered  the  national  salute  of  Battery 
C  of  the  3d  United  States  Artillery  which  occupi- 
ed the  crest  of  the  hill  immediately  above  the 
village.  The  remodelled  monument  was  about  to 
be  unveiled.  It  was  computed  that  nearly  sixty 
thousand  people  witnessed  the  celebration.  A 
procession  led  by  General  James  W.  Husted 
finally  arrived  at  the  memorial;  addresses  were 
delivered  by  exGovernor  Samuel  J.  Tilden  and 
Hon.  Chauncy  M.  Depew. 

Surprise  is  sometimes  expressed  that  Pauld- 
ing invariably  has  the  precedence  of  his  fellow 
captors,  but  this  is  easily  accounted  for  when  we 
remember  that  he  was  the  only  one  of  the  three 
who  could  read  writing,  and  therefore  he  was  the 
leader. 

The  first  ncwsapper  issued    in    this    locality 

was  the  Pocantico  Gazette,    dated    September    i, 

_ 


TARRYTOWN 

1 846.  The  present  newspapers  are  the  Tarry- 
town  Argus,  and  the  Tarry  town  News. 

The  schools  are  superior  in  every  respect, 
Miss  G.  B.  Peck's  school  elicits  special  notice. 

The  Tarrytown  trolley  road  extends  through 
White  Plains  and  Maniaroneck  to  New  York, 
thus  connecting  the  Hudson  with  the  Sound;  it 
is  proposed  to  build  a  road  through  Sleepy 
Hollow  to  Ossining. 

The  New  York  Central,  and  the  New  York 
and  Putnam  have  attractive  stations,  with  foun- 
tains, plants  and  well  kept  lawns. 

As  a  place  of  residence  I'arrytown  has  num- 
erous attractions;  its  unrivaled  location  situated 
as  it  is  on  the  broadest  part  of  the  Tappan  Zee, 
with  the  beautiful  village  of  Nyack  on  the  oppo- 
site shore,  its  partly  natural  and  partly  artificial 
terraces  asscending  from  the  Hudson,  so  that  the 
town  occupies  the  side  of  the  hills,  which  in  n^.any 
places  reach  an  altitude  of  five  to  six  hundred 
feet  above  the    river    level,    its    broad    and    well 


TARRYTOWN 

kept  streets,  its  historical  and  literary  atmosphere^ 
all  combine  to  m.ake  the  town  the  home  of  wealth 
and  inteligence.  It  would  require  many  pages  to 
give  the  names  of  distinguished  people  who  have 
located  here  to  enjoy  the  superb  scenery  and 
beautiful  surroundings.  Among  those  well 
known  are  the  Goulds,  Chief  Justice  Noah,  Rafael 
JosefFy,  Carl  Schurz,  Minna  Irving,  C.  L.  Tiffany^ 
¥/.  G.  Webb,  John  D.  and  W.  H.  Rockefeller. 
Indeed  it  is  difficult  to  stop  writing  of  the 
natural  and  artificial  attractions  of  Tarrytown^, 
they  must  be  seen  to  be  appreciated. 


88 


NEW     vunr 


Vol.  i. 


APRIL  1902. 


No.  4 


i^CiS 


LITTLE  VISITS 

"~  TO 

HISTORICAL 

POINTS  IN 

WESTCHESTER 

COUNTY 

PART  FOUR 


BY 

AN  AUTHORITY 

THE  MANORS 
OF  WESTCHESTER   CO. 


t 


iffiS 


MAMARONECK,  N.  Y.      •      PUBLISHED 
irTHE  RICHBELL  PRESS   ■  M  C  M  I  I 


'■^n  5*3^  C^itf 


Copyrighted     1902 
BY 

T.   WALLACE   CLAPP. 


The    Richbell   Press    •  J.    Wallacs 
Clapp  ?vIamaroneck.  N.  Y. 


LITTLE  VISITS  TO 
HISTORICAL  POINTS  IN 
WESTCHESTER  COUNTY 


THE   MANORS   OF 
WESTCHESTER  COUNTY 


I  HE  Manor  was  a  very  ancient  institu- 
tion in  Europe,  commencing  early  in 
the  9th  century  and  continuing  until 
the  close  of  the  13  th  century.  The 
Manor  was  usually  an  independent 
government,  the  Lord  of  the  Manor 
being  a  petty  king  not  accountable  to 
any  higher  authority;  by  the  statue  o^  quia  emptores 
enacted  in  1290  the  erection  of  new  Manors  in 
Great  Britain  was  forever  put  to  an  end. 

No  grant    of  a    feudal    manor    in    Europe, 

89  _.  


MANORS  OF  Vv^ESTCHESTER  CO-^ 

much  less  in  America,  ever  carried  with  it  a  title;:, 
the  term  Lord  of  a  Manor  is  a  technical  one^ 
and  means  simply  the  owner,  or  possessor  of  a 
manor — ^nothing  more^  Vv'ithout  exception  the 
proprietors  of  the  manors  in  Amierica  were  per- 
fectly plain,  untitled  gentlemen. 

We  sometimes  hear  the  expression  "to  the- 
manor  born,"  V7hich  means  born  to  large  estates,. 
and  presum.edly  to  refinement  and  intelligenceo 
The  right  of  Advowson  v/as  never  in  force  in 
America,  although  the  proprietor  invariably 
erected  a  church,  and  influenced  the  tenants  of 
the  manor  religiously,  as  v/ell  as  otherwise;  but 
not  being  socmien  in  the  full  sense  of  the  word,, 
they  follov/ed  their  own  religious  convictions 
which  were  sometimes  widely  different  from 
those  held  by  the  reigning  lord  or  proprietor. 

The  great  original  proprietorships  in  West- 
chester County  were  only  six  in  number,  as 
follows:-  (i)  Cortlandt  Manor,  the  property  of 
Stephanus  van  Cortlandt,  which    went,  after    his 

90 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO 


death,  to  his  children  and  was  by  them  preserved 
■'intract  for  many  years;  (2)  Phiiipseburgh  Manor. 
founded  by  Frederick  Philipse  and  retained  as  a 
■whole  by  the  Philipse  family  until  confiscated  in 
'Revolutionary  times;  (3)  Fordham  Manor  estab- 
lished by  John  Archer,  subsequently  forfeited  by 
morteape  indebtedness  to  Cornelius  Steenwycl^ 
and  by  him  and  his  wife  willed  to  the  Neither  Dutch 
Conp-rep-ation  in  New  York  which  contimaed  In. 
sole  ownership  of  it  until  the  middle  of  the 
1 8th  century;  (4)  Mornsania  Manor,  the  old 
Bronxland  built  up  into  a  single  estate  by  Colonei 
Lewis  Morris,  by  him  devised  to  his  nephew" 
Lewis  Morris  the  younger,  who  had  the  property 
erected  into  a  mianor  and  whose  descendants  con- 
tinued to  own  it  entire  for  generations;  (5) 
Pelham  Manor,  originally  established  under 
Thomas  Pell,  its  first  lord;  (6)  Scarsdale  Manor, 
the  estate  of  Colonel  Caleb  Heathcote,  v/hich  for 
the  most  part  remained  the  property  of  his  heirs 

until  sold  by  partition  in  1775. 
___  _ 


^MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO- 
MANOR   OF   CORTLANDT 

Ducal  ArrTi^. — Arg.  a"  lici?  ranlpart,  gu.  crowned  or,  for  Cour- 
knd,  charged  GH  the  breast  with  an  escutcheon,  on  which  are 
placed  the  arms  o{  the  reigning  Duke,  Supporters, — two  liont 
crowned^  or  the  v^hole  \Tithin  a  mantle  lined  erin.ine,  sur- 
mounted with  a  cro-Vv'n. 

Family  Arnms. — -Arg.  the  wings  or  arms  of  a  wind-mill,  saltier- 
ways  sa.    voided    of   the    field,    five    estoiles    gUo      Crest, — ar 
fstoile  gu.  betvreen  tvVb  wings  eievsted  arg. 

Motto. ^ —  Virtus  sibi  munns, 

Stephanus  v^n  Cortkndt,  the  first  lord  of 
!he  Manor  of  Cortkndt,  was  th.&  son  of  the  Hon. 
Oloff  Stevensen  van  Cortlandt,  immediately  de- 
scended from  one  of  the  most  noble  families  in 
Holland,  their  ancestors  having  emigrated  thither^ 
when  deprived  of  the  sovereignty  of  Courland.* 

Courland  in  Russia,  formerly  constituted  a 
portion  of  Lavonia,  but  was  conquered  by  the 
Tutonic  Knights  in  1561.  It  subsequently 
became  a  fief  of  Poland.     After  the    fall    of  that 

*Burke's  Gentry 

92 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

power  it  remained  for  a  short  time  independent 
under  its  own  Dukes,  but  in  1795  it  was  united 
to  Russia.* 

In  the  early  part  of  the  17th  century  we  find 
the  Dukes  of  Courland  engaged  in  the  military 
service  of  the  United  Netherlands.  The  house 
of  Courland  was  represented  in  16 10  by  the 
Right  Hon.  Steven  van  Cortlandt  father  of  the 
previously  mentioned  Oloff  Stevensen  van  Cort- 
landt; early  in  the  History  of  the  Dutch  occupan- 
cy of  this  country  he  emigrated  to  New  Amster- 
dam, and  was  soon  after  his  arrival  advanced  to 
the  civil  department  as  commissary  of  cargoes;  he 
continued  to  hold  many  offices  of  trust  until  the 
close  of  the  Dutch  government  in  New  Nether- 
land. 

Under  date  of  November  16,  1677  van 
Cortlandt  received  from  Governor  Andros  a 
license  authorizing  him  to  acquire  such  lands  on 
the    east    side   of  the  Hudson    River    "as    have 

^Schuitzler,  La  Russia,  p.  585 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

not  yet  been  purchased  of  the  Indian  proprie- 
tors," "payment  whereof  to  be  made  publicly  at 
the  Fort  or  City  Hall." 

He  did  not  begin  to  avail  himself  of  this 
privilege  however,  until  six  years  afterwards,  when 
August  24,  1683  he  bought  from  seven  Indians, 
"in  consideration  of  the  sum  of  twelve  pounds 
and  several  other  merchandise,"  what  is  now 
known  as  Verplanck's  Point  together  v/ith  an 
adjacent  tract  extending  eastward  "being  at  the 
entering  of  the  Highlands  just  over  against 
Haverstraw." 

Early  in  the  sam.e  year,  July  13,  1683,  van 
Cortlandt  purchased  from  the  Indians  a  tract  of 
land  of  about  fifteen  hundred  acres  on  the  west 
side  of  the  Hudson. 

The  territory  below  Vcrplanck's  Point  was 
originally  bought  from  the  Indians  in  part  by 
Cornelius  Van  Bursun  of  New  Amsterdam,  and 
in  part  by  Governor  Dongan.  Both  Van  Bursun*s 
and  Dongan's   holdings  were  later    sold    to    van 

94 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

Cortlandt. 

Thus  Stephanus  van  Cortlandt  became  the 
owner  of  nearly  the  v/hole  of  Westchester  Coun- 
ty along  the  Hudson,  from  Croton  Bay  to  the 
Highlands,  and  east,  twenty  miles  both  north 
and  south,  to  the  Connecticut  border.  The  area 
of  the  van  Cortlandt  Manor  in  Westchester 
County  was  86,203  acres,  and  adding  that  to  the 
tract  on  the  opposite  side  of  the  Hudson,  aggre- 
gated 87,703  acres. 

On  the  17th  of  June  1697  the  whole  was 
established  as  the  Lordship  and  Manor  of  Cort- 
landt, by  royal  letters  patent  from  Governor 
Fletcher. 

On  the  14th    of    April     1700,     the     Hon. 

Stephanus  van  Cortlandt,  son  of  OlofF  Stephanus 

van  Cortlandt,  published  his   last   will  and  testa- 
ment.    The  said  van  Cortlandt  died  shortly  after, 

leaving  eleven  children,  who  by  his    will    became 

seized  in  fee  of  Cortlandt  Manor,   as    tenants    in 

common.     These  children  intermarried  with  the 

95 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

de  Peysters,  de  Lanceys,  Beeckmans,  Skinners, 
Bayards,  Johnstons  and  van  Rensselaers.  In 
1730  the  aforesaid  children  and  devisees  drew  up 
articles  of  agreement  for  the  division  of  the 
Manor.  It  was  not  however  until  November  4, 
1734  that  a  final  partition  and  division  of  the 
Manor  took  place  between  the  surviving  children 
of  Stephanus  van  Cortlandt,  when  they  gave  to 
each  other  releases  in  due  form  of  law,  the  share 
of  each  amounting  to  nearly  8,000  acres.  One  of 
the  eleven  dying  soon  after,  bequeathed  his  share 
equally  to  his  brothers  and  sisters. 

The  original  townships  carved  out  of  this 
.Manor  were  Cortlandt,  Yorktown,  Stephantown, 
(now  Somers)  Salem,  (now  North  Salem)  Lewis- 
boro  and  a  third  of  Poundridge. 

Cortlandt  was  the  largest  of  the  six  Manors 
of  Westchester  County.  The  Van  Wycks  of 
Ossining,  are  said  to  have  the  partition  papers  in 
their  possession. 

The    manor    house    at    the    mouth    of  the 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

Croton  River,  supposed  to  have  been  built  in 
1683,  is  stiil  standing,  in  a  good  state  of  preserva- 
tion, and  has  always  been  occupied  by  some 
member  of  the  van  Cortlandt  family. 


97 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 
MANOR    OF    PHILIPSBURGH 

Arms.—  az.  a  demi  lion  rampart,  rising  out  of  a  ducal  coronet  arg, 
surmounted  by  a  ducal  coronet,  or.  Crest.—  a  demi  lion  ram- 
part rising  out  of  a  viscount's  coronet  arg.  surmounted  by  a  ducal 
coronet,  or. 

Motto:—  Quod  tibi  vis  fieri  facias. 

In  the  year  1658  Frederick  Philipse  emigra- 
ted from  East  Friesland  to  New  Netherlands, 
carrying  with  him  money,  plate  and  jewels.  Upon 
his  arrival  he  purchased  a  large  estate  and  soon 
became  a  wealthy  merchant.  His  oldest  son, 
Frederick  Philipse,  Jr.,  born  at  Bbolsv/aert,  East 
Friesland,  in  1656,  became  in  course  of  time  the 
first  lord  of  the  Manor  of  Philipsburgh.  Freder- 
ick Philipse,  Jr.,  in  his  first  appearance  as  purcha- 
ser of  lands  in  Westchester  County,  acted  as  one 
of  three  associates,  combined  to  acquire  all  the 
land  they  possibly  could  on  the    Hudson    River. 

By  this  arrangement    he    became    owner,  in 

1672,  of  some  2,900  acres;  but  this  was  only    an 

initial  venture  in  a  series  of  land  buying    transac- 

_  __ 


MANORS  OF  V/ESTCHESTER  CO. 

tions,  at  least  eight  in  number,  which  continued 
over  a  period  of  fifteen  years,  and  when  complet- 
ed made  him  sole  owner  of  the  country  from 
Spuyten  Duyvil  to  the  Croton  River,  and  from 
the  Hudson  to  the  Bronx.  His  purchases  were 
as  follows:-  1681,  confirmed  in  1683,  the  Pro- 
cantico  tract,  covering  the  territory  around  Tarry- 
town;  1682,  confirmed  in  1684,  the  Bissightick 
tract,  or  Irvington;  1682,  confirmed  in  1684, 
the  Weckquaesgeck  tract,  or  Dobbs  Ferry;  1684, 
confirmed  in  1684,  the  Nepperhan  tract,  stretch- 
ing from  the  north  line  of  the  present  Yonkers  to 
the  extremes  of  the  manor,  between  the  Sawmill 
and  Bronx  Rivers;  1685  the  equal  thirds  of  his  as- 
sociates 1672  Thomas  Delaval  and  Thomas  Lewis 
in  the  Upper  Yonkers  tract;  in  1686  the  Sint- 
Sinck  tract,  or  Sing  Sing,  which  had  been  previous- 
ly purchased  and  confirmed  by  Philip  Philipse; 
in  1687,  the,  Tappan  Meadows,  Rockland 
County,  and  finally,  previous  to  June  12,  1693, 
the  holdings  of  Betts,  Tibbetts    and    Haddon  in 

99 

355664^ 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

the  Lower  Yonkers  tract,  together  with  the 
island  or  flat  of  Papirinemen,  now  Kingsbridge. 
"Frederick  Philipse  being  now  vested  in  the 
fee  simple,  the  whole  territory  was  by  royal 
charter  erected  into  the  lordship  and  manor 
of  Philipsburgh,  to  be  holden  of  the  king,  in  free 
and  common  soccage,  its  lord  yielding,  rendering, 
and  paying  therefor,  yearly  and  every  year,  on 
the  feast  day  of  the  Annunciation  of  the  Blessed 
Virgin  Mary,  at  the  fort  in  New  York,  the 
annual  rent  of  4^.  12s."*  The  Royal  Charter 
of  Philipsburgh,  said  to  be  one  of  the  most 
elaborate  of  ancient  land  deeds,  was  executed  June 
12,  1693.  Shortly  after  this  he  erected  a  Manor 
Hall  in  the  upper  purchase,  and  also  a  fine 
building  in  the  present  Yonkers,  called  Castle 
Philipse.  Each  house  required  from  thirty  to 
fifty  servents  both  black  and  white.  Besides 
these  buildings  he  erected  mills  on  the 
Pocantico  River,  and  also    the    stone    church    at 

=^BoIton's  Westchester,  II.  418. 

100 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO, 


Sleepy  Hollow,  now  known  as  the  oldest  church 
edifice  in  Westchester  County. 

Frederick  Philipse  by  his  last  will,  bearing 
the  date  December  9,  1702,  devised  his  lands  on 
the  Hudson  to  Frederick  Philipse  his  grandson, 
born  in  Barbadoes,  "ye  only  son  of  Philip  his 
only  son." 

These  lands  continued  in  the  possession  of 
Colonel  Frederick  Phillipse,  until  the  year  1779, 
when,  having  broken  his  military  parole  by  not 
returning  to  Yonkers,  they  became  confiscated 
to  the  people  of  New  York  State,  and  were  sold 
and  conveyed  by  Isaac  Stoutenburgh  and  Philip 
van  Cortiandt  Commissioners  of  Forfeitures 
appointed  in  pursuance  of  an  act  of  the  Legislature 
of  the  State  passed  May  12,  1784,  to  sixty  dif- 
ferent parties;  the  largest  buyer  securing  750 
acres. 

In  the  progress  of  events,  Colonel  Philipse 
abandoned  his  home,  and  took  refuge  in  the  City 
of  New  York,  and  finally  embarked  for  England. 


lOI 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO, 

The  manor  at  that  period,  1784.5  was  valued  at 
13,500,000,  but  realty  had  no  fixed  value. 
Philipse  applied  to  the  British  government  for 
compensation  and  was  ailov/ed  a  little  over 
§300,000.  This  last  lord  of  the  Manor  of 
Philipsburgh  died,  in  Chester,  England,  in  I78£, 


102 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO 


ANOR   OF   FORDHAM 


John  Archer  purchased  in  1667  of  Van  der 
Donck  and  the  Indians,  several  portions  of  land 
aggregating  1,253  acres,  afterwards  known  as  the 
Manor  of  Fordham,  John  Archer  was  not  only 
the  founder  of  Fordham,  but  remained  its  prin- 
cipal man  and  controlling  spirit  until  his  death. 
On  May  3,  1669,  he  received  authority  from 
Governor  Lovelace  to  settle  sixteen  families  on 
the  mainland  *^near  the  v/ading  place."  Between 
the  years  1669  and  1671  he  leased  various  farms 
about  Fordham  to  tenants;  but  his  financial  affairs 
became  involved. 

On  September  18,  1669,  he  executed  to 
Cornelius  Steenwyck  of  New  Amsterdam  a  mort- 
gage  of  2,200  guilders;  on  November  14,  1671, 
another  for  7,000  guilders;  and  November  24, 
1676,  for  24,000  guilders.  Archer  being  an 
ambitious,  progressive  person  obtained  from 
Governor  Lovelace  a  royal    patent    consolidating 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO 


his  landed  possessions  into  one  complete  property 
"which  was  appointed  to  be  an  entire  and  enfran- 
chised township,  manor  and  place  of  itself,"  It 
included  the  hamlet  of  Fordham,  and  was  styled 
Fordharn  Manor.  Its  northern  line  began  not 
far  from  th.Q  present  Kingsbridge,  where  the 
Spuyten  Duyvil  Creek  bends  due  south  merging 
into  the  Harlemi  River,  and  its  southern  line 
started  from  a  point  on  the  Harlem  belov/  High 
Bridge;  its  eastern  boundary  was  the  Bronx. 

As  "acknowledgment  and  quit  rent"  for  his 
manorial  patent  Archer  was  to  pay  yearly  "twenty 
bushels  of  good  peas,  upon  the  first  day  of 
March  when  it  shall  be  demanded." 

Fordham,  already  mortgaged  two  years  before 
its  creation,  and  again  mortgaged  for  a  much 
larger  amount  on  the  very  day  after  the  issuance 
of  the  royal  patent,  never  recovered  from 
the  burden  of  indebtedness  that  lay  upon 
it.  Moreover,  at  the  end  of  the  fifth  year  of  its 
existence,  it  became  pledged  beyond  the  hope    of 

104 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

redemption. 

In  Archer's  mortgage  of  1676  to  Steenwyck, 
all  his  rights  in  the  Manor  were  transferred  to 
the  latter,  conditioned  only  upon  the  proviso 
that,  if,  before  the  24th  of  November  1683,  he 
should  repay  the  amount  borrowed  at  six  per 
cent  yearly  interest,  he  should  re-enter  as  pro- 
prietor. The  debt  was  not  discharged  and 
Steenwyck  took  the  whole  estate  as  his  prop- 
erty. 

By  the  will  of  Cornelius  Steenwyck  and 
Margaretta  his  wife  drawn  November  20,  1684, 
they  devised  the  Manor  to  "the  Nether  Dutch 
Rcform.ed  Congregation  in  the  City  of  New 
York."  By  that  congregation  it  was  preserved 
intact,  its  lands  being  leased  to  various  per- 
sons, until  1755,  when  an  act  was  passed  per- 
mitting the  minister,  elders  and  deacons  of  the 
Church  to  sell  the  lands. 

Archer  is  said  to  have  been  a  contentious 
man,    being    involved    in    many    legal    disputes 


MANORS  OF  V/ESTCHESTER  CO, 


vAth  his  tenants  and  the  neighboring  landowners. 
Upon  one  occasion  the  mayor's  court  in  New 
York  acting  upon  a  complaint  from  the  people 
of  Fordham,  that  he  had  undertaken  to  govern 
them  by  ''^rigour  and  force''  and,  "had  been  at 
several  times  the  occasion  of  great  troubles 
betVv'ixt  the  inhabitants  of  the  said  tov/n/'  admon- 
ish him  ^'to  behave  him.self  for  the  future  civilly 
and  quietlyj  as  he  will  ansv/er  for  the  same  at  his 
peril."  By  the  mortgages  the  Manor  was  brought 
under  the  jurisdiction  of  Manhattan  Island. 

Bolton  says  that  300  acres  including  the 
manorial  residence  were,  through  the  lib- 
erality of  Mrs.  Steenwyck,  who  survived  her 
husband,  exemxpted  from  the  bequest  to  the 
Dutch  Church,  and  continued  in  the  possession 
of  the  Archers. 

Archer  suddenly  expired  in  his  coach  while 
journeying  from  the  manorial  residence  to  New 
York  City,  and  v/as  interred  "on  Tetard  Hill, 
Fordham. 

106 


MANORS  OF  V/ESTCHESTER  CO. 

MANOR   OF   MORRISANIA, 

Arms.—  cru.  a  lion,  rairiDant,  ree-uardant  or,  cuarterlv,  with  three 
tOTteaux,  arg.      Crest.—  a  castle  in  flames. 

Motto.—  Tandem  yincitur. 

The  foundations  of  the  preat  Morris  estate 
were  begun  about  1670,  when  Captain  Richard 
Morris,  an  English  merchant  from  Barbadoes, 
purchased,  in  behalf  of  himself  and  his  brother 
Lewis,  from  Samuel  Edsale,  the  old  Bronxland 
tract,  consisting  of  500  acres,  which  about 
1639  was  granted  by  the  Dutch  West  India 
Company  to  Jonas  Bronck.  It  is  an  interest- 
ing fact  that  this  Bronxland  tract  is  nov/  the 
most  thickly  populated  portion  of  Westchester 
County. 

On  March  25,  1676,  Governor  Andros 
issued  to  him  a  patent  covering  not  only  the 
original  500  acres  of  Broncks,  but  some  1,420 
adjoining  acres  in  addition. 

He  lived  on  the  Bronxland  property  until 

107 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

his  death  In    1691,  occupying  a  handsome    res- 
idence which  was  a  place  of  liberal  hospitality. 

He  left  no  descendants,  his  sole  heir  being  his 
nephew  Lewis,  the  only  son  of  his  brother  Richard. 
As  was  the  custom  of  the  times  Captain,  or 
Colonel,  Morris  owned  a  large  number  of  slaves; 
in  his  will  he  records  over  sixty  negroes. 

The  Colonel  vvas  an  intimate  acquaintance 
of  William  Penn,  who  had  great  influence  over 
him,  and  induced  Morris  to  become  a  Friend; 
the  Colonel  retained  his  Quaker  convictions  to 
the  last. 

The  nephew,  young  Lewis  Morris,  was  a 
gay  youth,  and  his  uncle  referred  to  him  in  his  will 
with  considerable  severity,  adverting  to  "his  many 
and  great  miscarryages  and  disobedience  towards 
my  wife  and  me,  and  his  causeless  absenting  him- 
self from  my  house,  and  adhering  to  and  advizing 
with  those  of  bad  Hfe  and  conversation." 

This  graceless  youth    soon    proved    himself 
eminently     deserving     of    his     fine     inheritance. 

108 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 


Under  him  the  Bronxland  estate,  and  the  adjoin- 
ing 1,420  acres  were  converted  into  the  Manor 
of  Morrisania,  authority  was  given  him  to  hold  a 
court  leet,  and  court  baron,  "to  exercise  jurisdic- 
tion over  all  waifs,  strays,  wrecks,  goods  or  felons 
happening  or  being  within  the  manor  limits." 
Lewis  Morris  obtained  letters  patent  from  King 
William  III.  on  May  8,  1697,  erecting  the  prop- 
erty into  a  township  to  "be  hoiden  of  the  king 
in  free  and  common  soccage,  its  lord  yielding  and 
rendering  therefore  annually,  on  the  Feast  Day 
of  the  Annunciation  of  the  Blessed  Virgin  Mary, 
the  rent  of  six  shillings."  Lewis  Morris  was  a 
man  of  strong  convictions  and  had  an  especial 
contempt  for  consequences  where  duty  was  at 
stake;  he  rose  to  be  one  of  the  most  distinguished 
men  of  his  time  in  America,  holding  many  pro- 
minent positions,  those  of  Chief-justice  of  New 
York,  and  Governor  of  New  Jersey;  giving  his 
name  not  only  to  the  Manor,  but  also  to  Morris- 
town,    Nev/    Jersey,    the    elder     Morris     having 

109 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

owned  about  3,540  acres  there.  He  died  May 
21,  1746.  His  successor  was  Lewis  Morris,  Jr., 
the  third  proprietor  and  second  lord  of  the  Manor 
of  Morrisania.  He  was  the  father  of  Colonel 
Lewis  Morris  one  of  the  signers  of  the  Declaration 
of  Independence;  Gouverneur  Morris  of  the  Su- 
preme Court;  Judge  Richard  Morris  successor 
to  John  Jay,  as  Chief-justice;  and  General  Staats 
Morris  of  the  British  Army. 

The  Town  of  Morrisania,  by  act  of  Legis- 
lature, March  7,  1788,  coincided  with  the  Manor 
of  Morrrisania;  by  an  act  passed  February  22, 
1 79 1  it  was  annexed  to  the  town  of  Westchester, 
from  which  it  was  not  again  severed  until  Dec- 
ember 7,  1855,  and  was  finally  annexed  to  New 
York  City  in  1874. 


1 10 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

THE   MANOR   OF   PELHAM. 

Arme.—  ermine,  on  a  canton,  azure,  a  pelican  or,  vulncd  gules. 
Crest.—  on  a  chaplet  vert  flowered,  or,  a  pelican  of  the  last 
vulned  gules.      (Granted  October  19th  1594.) 

The  founder  of  the  house  of  Pell  was  John 
Pell,  Esq.,  of  Norfolk  County,  England,  Master 
of  the  King's  Cup,  who  married  Margaret 
Overend,  daughter  of  William  of  Norfolk;  he  died 
February  1607. 

The  name  Pelham  is  of  Saxon  origin  and 
compounded    of   two    words     Pel,    remote,   and 


nam,  mansion. 


The     first    Manor    formed    in    the    present 
County  of  Westchester  was    owned    by    Thomas 

Pell,  and  obtained  by  him  partly  by  purchase 
from  the  Indians,  and  partly  by  grant  of  Nov- 
ember 14,  1654.  It  included  an  immense  tract 
of  land  originally  embracing  9,166  acres  extend- 
ing from  the  eastern  confines  of  CorneH's  Neck, 
and  reaching  to  the  Mamaroneck  purchase  of  John 
Richbell.       Previous    to  Pell's   purchase,   in    the 


1 1 1 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

year  1642,  Anne  Hutchinson,  to  avoid  the  bitter 
persecutions  of  the  Puritans,  fled  here  for  protec- 
tion, and  commenced  a  plantation.  Later  Mrs. 
Hutchinson  and  family  consisting  of  sixteen 
persons  were  all  killed  by  the  Indians.  After 
considerable  legal  contest  Pell  parted  with  all 
that  section  of  land  below  Hutchinson  River,  and 
immediately  turned  his  attention  to  the  erection 
of  the  remainder  into  one  imposing  estate. 
This  was  accomplished  by  letters  patent  procured 
from  Governor  Nicolls  on  October  8,  1666,  a 
document  under  which  the  first  Manor  of  West- 
chester County  was  organized.  The  boundaries 
given  it  were  Hutchinson  River  on  the  west,  and 
Cedar  Tree  Brook,  or  Gravely  Brook,  on  the 
east;  and  it  was  to  include  "all  the  Islands  in  the 
Sound,  not  already  granted  or  otherwise  disposed 
of,  lying  before  that  tract,  and  to  run  into  the 
woods  about  eight  English  miles  in  breadth." 

The  whole  was  declared  to    be    "an    enfran- 
chised township,   manor,    and    place    by    itself.** 

1 12 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

and  to  be  entirely  free  from  the  "rules,  orders,  or 
directions  of  any  riding,  township,  or  townships, 
place  or  jurisdiction,  either  upon  the  main  or 
upon  the  Island  of  Nassau,"  as  Long  Island 
was  then  called.  The  proprietor  was  to  pay  an- 
nually to  the  Duke  of  York,  "one  lamb  upon  the 
first  day  of  May  if  the  same  should  be  demanded." 
Thomas  Pell  died  in  1669,  three  years  after 
obtaining  from  Governor  Nicolls  the  manorial 
patent  for  his  magnificent  estate  on  the  Sound, 
stretching  from  Hutchinson  River  to  Richbell's 
Mamaroneck  grant;  tradition  says  that  he  perished 
in  a  gale  while  upon  a  pleasure  excursion  in  his  own 
yacht  off  City  Island;  and  was  buried  in  Fairfield, 
Connecticut.  His  will,  dated  September  21,  1669, 
bequeathed  all  his  possessions,  except  certain  per- 
sonal bequests,  to  his  nephew  John  Pell,  then  resid- 
ing in  England,  the  only  son  of  his  only  brother 
the  Rev.  John  Pell  D.D.  John  Pell  the  successor 
of  Thomas    thus  became    the  second  Lord  of  the 

Manor  of  Pclham.       He  arrived  in  America,  and 
_  __ 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

entered  into  his  proprietorship  in  the  summer  of 
1670.  On  October  25,  1687,  a  new  royal  patent 
ofPeiham  Manor  was  issued  to  him  by  Governor 
Dongan;  the  reason  for  this  proceeding  being,  as 
stated  in  the  patent,  that  he  desired  a  "more  full 
and  firm  grant  and  confirmation  of  his  lands." 
The  bounds  of  the  manor  as  specified  in  the  new 
instrument  were  precisely  the  same  as  those  pre- 
scribed in  the  Nicoll'*  patent,  but  the  dignities 
attaching  to  the  manorial  lordship  were  somewhat 
more  elaborately  defined,  and,  instead  of  paying 
to  the  royal  government  as  quit-rent,  "one  lamb 
on  the  first  day  of  May"  as  had  been  required  of 
Thomas  Pell,  he  was  to  pay  "twenty  shillings 
good  and  lawful  money  of  this  province"  "on 
the  five  and  twentyeth  day  of  March."  He  mar- 
ried in  1685  Rachel,  daughter  of  Philip  Pinckney, 
one  pf  the  first  proprietors  of  East  Chester.  He 
resided  on  his  estate  and  seems  to  have  taken  an 
active  part  in  the  affairs  of  Westchester  County 
having    been    appointed    by     Governor    Andros 

114 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

August  27,  1688,  the  first  judge  of  Westchester 
County;  serving  as  delegate  from  that  County, 
in  the  provincial  assembly  from  1691  to  1695. 
He  died  in  1702.  The  most  notable  event  of 
John  Pell's  administration  of  his  Manor,  was  the 
conveyance  by  him  through  the  celebrated  Jacob 
Leisler  of  6,000  acres  as  a  place  of  settlement  for 
the  Huguenots,  a  transaction  out  of  which  resulted 
the  erection  of  the  City  of  New  Rocheilc.*  By 
this  sale  the  Manor  of  Pclham  embracing  9,166 
acres  was  reduced  to  one-third  of  its  original 
dimensions.  After  this  the  Manor  never  enjoyed 
a  very  conspicuous  part  among  the  great  original 
landed  estates  of  Westchester  Counry.  But  the 
Manor  was  preserved  as  such,  until  the  death  of 
the  last  "Lord"  Joseph  Pell  in  1776.  Pelham 
Manor  was  incorporated  as  a  village  in    1891. 


*See  New  Blochelle  Little  Visits. 

__ 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 
MANOR  OF  SCARSDALE. 

Heathcote  Arms.-  Ermine  three  pomeis,  each  charged  with  t 
cross  or.  Crest.-  A  mural  crown  azure,  a  pomeis  as  in  the  arms, 
between  two  wings  displayed,  ermine. 

Motto.-  Deus  prosperat  justos. 

Colonel  Caleb  Heathcote  firit  lord  of  the 
Manor  of  Scaradalc  was  a  representative  of  the 
ancient  family  of  Heathcotes  of  Cheitcrfield, 
Derbyshire,  England.  The  Colonel  came  to 
America  in  1692,  and  the  first  year  of  hit 
arrival  attained  a  seat  in  the  council. 

On  March  2iBt,  1701,  letters  patent  for  the 
Manor  of  Scarsdale  were  issued  to  Caleb  Heath- 
cote by  King  William  III.  through  his  deputy 
Lieutenant-Governor  Nanfan.  Its  bounds  are 
not  very  clearly  described  in  that  document. 
According  to  the  spirit  of  the  grant,  its  north- 
ward projection  was  to  be  a  distance  of  twenty 
miles,  as  in  the  original  Richbell  patent;  but 
express  proviso  was  made    that    no    further    title 

should  be  given  to  Heathcote  than  that  which  he 

__ 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

"already  hath  to  yc  lands  called  ye  White  Plains, 
which  is  in  dispute  between  ye  said  Caleb  Heath- 
cote  and  some  of  the  inhabitants  of  ye  Town 
of  Rye." 

In  point  ot  fact  Scarsdale  Manor  was  always 
limited  at  the  north  by  the  White  Plains  tract, 
Heathcotc  never  having  been  able  to  legally 
establish  his  claim  to  the  disputed  lands;  the  north- 
ern line  of  the  Manor  followed  the  Mamaroneck 
River  from  its  mouth  for  about  two  miles,  and 
thence  proceeded  to  the  Bronx;  at  the  west  and 
east  it  was  bounded  respectively  by  the  Bronx  and 
the  Sound;  on  the  south  it  was  bounded  by  lands 
belonging  to  Cornelius  Steenwyck.  Caleb  Heath- 
cote,  in  buying  from  Mrs.  Richbell  her  title  to 
most  of  the  present  Township  of  Mamaroneck  and 
other  lands,  embracing  White  Plains,  Scarsdale 
and  A  part  of  North  Castle,  paid  for  his  acquisition 
only  £600,  The  quit-rent  for  the  Manor  of 
Scarsdale  was  £^.  current  money  of  New  York, 
upon  the  Nativity  of  our  Lord.       Appended    to 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

most  of  the  quit-rent  leases  was  the  significant- 
statement  that  the  prescribed  payment  was  to  be 
*4n  lieu  of  all  rents,  services,  and  demands  what- 
ever;" apparently  inserted  to  emphasize  the  v/cU 
understood  fact,  that  the  manor  grants  were  strict- 
ly in  the  line  of  public  policy,  and  were  in  no  way 

intended  to  become  a  source  of  revenue  to  the 
government. 

The  influence  exerted  by    Caleb    Heathcote 

wai  manifested  not  only  in  his  own  Manor, 
but  elsewhere;  he  was  frequently  called  upon  to 
arbitrate  serious  difficulties,  and  always  decided 
on  the  side  of  honor  and  justice;  he  was 
a  man  of  perfect  honesty  and  openness,  free  from 
all  meanness,  low  craft,  and  servility;  to  the  man- 
liest of  personal  qualities  he  added  brilliant  abil- 
ities, an  extraordinary  capacity  for  public  affairs, 
and  an  affability  and  grace  of  manner  which  made 
him  an  object  of  general  admiration  and  affection. 
The  Manor  of  Scarsdale  patented  by  Colonel 
Caleb  Heathcote  in  1701  had  only  a  nominal  con- 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO. 

tinuance  after  his  death,  1721.  He  left  no  male 
heir  to  take  a  personal  interest  in  the  development 
of  the  property,  as  one  of  the  great  family  estates 
of  Westchester  County.  Caleb  Heathcote's 
daughters  Ann  and  Martha  married  respectively 
James  de  Lanccy  of  New  York  and  Dr.  Lewis 
Johnston  of  Perth  Amboy,  New  Jersey.* 

The  importance  of  the  Manorial  proprietor- 
ships in  Westchester  County,  in  their  relations  to 
its  political  and  social  character  and  to  its  eventful 
history  for  a  hundred  years,  cannot  be  overesti- 
mated. All  the  founders  of  the  six  Manors  were 
men  of  forceful  traits,  native  ability,  and  wide  in- 
fluence. With  a  single  exception']*,  they  left  their 
estates,  entirely  undiminished  and  unimpaired,  ei- 
ther to  children  or  immediate  kinsmen,  who  in  turn, 
by  their  personal  characters  and  qualities,  as  well 
as  by  their  marital  alliances,  solidified  the  already 

*For  further   information   on    this    subject    see    Rikeman's 
History  of  Mamaroneck  to  be  issued  in  the  Fall. 

yjohn  Archer  of  Fordham. 


MANORS  OF  V/ESTCHESTER  CO. 

substantial  foundations  which  had  been  laid,  and 
greatly  strengthened  the  social  position  and  enlar- 
ged the  sphere  of  their  families.  To  enumerate 
the  marriages  contracted  during  the  seventeenth 
and  eighteenth  centuries,  in  the  male  and  female 
lines,  by  the  van  Cortlaiadts,  the  Philipses,  the 
Morrises,  the  Pells,  and  the  descendants  of  Caleb 
Heathcote,  would  involve  almost  a  complete  re- 
capitulation of  the  most  conspicuous  and  wealthy 
New  York  families  of  the  entire  colonial  period, 
besides  many  prominent  families  of  other 
provinces.  To  the  Westchester  manorial  families 
belonged  some  of  the  most  noted  and  influential 
Americans  of  their  times;  men  of  shining  talents, 
fascinating  manners,  masterful  energy,  and  splen- 
did achievement;  statesmen,  orators,  judges, 
and  soldiers,  who  were  among  the  principal 
popular  leaders  and  civic  officials  of  the  province, 
and  who  won  renown  both  in  public  service  and 
in  the  field  during  the  Revolution.  Alike  to  the 
patriot  cause  and  the  Tory  faction   these  families 

1 20 


MANORS  OF  WESTCHESTER  CO 


contributed  powerful  and  illustrious  supporters. 
The  tenants  in  each  case  were  controlled 
largely  by  the  proprietor,  and  thus  an  acute  divi- 
sion of  sentiment  and  sympathies  was  occasioned 
which,  in  connection  with  the  unique  geographical 
position  of  this  county  in  its  relation  to  the 
contending  forces  of  the  Revolution,  caused  it  to 
be  torn  by  constant  broils,  and  to  be  devastated 
by  innumerable  conflicts  and   depredations." 


121 


CROTON  AQUEDUCT  ARCH,   OSSINING. 


Ct  t\  fc-\\ ,  r\  w  7 


Vol.   I. 


MAY  IQ02. 


No. 


LITTLE  VISITS 

-  TO 

HISTORICAL 

POINTS  IN 

WESTCHESTER 

COUNTY 

PJRT  FIFE 

BY 

AN  AUTHORITY 


OSSINING  and   CROTON. 


MAMARONECK,  N.  Y.       •      PUBLISHED 
SrTHE  RICHBELL  PRESS  -   M  C   M  I  I 


»'S  w 


Copyrighted     1902 

BT 

J.   WALLACE  CLAPP. 


PUBLISHED    THE    FIRST    OF 
EVERY      •      MONTH       •      BY 


The    Richbell   Press    •  J.    Wallace 
Clapp     •     Mamaroneck     •     N.  Y. 


T-'T^^o♦-£»/^     TiiUr     >«  -w 


LITTLE  FISirS  TO 
HISTORICAL  POINTS  IN 
fFESrCHESTER  COUNTT 


OSSINING   and   CROTON. 


HE  Indian  orthography  of  Ossining  is 
variously  written;  Sin  Sing,  Sin  Sinck, 
and  Sink  Sink  the  word  is  derived  from 
ossin,  a  stone,  and  ing,  a  place,  or  stone 
upon  stone;  a  name  exceedingly  charac- 
teristic of  this  beautiful  town,  whose 
coast  is  guarded  by  a  vast  munition  of 
rocks  and  ancient  boulders. 

At  a^very  early  period  Ossining  constituted 
a  part  of  the  possessions  of  a  powerful  Mohcgan 
clan  called  the  Sin  Sing.  April  22,  1643,  ^P" 
peared  before  the  Dutch   Director-General    Kieft 


122 


OSSINING     and     CROTON 

in  Fort  Amsterdam,  Oratatrlm,  sachem  of  Ack- 
kin-kas-hacky,  who  declared  he  was  deputed  by 
those  of  Tappan,  Reekgawanck,  Kitchawan, 
Croton,  and  Sin  Sing,  to  conclude  a  peace 
with  the  Dutch  in  the  following  manner,  viz.: 
that  all  the  injustices  com^mitted  by  the  said 
nations  against  the  Netherlanders,  or  by  the 
Netherlanders  against  said  nations,  shall  be  forgiv- 
en and  forgotten  forever;  they  reciprocally  promis- 
ing one  another  to  cause  no  trouble  the  one  to  the 
other;  but  whenever  the  Indians  understand  that 
any  nation  not  mentioned  in  this  treaty  might  be 
plotting  mischief  against  the  Christians,  that  they 
vv^ill  give  timely  warning,  and  not  admit  such  a 
nation  within  their  own  limiits.  To  secure  and 
confirm  this  peace,  presents  were  given  on  both 
sides,  while  God  is  prayed  to  that  this  peace  may  be 
duly  observed  by  the  Indians.  August  ^^y  1645 
Aepjen,  chief  sachem  of  the  Mohcgans,  personally 
appeared  at  Fort  Amsterdam  as  a  delegate  to  the 
general    council    held    there,    in    behalf    of    the 

123 


OSSINING     and      CROTON 


Wappinecks,  the  Weckquaesqueecks,  the  Sin 
Sing  and  the  Kitchawan* 

In  the  year  A.  D.  1653,  the  Sin  Sing 
appear  to  have  been  without  a  chief. 

On  the  early  Dutch  maps  of  Van  der  Donck 
1656,  and  Nicolaus  Johannes  Visschers  1659, 
an  Indian  settlement,  Kestaubuiuck,  was  placed 
between  Sin  Sing  and  Kitchawan  or  Croton;  it 
was  perhaps  merely  a  small  collection  of  wigv/ams, 
as  wc  find  no  further  mention  of  the  name. 

The  first  grantee,  under  the  Indians  ot 
Ossining,  was  Frederick  Philipse  to  whom  on 
August  24,  1685,  they  released  "all  that  tract  of 
land  or  parcel  of  land  situate,  lying  and  being  by 
the  northcrmost  part  of  the  land  late  purchased 
by  Frederick  Philipse  and  so  running  alongst  the 
Hudson's  river  to  the  creek  or  river  called 
Kitchawan  and  called  by  the  Indians  Sin  Sing, 
with  the  use  of  half  the  said  creek,  and  from 
thence  running  up  the  country  upon  a    due    cast 

*Dr.  O.  Callaghan's  History  N.N.  p.  356. 

124 


OSSINING     and     CROTON 

line  till  it  comes  to  a  creek  called  Nepperan,  by 
the  Christian's  Younckers  creek,  and  so  running 
alongst  said  creek  till  it  comes  to  the  northerly- 
bounds  of  the  said  land  of  Mr.  Frederick  Philipse, 
and  from  thence  alongst  the  said  land  till  it 
comes  to  Hudson's  river  together  with/'  etc.,  etc. 
The  grantors  were:  Weskenane,  Crawman, 
Wappus,  Keanarham,  Wennicktanon,  Aquaincs, 
Mam.annane,  Weremenhore. 

Here  followeth  the  schedule  or  particular 
of  the  goods  paid  by  the  grantee  for  the  above 
said  lands. 

50  feet  black  wampum,    12  blankets, 
100  feet  white  wampum,   12  fathom  stroudwater, 

1 1  kettles,  50  Tbs.  of  powder, 

12  large  ditto,  30  bars  of  lead, 
1 5  fathom  trade  cloth,     20  axes, 

12  guns,  15  hoes, 

15  shirts,  40  knives, 

12  pair  of  stockings,  20  stone  jugs, 

2  ankers  of  rum,  i  iron  chain, 

125 


OSSINING     and     CROTON 

12  drawing  knives,  i  rolls  of  tobacco, 

6  adzes,  2  pistols.* 

This  Indian  purchase  was  confirmed  to  his 
son  Philip  Philipse  by  royal  patent,  dated  Janu- 
ary 12,  1686,  under  the  hand  and  seal  of  his 
Excellency  Thomas  Dongan,  Governor  of  the 
Province. 

On  the  death  of  Frederick  Philipse,  in  1700 
this  portion  of  the  Manor  of  Philipsburgh  passed 
by  will  to  his  second  son  Acolph  Philipse,  who 
dying  in  1749,  the  property  became  vested  in 
the  Hon.  Frederick  Philipse,  grandson  of  the 
first  owner.  The  last  mesne  lord  was  Colonel 
Frederick  Philipse  with  whose  attainder  Ossin- 
ing  and  Croton  passed  into  the  possession  of 
other  proprietors,  who  purchased  under  the 
Commissioners  of  Forfeitures  appointed  in 
pursuance  of  an  act  of  the  Legislature  of  the 
State  passed  May  12,  1784. 

The  Kitchav/an  or  as  it  is  now  called  Croton 
*Alb.  Book  of  Pat.  v.  90. 

126 


OSSINING     and      CROTON 

was  the  boundary  line  between  the  van  Cortlandt 
and  Philipse  Manors. 

The  name  Croton  is  said  to  have  been  adoDt- 
ed  from  an  illustrious  sachem  of  that  nam.e  who 
resided  here  at  an  early  period.  In  all  the  early 
deeds  the  river  is  called  Kitchawan. 

Judge  Benson,  in  his  returns  to  the  Nev/ 
York  Historical  Society,  states  that  Croton  is  a 
corruption  of  the  name  of  a  chief  who  lived  and 
exercised  his  authority  at  the  mouth  of  this 
stream.  It  is  clearly  a  derivative  from  Knotin, 
or  Knoten,  or  as  it  was  oftener  used  without  the 
prefix,  meaning  in  cither  case  the  wind  or 
tempest.  According  to  tradition  the  Indian 
castle  of  Kitchawan  occupied  a  commanding 
position  on  the  neck  proper  overlooking  the 
Croton  and  Harvestraw  bays.  This  site  was 
chosen  for  the  purpose  of  protecting  the  fisheries, 
and  overawing  the  neighboring  tribes.  The 
Cortlandt  Manor  house  was  built  on  this  very 
site;    it    is     supposed     that    this     mansion     was 

127 


O  S  S  I  N  I  N  G     and      C  R  O  T  6  i^. 


erected  in  1583,  and  was  originally  intended 
as  a  trading  post  and  fort.  The  building 
was  subsequently  enlarged  and  occupied  by 
the  van  Cortlandt  family.  This  house  was  built 
with  very  thick  stone  walls,  pierced  with  loop- 
holes for  musketry,  all  of  which  have  been  filled 
in,  save  one  in  what  is  now  the  sittingroom, 
which  is  preserved  as  a  memento  of  olden  times 
and  of  the  antiquity  of  the  building.  Situated 
just  where  the  road  from  Ossining  to  Croton 
Landinor  crosses  the  wide  mouth  of  the  Croton 
River,  where  that  stream  enters  into  the 
Hudson,  it  commands  a  magnificent  view  of  the 
broad  Tappan  Zee.  In  former  times  the  ferry 
cross  the  Croton  River  mouth,  which  was  the 
only  means  of  reaching  the  country  above  with- 
out making  a  wide  detour,  had  its  northern 
terminus  near  the  mansion.  The  house  has 
been  continuously  occupied  by  the  descendants 
of  Steplianus;  the  present  occupants  are  Mr.  van 
Cortlandt  and  Miss  Anna  van  Cortlandt.    ^S^ijud^lf^t 

128 


05SINING     and     CROTON 


The  beautiful  neck,  now  known  as  Croton 
Point  and  seperated  from  Ossining  bv  the  Croton 
River,  which  here  forms  a  charming  bay,  was 
called  by  the  Indians  Senasqua;  at  an  early  period 
this  point  or  neck  passed  from  the  native  Indian 
proprietors  to  Williami  and  Sarah  Teller,  husband 
and  wife,  who  it  is  said  received  it  as  a  gift. 
After  William  Teller's  death  his  widow  held 
possession  of  the  property,  and  the  neck  was 
known  to  the  Skippers  as  Sarah's  Point;  it  is 
certain  that  prior  to  1748,  Sarah  Teller  held  the 
neck  as  tenant  at  sufferance  under  the  van 
Cortlandt  family. 

A  branch  of  the  Teller  family  were  early 
connected  with  the  van  Cortlandts  by  marriage, 
Andrew  Teller  in  1671  having  married  Sophia, 
daughter  of  the  Right  Hon.  Oloff  Stcvensen  van 
Cortlandt. 

Upon  July  14,  1800,  the  heirs  of  William 
Teller  conveyed  part  of  the  neck  to  Elijah 
Morgan  of  Cortlandt-town;     November  6,  1804, 

129 


OSSINING     ixjid     CROTON 


Elijah  Morgan,  Jr.,  and  Ann  his  wife  resold 
the  same  to  Robert  Underbill;  en  August  i6, 
1804,  ^-obert  McCord  and  wife  conveyed  ^^ncther 
portion  of  the  neck  to  Robert  Underhill;  upon 
the  death  of  the  latter  individ'aal  the  wjiQle"  be- 
came vested  in  his  two  sons,  and  y/as  known  as 
Underhill's  Point. 

This  Neck  is  now  an  extensive  vineyard 
containing  two  and  a  half  miles  ot  grape  vines, 
fi-om  which  are  gathered  annually  immense 
quantities  of  luscious  2:raDes,  so  thorou.chlv  ap- 
predated  that  thev  have  a  world-wide  rcDutation, 
as  Croton  Point  Grapes. 

The  marble  deposits  at  Ossining  contain 
minute  grains  of  iron  pyrites,  thus  causing  the 
stone  to  become  stained  in  course  ot  time  by  the 
action  of  sea  air,  although  in  other  respects  it  is 
an  admirable  building  stone.  Early  in  the 
past  century  silver  was  discovered  in  Ossining  a 
little  south  of  the  landing;  naturally  the  announce- 
ment of  the  discovery  of  precious    metal    caused 


O  S  S I N I N  G     and      C  R  O  T  O  N 

great  excitement;  in  the  town,  and,  to  add  to  the 
commotion,  copper  was  found  not  far  from  the 
silver  mine;  a  great  rush  for  Sing  Sing  set  in,  and 
realty  advanced  accordingly. 

Both  of  these  ventures  are  of  historical  interest 
representing  no  actual  successfully  productions  of 
&  definite  character.  A  little  east  of  Ossining  is 
the  Chappaqua  Mineral  Spring,  supposed  to 
possess  medicinal  virtues. 

The  beginninc;  of  the  gic-antic  Croton  Aoue- 

o  to  o  to  1 

duct  enterprise  dates  from  about  1 83  i.     "On  No- 

vemiber  10,  1832,  the  joint  committee  on  fire  and 

v/ater  of  the    New    York    City    common    council 

engaged  Colonel  De  Witt  Clinton,    a    competent 

engineer,    to    examine    the    various    sources    and 

routes  of  v/ater  supply  which  had  been   suggested 

up  to  that  tim.e,  and  to  make  a  careful  report    on 

the  subject.      Colonel  Clinton  recommended   the 

Croton  water  shed  as  the  source    of  supply,    and 

demonstrated  by  unanswerable  facts  that  no  other 

source    adequate  to    the    ultimate    needs    of   the 

__ 


O  S  S  I  N  I  N  G      n  ,.  (1      C  R  O  T  O  M 


City  was  available.  This  report  marks  the  begin- 
nino:,  as  a  serious  undertakinrr,  of  the  proiect  to 
conduct  the  Croton  water  to  Nev/  York  City." 

Early  in  1700  a  reservoir  was  built  on  what 
is  now  Fourth  Avenue  just  below  Art  Street, 
and  wooden  pipes  were  connected  with  a  pretty 
little  lake  or  pond  back  of  the  site  now  occupied 
by  the  Bible  House.  From  this  reservoir  water 
was  distributed  to  certain  parts  of  the  City. 
This  however  did  not  meet  the  jirrowincr  needs 
of  the  people;  and  soon  after  the  Revolution  an 
organization  called  the  Manhattan  Com^pany  was 
empov/ered  to  draw  water  from  Westchester 
County,  but  it  contented  itself  with  sinking  two 
large  wells  and  distributing  their  contents  to 
customers.  The  increasing  population  demanded 
a  more  complete  and  convenient  system.  Various 
committees  were  appointed,  and  surveys  made, 
and  the  Bronx  w^as  suggested  as  a  suitable 
supply.  Colonel  Clinton  was  called  upon  to 
undertake  a  final  investigation    of  the    questions 

132 


OS  S  I  N  I  N  G     and      C  R  O  T  O  N 


involved. 


At  the  session  of  May  2.  1834,  the 
Legislature  passed  an  act  autlAorizing  the  reap- 
pointmen^t  of  water  commissioners,  and  directing 
the  commissioners  to  adopt  a  definite  olan  for 
procuring  a  supply  of  water. 

The  commissioners  selected  Major  Douglass 
as  their  chief  engineer,  and  on  July  6,  1835, 
that  gentlemian,  with  fifteen  assistants  took  the 
field  tor  preliminary  work  in  our  County.  Their 
first  care  was  stake  out  the  lake  to  be  formed  by 
dammdng  the  Croton,  which  as  at  first  calculated 
would  have  an  area  of  496  acres.  But  it  was 
nearly  two  years  before  construction  work  was 
actually  begun.  The  land  owners  along  the 
proposed  line  m.ade  vexations  demands,  among 
them,  the  extraordinary  one  that  the  legal  pos- 
session and  use  of  the  land  should  remain  with 
the  original  proprietors,  notwithstanding  the 
circumistance  of  its  having  been  paid  for  by  the 
City.      The  legislature    endeavored    to    conciliate 

133 


O  S  S I N I N  G     and      C  R  O  T  O  N 

the  landowners  with  but  Httle  success.  The 
consequence  of  this  discontent  v/as  that  the 
commissioners  were  unable  to  purchase  the  lands 
along  the  line.  In  1836  Major  Douglass  was 
superseded  by  Mr.  J.  B.  Jervis,  under  whose 
direction  the  whole  work  was  carried  to  comple- 
tion. On  April  26,  1837,  bids  were  opened  "for 
furnishing  the  materials  and  completing  the 
construction  of  twenty-three  sections  of  the 
Croton  Aqueduct,  including  the  dam  in  the 
Croton,  the  aqueduct  bridge  over  Sing  Sing 
Kill,  and  the  necessary  excavations  and  tunnelling 
on  the  line  of  about  eight  and  one-half  miles 
from  the  Croton  to  Sing  Sing  Village",  three 
years  being  allowed  for  the  fulfillment  of  these 
contracts. 

By  December  i,  1837,  2,455  ^^^^  ^^  ^^"^^ 
aqueduct  had  been  completed,  and  during  the 
next  year  the  whole  of  the  work  in  Westchester 
County,  thirty-three  miles  in  length,  had  either 
been  finished  or  placed  under  contract. 

^34 


OSSINING      and      CROTON 


In  the  Croton's  course  throvigh  Westchester 
County  it  receives  as  tributaries  the  Muscot, 
Titicus,  Cross  and  Kisco  Pvivers.  The  Muscot 
is  the  outlet  of  the  celebrated  Lake  Mahopack 
in  Putman  County,  and  the  Cross  or  Peppexeg- 
hock  of  Lake  Vs^accabuc  one  of  the  largest  of 
the  Westchester  Lakes.  The  Croton  water-shed 
lies  almost  wholly  in  the  State  of  New  York, 
although  draining  a  small  area  in  Connecticut. 
It  extends  about  forty  mxiies  north  and  south  and 
fifteen  miles  east  and  west,  and  has  an  area  of 
359  square  miles  above  Croton  Dam.  This 
water-shed  embraces  thirty-one  lakes  and  ponds 
in  Westchester  and  Putnam  Counties,  many  of 
which  have  been  utilized  as  natural  storage  basins 
in  connection  with  the  New  York  City  water  sup- 
ply, by  cutting  down  their  outlets  and  building 
dams  across. 

Besides  Croton  Lake,  there  are  two  very 
large  reservoirs  in  our  County  incidental  to  the 
Croton     system;      the     Titicus     Reservoir     near 


OSSINING     and     GROT  ON 

Purdy's,  and  the  Amawalk   Reservoir. 

Croton  Lake  is  by  far  the  most  extensive 
sheet  of  water  in  the  County.  It  is  formed  by  a 
dam  about  five  miles  east  of  the  mouth  of  the 
Croton,  and  has  a  length  of  more  than  eleven 
miles.  From  the  lake  two  aqueducts  the 
"Old"  and  the  "New"  lead  to  Nev/  York  City; 
the  former  is  thirty-eight  and  the  latter  thirty- 
three  miles  long,  the  distance  in  each  case  being 
measured  to  the  receiving  reservoir  which  crosses 
the  Harlem  River  over  High  Bridge:  the  New  is 
carried  underneath  the  stream. 

The  original  water  commissioners  were 
appointed  in  1833  and  retired  in  1840:  they 
were  Stephen  Allen,  B.  M.  Brown,  S.  Dusen- 
berry,  S.  Allen  and  William  W.  Fox. 

May  2,  1834,  the  legislature  passed  an  act 
authorizing  that  a  sum  not  exceeding  J2, 500,000 
should  be  raised  as  "Water  Stock  of  the  City  of 
New  York,"  bearing  five  per  cent  interest.  The 
commissioners     through     re-examination    of   the 

136 


OSSINING     and      CROTON 

matter  expressed  the  opinion  that  "the  whole 
Croton  River  could  be  brought  to  Murray  Hill, 
42d.  Street,  in  a  close  aqueduct  of  masonry  at 
an  expcnce  of  $4,250,000,"  and  that  the  revenue 
accuring  from  v/ater-rates  would  "overpay  the 
interest  on  the  cost  of  the  works."  The  dam 
across  the  Croton  River  was  commenced  in  Jan- 
uary 1838,  and  was  completed  about  the  end  of 
1 840.  This  dam  was  formed  of  "hydraulic  stone 
masonry,  connected  with  an  earthen  embank- 
ment," the  embankment  being  two  hundred  and 
fifty  feet  long,  sixty-five  feet  high  at  its  extreme 
height,  two-hundred  and  fifty  feet  wide  at  the 
base,  and  fifty-five  feet  wide  at  the  top,  "protect- 
ed on  its  lovv^er  side  by  a  heavy  protection  wall 
twenty  feet  wide  at  the  base."  "On  the  night 
of  January  7,  1841,  in  consequence  of  a  sudden 
and  great  rise  in  the  water  of  the  Croton,  the 
portion  of  the  dam  comprised  in  the  earthen 
em_bankment  gave  way,  and  the  whole  country 
below  was     flooded.     Three    bridges,  Tompkins 


OSSINING     and     CROTON 

Bridge,  the  bridge  at  the  Wire  Mill  and  Quaker's 
Bridge,  were  swept  away,  and  several  mills  and 
dwelling  houses  were  destroyed;  but,  so  far  as 
was  known  only  two  residents  lost  their  lives-. 
This  was  the  only  serious  casualty  that  occurred 
in  connection  with  the  building  of  the  Croton 
Aqueduct"* 

At  five  o'clock  on  the  morning  of  June  2i2, 
1842,  water  to  the  depth  of  eighteen  inches  was 
admitted  into  the  aqueduct  from  Croton  Lake. 
A  boat  called  the  ''Croton  Maid",  carrying  four 
persons,  was  placed  in  the  aqueduct,  to  be  floated 
down  by  the  stream,  and  finally,  on  July  4, 
reached  the  distributing  reservoir  in  Forty-second 
Street.  The  event  was  observed  by  the  grandest 
demonstration  in  the  history  of  New  York  City 
up  to  that  time,  held  on  October  14,  184I. 
Near  the  head  of  the  procession,  as  one  of  the 
guards  of  honor,  marched  the  "Sing  Sing 
Guards." 

*Shonnard  and  Spooner. 


OSSINING     and      CROTON 

in  1880  works  for  increasing  New  York 
City's  water  supply  fi-om  ¥/estchester  County 
were  commenced,  which  are  ^tiil  in  progress;  for, 
although  the  new  Croton  Aqueduct  was  com- 
pleted in  189I5  the  great  dam,  which  is  to  convert 
the  present  Croton  Lake  into  a  body  eleven  miles 
long,  is  not  yet  finished.  In  1884  the  Bronx 
River  Conduit  from  the  dam  near  Kensico  Station 
to  tlie  receiving  reservoir  at  ¥/i[iiamsbridge  was 
completed.  Since  1888  the  building  of  subsid- 
iary  basins  and  reservoirs  in  Westchester  and  Put- 
nam Counties  has  been  steadily  prosecuted.  No 
less  than  seven  of  the  townships  of  Westchester 
County  have  made  extensive  contributions  of  land 
for  the  purpose  of  the  new  works,  involving  the 
extinction  of  several  settlements.  The  additional 
land  for  the  construction  of  the  New  Croton 
Reservoir  has  been  taken  from  the  Towns  of 
Ccrclandt,  Yorktown,  New  Castle,  Bedford, 
Somers,  Lewisboro,  and  North  Salem  in  West- 
chester County  covering  an  area  of  6,398,244  acres. 

139 


OSSINING      and      CROTON 


Many  attractive  residence  localities  in  the  ter- 
ritory taken  v/ill  soon  be,  if  not  so  already,  among 
the  things  of  the  past.  What  was  knov/n  as  the 
Village  of  Katonah,  in  the  Town  of  Eedford, 
has  become  extinct,  and  is  now  only  a  matter  of 
history.  The  buildings  were  appraised  and  sold 
by  order  of  New  York  City.  Whitlock,  Woods- 
bridge,  Purdy's  Station,  Pinesbridge,  Croton  Fails, 
Golden's  Bridge  and  several  other  tov/ns  will  soon 
fare  the  fate  of  old  Katonah  and  "go  under  with 
the  flood." 

Still  the  water  supply  for  New  York  City 
barely  answers  the  needs,  farther  demands  will 
soon  be  made  on  other  quarters. 

The  Croton  Aqueduct  Arch  at  Ossining  is 
said  to  be  one  of  the  finest  of  its  kind  in  the 
United  States. 

Sing  Sing  was  the  first  village  of  Westchester 
County  organized  under  the  State  government 
the  incorporation  occurred  April  2,  18 13. 

The  first  village  election  of   Sing    Sing    was 

140 


OSSINING     and     CROTON 


held  on  the  first  Tuesday  of  May,  1B13,  whery 
"seven  discreet  freeholders"  were  elected  trustees^ 
Their  names  arc  not  preserved,  all  the  early  records 
of  the  village  having  been  destroyed  by  fire. 

Sixty  years  ago  capitalists  were  slow  tO' 
formulate  new  plans  of  railway  development  cen- 
tering in  New  York;  but  about  this  period  the 
New  York  and  Hudson  River  Railroad,  now 
known  as  the  New  York  Central  and  Hudson 
River  Railroad,  began  to  take  shape;  this  road  was 
chartered  by  the  Legislature  in  May  1846,  and 
the  company  was  soon  after  organized. 

Mr.  John  B.  Jervis,  the  engineer  of  the 
Croton  Aqueduct  was  employed  as  chief  engineer 
Work  was  begun  toward  the  middle  of  1 847,  the 
entire  line  being  placed  under  contract  by  sections 
and  the  work  was  prosecuted  so  diligently  that  by 
September  1 847,  passenger  travel  was  commenced 
between  New  York  and  Sing  Sing;  the  average 
number  of  passengers  per  day  for  the  first  month 
was  720  and  the  total  number  21,593.        It  was 


OSSINING     and     CROTON 

a  single  track  road  with  turnouts  where  needed. 
This  at  once  caused  the  New  York  and  Albany 
stages  to  be  withdrawn,  and  it  also  competed  with 
the  steamboats.  The  following  advertisement 
was  published  in  the  New  York  Herald:  "Pas- 
senger trains  will  commence  to  run  from  New 
York  on  Saturday  September  29,  1849.  Trains 
will  start  at  8  a.  m.,  12  noon,  and  4  p.  m." 
The  New  York  and  Putnam  and  the  New 
York  and  Harlem  are  now  incorporated  in  the 
New  York  Central  and  Hudson  River  system. 
"On  December  4,  1851,  occured  the  first  serious 
railway  accident  in  Westchester  County.  An 
afternoon  up  train  from  New  York  was  stop- 
ped by  the  conductor  near  Croton  to  put  off 
two  men  who  did  not  pay  their  fare,  and  was  run 
into  by  an  engine  without  cars,  several  pas- 
sengers suffering  injury.  Another  up-train  which 
followed  it,  an  express  train,  was  switched  off  to 
the  west  track  and  halted  to  render  assistance; 
whereupon  it  was  run  into  by  a  down  train  result- 

142 


O  S  S I N  I N  G     and      C  R  O  T  O  N 

ing  in  more  casualties."  This  double  accident 
caused  much  newspaper  comment. 

From  1810  until  1845,  Mount  Pleasant, 
embracing  the  Village  of  Sing  Sing,  had  been  the 
most  prosperous  township  of  the  county;  it  v/as 
also  one  of  the  largest  townships  in  area.  By 
a  legislative  act  passed  May  2,  1845  ^'^^^ 
present  Township  of  Ossining  was  erected  from 
it;  the  new  town  received  the  name  of  Ossin-sing. 
In  March  1846,  the  namie  was  changed  by  drop- 
ping the  third  s,  and  made  to  read  Ossin-;ng, 
and  still  later  the  hyphen  was  omitted. 

During  the  War  of  Secession  the  President 
of  the  United  States,  in  1862,  called  for  300,000 
volunteers  for  three  years. 

Governor  Morgan  appointed  a  union  defense 
committee  for  the  8th  senatorial  district;  then  com- 
prising the  Counties  of  \Vestchester,  Rockland, 
and  Putnam;  v/hich  proceeded  to  raise  the  troops 
required  to  make  the  quota  of  the  district.       "It 

began  its  work  by  promptly  effecting  the  organiza- 

__  - 


O  S  S  I  N  I  N  G     a.  11  d      C  R  O  T  O  N 

tion,  ci"  an  infantry  regiment  often  full  companies 
of  more  than  one  hundred  men  each,  enlisted  to 
serve  for  three  years,  which  was  designated  by 
the  authorities  of  the  State  of  New  York  as  the 
13  ^th  New  York  Volunteer  Infantry,  and  was 
named  by  the  committee  the  "Anthony  Wayne 
Guards."  The  oificers  of  the  Sing  Sing  Como- 
any,  were  Captain  Clark  Peck,  Lieutenants  Char- 
les C.  Hyatt  and  J.  H.  Ashton.  "The  regiment 
was  fa-st  assembled  at  the  headquarters,  Yonkers, 
about  the  Qnd  of  August  1862,  and  it  was  muster- 
ed into  the  United  States  service  on  September  2. 
Although  instituted  as  an  infantry  organiza- 
tion this  regiment  took  the  name  of  the  6th  New 
York  Heavy  Artillery.  Nevertheless,  during  its 
whole  three  years  of  arduous  service  with  the  8th 
Corps,  with  the  Army  of  the  Potomac,  with  the 
Anriy  of  the  James,  and  with  Sheridan's  Army  of 
the  Shenandoah,  it  continued  to  serve  as  infantry. 
On  and  after  December  26,  1862,  the  regiment 
was    sent  to  Harper's  Ferry  in  detachments. 


OSSINING     and     CROTON 

After  six  months  or  more  of  very  varied 
service  in  the  Shenandoah  Valley  with  other 
troops,  guarding  the  Baltimore  and  Ohio  Railroad, 
perporming  skirmishing,  scouting  and  general  out- 
post duties,  the  regiment  formally  joined  the 
Army  of  the  Potomac  during  the  Gettysburg 
campaign  becoming  part  of  French's  3d  Corps, 
which  was  held  in  the  neighborhood  of  Frederick 
City  as  a  reserve  to  protect  Washington,  by  the 
orders  of  the  war  department. 

The  regiment,  first  with  General  Morris's 
brigade  of  the  3d  Division,  3d  Army  Corps, 
then  with  the  reserve  artillery,  and  afterward  with 
Ayres'  division  of  the  5th  Corps,  participated  in 
all  the  campaigns  of  the  Army  of  the  Potomac 
from  Gettysburg  in  July  1863,  ^°  August  13, 
1864,  in  the  seige  of  Petersburg,  including  the 
Bristol  Station,  the  Mine  Run,  and  the  Grant 
campaigns  and  has  probably  the  unique  record 
of  having  served  in  battle  with  every  corps  of 
the  Army  of  the  Potomac,  with  Sheridan's   Army 

145 


OSSINING      and      CROTON 


in  the  Shenandoah,  and  with  the  Army  of  the 
James.  The  last  time  the  regiment  was  under 
fire  was  in  a  brief  engagement  at  Bermuda 
Hundred,  April  2,  1865. 

The  original  members  were  mustered  out  of 
the  service  June  27,  1865.  ^^^  remainder  with 
a  battalion  of  the  loth  New  York  Artillery,  be- 
came the  consolidated  6th  New  York  Artillery. 
About  one  year  before  the  termination  of  its 
period  of  enlistment  the  regiment  unanimously 
tendered  its  services  to  the  government  for  anoth- 
er term  of  three  years.  This  offer  was  declined  on 
the  ground  that   "the  men  v/ould  not  be  needed." 

The  6th  New  York  Heavy  Artillery  is  recog- 
nized by  all  writers  on  campaigns  and  battles  of  the 
Civil  War  as  one  of  the  great  fighting  regiments. 

Its  surviving  members  retain  to  this  day  a 
fraternal  organization,which  holds  annual  reunions. 

The  citizens  of  Ossining  have  erected  two 
monuments  in  honor  of  their  brave  soldiers  who 
fell  in  the  War  of  Secession. 

146 


O  S  S  I  N  I  N  G     a  11  d      C  R  O  T  O  N 

Ossining  has  furnished  the  State  with  one 
Governor.  John  Thompson  HofFman  was  the 
democratic  candidate,  elected  in  1868  by  a  large 
majority.  He  was  a  son  of  Dr.  A.  K.  ThoiTipson 
and  was  born  in  Sing  Sing  on  January  10,  1828. 
After  comxpleting  his  general  education  he  studied 
law,  and  v/as  admitted  to  the  bar,  and  engaged  in 
the  practice  of  law  in  New  York  City.  He  soon 
becam.e  prominent  both  in  his  profession  and  m 
politics.  He  served  two  terms  as  Governor,  being 
re-elected  in  1870.  Upon  the  completion  of  his 
second  term  he  retired  from  Dublic  life. 

To  sue^est  the  beauties  of  Dale  Cemetery, 
Ossining,  it  is  only  necessary  to  say  that  there 
may  be  found  every  variety  of  hill  and  dale,  and 
from  the  high  points  a  charming  view  ot  the 
Hudson  as  it  widens  into  the  broad  expanse  of 
the  Tappan  Zee,  and  Haverstraw  Bay  and 
Reach  with  Rockland  and  Haverstraw  Villages 
on  the  opposite  shore,  beyond  which  are  the  rug- 
ged outlines   of  the    Highlands    to    make    every 

;  H7  ' 


OSSINING     P.nd     CROTON 

iover  of  the  beautiful  long  for  that  spot  as  their 
last  resting  place.  Here  too  are  the  Devil's 
Stairs  a  natural  flight  of  sixteen  steps  in  the  rock; 
there  are  also  other  attractions  named  for  his 
Satanic  Majesty.  The  ground  now  occupied  by 
the  Cemetery  was  formerly  the  Picnic  resort  for 
people  in  the  surrounding  country. 

Ail  the  religious  denominations  are  represent- 
ed in  Ossining.  '''The  first  meeting  of  Episco- 
palians in  this  town  v/as  held  at  the  house  of  Caleb 
Bacon.  There  ¥/ere  five  heads  of  families  present, 
viz:  George  W.  Cartwright,  William  Darguc, 
John  Barlow,  John  Stang  and  Caleb  Bacon.  At 
this  meeting  it  was  agreed  to  hold  service  at  the 
same  place  every  Sunday  evening,  James  Smith, 
of  New  York  City,  reading  the  service.  The 
first  clergyman  to  preach  at  these  services  was 
Rev.  A.  H.  Crosby  of  Yonkers.  I'he  first  meet- 
ing to  organize  a  parish  was  held  at  the  house  of 
Caleb  Bacon,  Novemiber  ii,  1833.  The  corner- 
stone of  a  church  building    was    laid    by    Bishop 

148 


OSSINING      and      CROTON 

Onderdonk,  November  6,1834.  The  church  was 
consecrated  July  6,  1836  by  Bishop  Onderdonk, 
assisted  by  thirteen  of  the  clergy.  The  Rev. 
Dr.  Niles  is  the  present  rector. 

Haifa  century  ago  the  ^.Iethodists  purchas- 
ed a  large  tract  of  land  in  Sing  Sing,  for  the  pur- 
pose of  occupying  the  ground  Vvith  their  annual 
camp  meetings.  Of  late  years  many  cottages 
have  been  erected  on  the  propei-ty. 

There  are  numerous  Clubs  in  the  town; 
mention  may  be  made  of  the  Shattemuc  Yacht 
and  Canoe  Club,  The  Ossining  Gun  Club,  Point 
Senasque  Rod  and  Reel  Club,  Owl  Club  and 
Sparta  Rats.  Here  may  be  found  the  old  factory 
of  Dr.  Brandreth,  established  in  the  early  thirties. 
It  turns  out  Allcock's  Plasters  by  the  million 
and  Brandreth's  Pills  by  the  ton. 

The  newspapers  of  Ossining  are  the  Republic- 
an, Ossining  News,  and  the  Democratic  Register. 

The  Ossining  Flospital  Association  was 
incorporated  under  the  act  ot  1848,  of  the  Laws 
of  the  State  of  New  York,  authorizing  the  incor- 
poration of  benevolent,   charitable,  scientific    and 

missionary  societies. 

_ 


X 

u 

< 


JV, 


5>Frr 


Vol.  1. 


JUNE  1902. 


ry 


No.  6 


LITTLE  VISITS 

TO 

HISTORICAL 

POINTS  IN 

WESTCHESTER 

COUNTY 

PJRT  SIX 

By 
AN  AUTHORITY 


RYE 


MAMARONECK.  N.  Y.      -      PUBLISHED 
BrrUE  RICHBELL  PRESS  •  M  C  M  I  I 


Copyrighted     1 902. 

BY 

J.   WALLACE  CLAPP. 


PUBLISHED    THE    FIRST    i,l 
EVERY  MONTH      •     BY 

The    RichbeU   Press    •  J.    Wallace 
Clapp     •     Mamaroneck     ■     N.  Y. 


Entered  Jul;   ^.^  19C2  as  Second  Class  Maf:  -      '  Mamaroneck,  Post  Officr 


LITTLE  VISITS  TO 
HISTORICAL  POINTS  IN 
^WESTCHESTER  COUNTY 


"^ 


i,"w  «>>..^-  <i«^»i.'''»  Vi 


.*Jus;i.*5ws:iJ 


point  of  land  jutting  into  Long  Island 
Sound,  is  one  that  may  be  said  to 
mark  the  limit  of  the  State  of  New 
York.  From  the  jagged  rocks  that 
terminate  this  point  a  tract  of  land, 
nowhere  more  than  two  miles  wide, 
stretches  northward  about  nine  miles 
to  a  sharp  angle  upon  the  Connecticut  border. 
This  little  territory,  called  by  the  Indians  Peningo, 
with  the  island  of  Manussing  on  the  east,  and  a 
part  of  the  neighboring  shore  on  the  west,  con- 
stitutes the  town  of  Rye. 


150 


RYE 

The  territory  of  this  town,  until  after  the 
Revolution,  comprehended  the  present  towns 
of  Harrison  and  White  Plains. 

About  1660  a  little  company  of  New  England 
men  from  the  neig^hboring  town  of  Greenwich 
resolved  to  establish  them_selves  here.  The  orig- 
inal purchasers  of  this  place  were  three  in  num.ber, 
Peter  Disbrow,  John  Coe,  and  Thomas  Stedwell. 
Peter  Disbrow  was  the  leader  in  all  their  negotia- 
tions. On  the  third  day  of  January,  1660,  we 
find  Disbrow  in  treaty  with  the  Indians  of  Peningo 
Neck  for  the  purchase  of  that  tract  of  land. 
This  purchase  comprised  the  lower  part  of  the 
present  town  of  Rye,  on  the  east  side  of  Blind 
Brook  extending  north  to  the  present  village  of 
Port  Chester. 

Nearly  six  months  elapsed  before  any  further 

step  Vy^as  taken  by  the  pioneers.      East  of  Peningo 

Neck,  separated  from  it  only  by  a  narrow  channel, 

lay  an  island  about  a  mile  in  length,  called  by  the 

Indians  Manussing.     This  island  appears  not  to 

_ 


RYE 

have  been  includsd  in  the  first  purchase.  On  the 
twenty-ninth  day  of  June,  1660,  Peter  Disbrow, 
with  John  Coe  and  Thomas  Stedwcll,  concluded 
a  treaty  with  the  Indian  proprietors  for  the  pur- 
chase of  this  island.     The  deed  is  as  follows:— 

"Be  it  knowen  vnto  all  men  whom  it  may 
concern  both  Indians  and  English  that  we  Shana- 
rockwell  sagamore,  Maowhobo  and  Cokensekoo 
have  sold  unto  Peter  Disbrow,  John  Coo, 
Thomas  Studwell,  all  living  at  this  present  at 
Grenwige,  to  say  a  certain  parcel  of  land;  the  par- 
cel of  land  which  these  Indians  above  mentioned 
have  sold  is  called  in  the  Indian  name  Manussing 
Island,  and  is  near  unto  the  main  land  which  is 
called  in  the  Indian  name  Peningo.  This  said 
island  we  above  mentioned  doe  here  by  virtue  of 
this  bill  doe  sell  all  our  right  and  title  unto 
John  Coo,  Peter  Disbro,  Thomas  Studv/ell, 
quietly  to  enjoy  from  any  molestation  of  us  or  any 
other  Indians  to  them  and  to  their  heirs,  assigns, 
and  exccuters  for  ever,  and  farther  we  have  given 


RYE 

unto  Peter  Disbro  John  Coo  and  Thomas 
Studwell  feed  for  their  cattle  upon  the  main  called 
by  the  Indians  Peningo  and  what  timbers  or  trees 
that  is  for  their  use  and  not  to  be  molested  bv  us 
or  other  Indians  and  we  doe  hereby  acknowledgre 
to  have  received  eight  cotes  and  seven  shirts  fitrene 
fathom  wompone  v/hich  is  the  full  satisfaction  for 
the  parcel  of  land  above  mentioned  and  for  the 
witness  we  have  hereto  set  our  hands. 
The  marke  of  V  Shanasockwek. 

j^  Aranaque. 
Q   Cokow. 
"  Z  Wawatauman. 

"  X   Cokinseco. 

"  3    Maswbort. 

"  Z   Ouauaike. 

"  L  Aramapow. 

"  S  Wonanas. 

"  Y  Topogone. 

W  Matishes. 
T  Richard." 


153 


cc 


cc 


RYE 

It  is  supposed  that  the  last  name  was  that  of 
the  interpreter,  whose  services  would  very  likely 
be  needed  in  the  transaction.  By  these  two  trea- 
ties,, the  settlers  acquired  the  lower  half  of  the 
present  territory  of  the  town,  between  Blind  Brook 
and  the  Sound  or  Byram  River;  together  with  the 
adjoining  island  of  Manussing. 

Nearly  a  year  after  they  bought  the  land 
lying  farther  north,  between  the  same  streams. 
The  deed  of  this  purchase  is  dated  the  twenty- 
second  day  of  May  1 66 1. 

And  so  the  early  settlers  continued  buying 
lands,  until  Rye  was  a  much  larger  territory  than 
at  present. 

The  settlement  at  Manussing  Island  was  com- 
menced while  these  dealings  v/ith  the  natives  for 
the  purchase  of  their  lands  were  still  in   progress. 

It  is  easy  to  see  why  this  spot  should  have 
been  chosen.  Here  the  settlers  would  be  almost 
in  sight  of  their  old  home  Greenwich,  whither  they 
could  speedily   retreat    if  molested.     And    here, 


RYE 

while  exploring  the  adjacent  shores  and  completing 
their  purchases  of  land,  they  could  quietly  gain  a 
ioothold  and  wait  for  accessions  to  their  numbers. 
The  planters  could  scarcely  have  found  a 
more  inviting  spot.  Manussing  Island  comprises 
about  one  hundred  acres  of  upland,  v/ith  as  many 
more  of  sedge  or  salt  meadow.  The  first  busi- 
ness  of  the  settlers  was  to  apportion  the  land 
among  themselves  and  erect  temporary  habitations. 
A  hom^e-lot  of  two  or  three  acres  w^as  assigned  to 
each.  The  island  village  took  the  name  of 
Hastings.  For  two  or  three  years  the  planters, 
se^.  enteen  in  num^ber,  confined  themselves  to  their 
insular  homes.  With  perhaps  one  exception  these 
m.en  Vv^ere  English  by  birth,  and  doubtless  also 
Puritans  in  faith;  some  of  them  at  least  were  men 
of  religious  principle  and  conviction;  it  is  far  from 
true  that  all  who  came  out  with  the  early  colonists 
of  New  England  v/ere  men  of  this  stamp;  un- 
worthy   and    disorderly  characters  appear  to  have 

thrust    themselves    among    them    from    the  first. 

__ 


RYE 

There  is  conclusive    evidence    that    the    founders 
of  this  plantation  were  not  of  the  latter  class. 

In  1664  Rye  became  annexed  to  the  colony 
of  Connecticut,  Thus  by  the  year  166  c  there 
had  sprung  up  two  infant  settlements  within  'the 
bounds  of  Hastings':  the  one  on  the  island,  the 
other  on  the  shore  of  Peningo  Neck  stretching 
across  to  Blind  Brook. 

The  latter,  we  find,  had  begun  to  be  known  by 
the  name  of  Rye.  It  is  supposed  that  this  name 
was  given  in  honor  of  two  prominent  members 
of  the  colony,  Thomas  and  Hachaliah  Browne. 
They  were  the  sons  of  Mr.  Thom.as  Brcv/ne,  a 
gentleman  of  good  family,  from  Rye  in  Sussex 
County,  England,  who  removed  to  this  country  in 
1632.  On  the  eleventh  day  of  May  the  General 
Court  of  Connecticut  passed  an  act,  merging  these 
settlem.ents  under  the  name  which  the  town  has 
since  borne.     The  act  is  as  follows:- 

'It  is  ordered  that  the  Villages  of  Hasting-s 
and  Rye  shall  be  for  the    future    conjoyned    and 

^56 


RYE 

made  one  Plantation;  and  it  shall  be  called  by  the 
appellation  of  Rye/" 

Within  the  next  six  years  the  village  on 
Manussing  Island  ceased  to  be;  the  planters  came 
over  and  united  with  their  associates  in  building 
upon  the  present  site  of  the  village. 

The  eleventh  day  of  May  1671,  the  General 
Court  oi  Connecticut  granted  that  the  town  of 
Rye  bounds  should  extend  up  into  the  country 
northward  twelve  miles. J 

The  village  of  Rye  was  now  rising  upon  its 
present  site  amid  the  forests  on  Peningo  Neck;  the 
new  town  plot  lay  at  the  upper  end  of  the  Neck, 
along  the  eastern  bank  of  Blind  Brook.  The 
Milton  Road,  once  perhaps  an  Indian  path  leading 
down  from  the  old  Westchester  Path  to  the  lower 
part  of  the  Neck,  was  the  village  street,  on  either 
side  of  which  the  home-lots  of  the  settlers  were 
laid  out.     The  Field  Fence,  of  which  we  find  fre- 

*Rye    Records. 

;|;Trumbuirs  Records  of  the  Colony  of  Connecticut. 

iS7 


RYE 

quent  mention,  was  the  northern  boundary  of  the 
village.  This  enclosure  began  at  the  present  Epis- 
copal church  property,  and  stretched  across  the 
Neck  from  Blind  Brook  to  the  mill-pond;  near 
the  Episcopal  Church  was  the  Field  Gate.  The 
home-lots,  which  commenced  here,  extended  down 
the  street  as  far  as  the  road  leading  to  the  Beach. 
A  part  of  the  town  plot  was  known  in  early 
times  as  *The  Plains';  this  name  belonged  to  the 
level  grounds  bordering  on  Blind  Brook,  at  the 
upper  end  of  the  village,  and  extending  from  the 
present  stone  bridge  to  the  neighborhood  of  the 
railway  station.  The  home-lots  on  the  Plains 
appear  to  have  been  held  as  the  choicest  part  of 
the  village  grounds;  they  fronted  on  the  street,  or 
Milton  Road,  and  ran  back  to  the  brook;  the  post- 
road  which  now  passes  through  the  village  not 
having,  as  yet,  been  opened.  This  street  was 
nothing  more  than  a  pathway,  barely  practicable 
for  the  ox-cart,  the  only  vehicle  in  use.  The 
mill  was  erected  by  Mr.  John  Budd;  it  stood    at 

■  ^58 


RYE 

the  head  of  the  creek,  or  the  mouth  of  Blind 
Brook  on  the  opposite  side  of  Peningo  Neck, 
and  within  half  a  mile  of  the  Beach. 

This  mill  was  convenient  for  the  inhabitants 
of  Peningo  Neck,  yet  it  stood  on  Budd's  own  tract 
of  land,  known  as  Apawamis  or  Budd's  Neck. 

During  the  first  few  years  our  settlers  con- 
tinued to  cluster  in  this  tolerably  compact  village, 
and  their  improvements  were  limited  to  the  territo- 
ry thus  defined.  Outside  the  Field  Fence  all  was 
yet  a  wilderness  of  woods  and  swamps,  secured 
indeed  by  purchase  from  the  savage,  but  waiting 
to  be  appropriated  and  cleared:  it  was  not  long, 
however,  before  some  houses  were  built  a  little 
outside  of  the  Field  Gate. 

There  was  no  church  as  yet;  the  litttie  con- 
gregation met  in  private  dwellings,  notably  in  that 
of  Timothy  Knap,  to  whom  the  town  awarded 
forty  shillings  in  1682  *for  the  liberty  of  his  house 
to  meet  in,  and  the  beating  of  the  drum,  for  the 
time  past.* 


RYE 

The  earliest  notices  of  Rye  that  have  come 
down  to  us,  contain  allusions  to  some  serious 
difficulty  among  the  people.  The  very  act  by 
which  the  town  was  constituted,  the  eleventh  day 
of  May,  1665,  refers  to  this  subject:  "Mr.  Gold, 
Mr.  Lawes,  and  John  Banks,  or  any  two  of  them 
are  desired  and  appointed  to  take  paines  to  goe 
down  to  settle  and  issue  such  differences  as  may 
be  disturbing  to  ye  inhabitants  of  those  Villages 
of  Hastings  and  Rye."*  Three  years  passed 
and  these  divisions  were  still  unhealed.  The 
trouble  appears  to  have  been  between  the  people 
of  Rye  and  John  Budd  About  the  time  when 
he  engaged  with  Disbrow,  Coe  and  Studwell  in 
the  purchase  of  Peningo  Neck,  he  bought  from 
the  Indians  a  tract  of  land  on  the  opposite  side  of 
Blind  Brook,  which  was  subsequently  known  as 
Budd's  Neck.  The  other  purchases  had  been 
made  by  the  associates  in  common,  but  the  fact  of 
one  individual  holding  a  large  tract  of  land    near 

^Public  Records  of  Connecticut,  Vol.  II.  p.   16. 

160 


RYE 

them  they  considered  prejudicial  to  the  interests 
of  the  town  of  Rye.  It  was  supposed  that  John 
Budd  bought  the  Neck  solely  for  his  children  and 
immediate  heirs,  but  it  was  not  long  before  he  be- 
gan to  dispose  of  his  land  without  the  consent  of 
the  town.  The  planters  were  exceedingly  jealous 
of  the  right  to  admit  or  reject  strangers  who  came 
among  them.  The  new  settlers  at  Budd's  Neck 
were  in  close  proximity  to  the  village,  and  indeed 
they  seem  to  have  considered  themselves  as  within 
the  limits  of  the  town  of  Rye;  yet  they  had  never 
been  formally  admitted  to  the  privileges  of  free- 
holders.* 

The  dispute  relative  to  Budd's  Neck  was 
finally  settled  in  1672,  in  which  year  the  territory 
was  incorporated  into  the  town  of  Rye,  while  the 
claims  of  Mr.  Budd  as  proprietor  were  allowed. 
There  is  no  evidence  that  a  distinct  patent  for  the 
tract  was  obtained  from  Connecticut,  and  it  was 
not  until  the  year  1720  that  Joseph   Budd,   grtnd- 

*Rye  Records,  Vol.  B.  pp.  9,  34,  150. 

161 


RYE 

son  of  the  first  purchaser,  obtained  a  patent  for 
his  lands  from  the  government  of  the  province 
of  New  York. 

After  the  settlement  of  the  dispute  concerning 
Budd's  Neck,  the  jurisdiction  of  the  town  appears 
to  have  been  unquestioned. 

Local  officers  v/ere  sometimes  appointed 
especially  for  the  'east  side  of  Blind  Brook'  and  the 
*'west  side'.*  As  the  pioneers  multiplied  nev/ 
lands  were  purchased. 

At  the  time  v/hen  Rye  was  settled  there  were 
within  the  limits  of  Connecticut  sixteen  plantations 
dignified  with  the  name  of  tovv'ns.  Each  of  these 
was  a  petty  commonwealth,  maintaining,  within  a 
certain  district,  a  government  of  its  own  choice. 
Two  deputies,  chosen  by  a  majority  of  voters  in 
each  town,  took  part  with  magistrates,  also  chosen 
by  the  people,  in  the  general  government. 

The  legislature  thus  constituted,  known  as 
the  General  Court,  met  in  the  spring  and  fall    of 

*Dr.  Baird. 

162 


RYE 

each  year  at  Hartford. 

Rye  is  mentioned  for  the  first  time  in  the 
Court  Records,  on  the  thirteenth  of  October 
1664;  and  in  1666  Rye  was  included  within 
the  Fairfiela  County  limits.  On  the  ninth  of 
May  1667  Mr.  Richard  Lawes  and  Mr.  John 
Holly  were  chosen  Commissioners  for  the  Towns 
of  Stamford,  Greenwich  and  Rye,  and  'to  assist  in 
the  execution  of  justice  at  the  courts  of  Fairfield 
for  the  year  ensuing'. 

The  last  meeting  of  the  General  Court  of 
Hartford,  previous  to  the  revolt  of  the  town  to 
Connecticut  some  years  later,  at  which  deputies 
from  Rye  were  present,  was  held  in  October  1683. 
In  the  following  month,  the  twenty-eighth  of 
November  1683,  Rye  was  ceded  to  the  province 
of  New  York,  according  to  the  articles  of  agree- 
ment then  concluded  for  the  establishment  of  the 
boundary  line. 

Rye  remained  unwillingly  for  some  years  be- 
neath the  rule  of  New  York,  when  the  inhabitants 

163 


RYE 

^revolted'  back  to  Connecticut.  This  was  the 
beginning  of  the  great  boundary  question  that 
agitated  at  different  periods  the  border  towns  of 
the  Connecticut  and  Nev/  York  Colonies  for 
nearly  two  hundred  years. 

A  very  confused  idea  of  the  bounds  of  the 
two  territories  was  shared  by  many;  there  had  long 
been  pending  between  Rye  and  Greenwich  a 
boundary  question  upon  a  small  scale,  like  that 
waged  by  the  two  governments  to  which  they 
belonged.  Their  respective  limits  were  very 
indefinitely  traced  as  yet. 

At  a  town  meeting  held  on  the  first  of  April, 
1699,  a  committee  was  appointed  *to  agree  with 
Greenwich  men  to  run  the  preamble  line'.  At  a 
similar  meeting  held  on  the  first  of  November, 
1707,  Thomas  Merrit,  Deliverance  Brown,  senior, 
and  Robert  Bloomer  were  chosen  a  committee  to 
agree  with  Greenwich  men  to  settle  and  run  the 
line  between  the  town  of  Greenwich  and  the  town 
of  Rye.     In  1722  the    inhabitants    of  Rye    near 

164 


RYE 

Byram     River     again     complained    and    another 
mimic  war  was  enacted. '"^ 

Governor  Hunter  lost  no  time  in  transmit- 
ting to  Connecticut  a  copy  of  these  complaints 
from  Rye.  In  his  letter  to  Governor  Saltonstall, 
he  expressed  his  hope  that  there  had  been  some 
mistake  in  the  matter,  as  othervv^ise  he  must 
regard  it  as  *the  most  extraordinary  method  of 
procedure  in  disputes  about  boundaries  between 
two  provinces,  under  the  same  Sovereign,  that  has 
been  hitherto  known.' 

'You  see'  he  adds,  'the  necessity  of  your 
having  a  law  passed,  previous  to  the  running  the 
line  in  your  Colony  as  has  been  done  in  this, 
declaring  the  line  which  shall  be  so  run  to  be 
forever  hereafter  the  true  division  line  betwixt  the 
two.  The  minute  that  is  done,  I  shall  appoint 
Commissaries  and  Surveyors  who  shall,  in  con- 
junction with  such  as  you  shall  appoint,  forthwith 
set  about  it  to  prevent  all  future  disputes.  We 
*Town  Meeting  Book,  No.  C.  p.  4;  No.  G.  p.  23. 

165  —— 


RYE 

have  hitherto/  concludes  the  good-natured  gover- 
?ior,  'at  least  during  my  time,  lived  together  in 
good  and  friendly  correspondence,  and  I  hope 
nothing  can  intervene  that  shall  be  able  to  break. 
It   ort.  ' 

This  episode  at  Rye  may  have  had  seme 
•effect  in  hastening  the  movement  for  the  settling 
of  the  boundary  line.  In  October  of  the  same 
year,  171 8,  commissioners  appointed  by  the 
two  governments  met  at  Rye,  but  failed  to 
agree  upon  a  method  of  procedure.  The  com- 
missioners from  New  York  refused  to  go  on,  be- 
cause those  from  Connecticut  were  not  empower- 
ed to  complete  the  line,  and  bind  their  govern- 
ment to  its  adoption.  In  1719,  Connecticut  ap- 
pointed new  commissioners  with  larger  powers; 
but  still  without  pledging  itself  that  the  survey 
should  be  final.  New  York,  meanwhile,  without 
taking  any  notice  of  this  action  passed  what  was 
termed  'a  probationary  act.'  It    provided   for   the 

*New  York  Colonial  MSS. 

__  — 


RYE 

appointment  of  commissioners  on  the  part  of  that 
province,  in  conjunction  with  others  from  Con- 
necticut. These  were  to  run  all  the  lines  in 
accordance  vv^ith  the  agreement  and  survey  of 
1683  and  1684.  But  if  no  commissioners  should 
be  sent  from^  Connecticut  duly  empowered,  those 
from  New  York  v/ere  authorized  to  go  on  alone, 
taking  every  precaution  to  do  justice  to  both 
provinces,  and  to  conform  to  the  agreement  and 
former  survey;  and  the  line  so  run  was  to  remain 
forever  as  the  boundary.  This  act  was  made 
conditional  on  the  royal  approbation. 

Four  years  elapsed  before  this  proposition 
was  responded  to.  At  length  in  October  1723 
the  General  Assem.bly  of  Connecticut  appointed 
commissioners  with  full  powers,  as  requested  by 
New  York.  A  meeting  was  arranged  to  be  held 
at  Rye  on  the  fourth  of  February,  1724.  But 
tedious  negotiations  followed,  and  it  was  not  until 
April  1725,  that  the  commissioners  met  at  the 
appointed  place.    Their  first  business  was  to  agree 

167 


RYE 

Upon  the  mode  in  which  the  survey  should  be 
made.  This  accomphshed  they  entered  upon 
their  v/ork,  starting  at  Hhe  great  stone  at  the 
v/ading-place'"'  which  had  been  designated  as  the 
point  of  beginning  forty-one  years  before.  Their 
survey  was  extended  as  far  as  that  of  1684,  to 
"^the  Duke's  trees',  at  the  northwest  angle  of  the 
town  of  Greenwich,  where  three  white  oak  trees 
had  been  marked  as  the  termination  of  the  former 
survey.  PI  ere  the  work  v/as  suspended  for  want 
of  funds  and  it  v/as  not  resumed  until  the  spring 
of  1 73 1,  The  survey  was  then  completed  to 
the  Massachusetts  line;  the  ^equivalent  tract'  or 
'Oblong'  w^as  measured,  and  setoff  to  New  York; 
and  the  line  dividing  the  province  of  New  York 
from  the  colony  of  Connecticut  was  designated  by 
monuments  at  intervals  of  two  miles. 

This  survey  was    ratified    by    both    govern- 
ments, and  terminated  all    local    differences    res- 

*This  stone  is  at  the  northeastern  end  of  the  bridge    cross- 
ing the  Byram  River. 

__ 


RYE 

pectin g  the  boundary.  The  town  of  Rye  espe- 
cially felt  the  benefit  of  the  decision.  During: 
much  of  the  time  that  this  controversy  had  been; 
waging,  it  was-  even  doubtful  to  which  territory 
the  tov/n  belonged.  And,,  to  the  very  last,  its^ 
eastern  limits  rem.ained  uncertain,  to  the  great 
annoyance  of  the  increasing  population  in  that 
quarter. '"^ 

In  1729  the  town  appointed  a  committee  ^ta 
meet  Greenvv'ich  men  concerning  running  the 
preamble  line  between  Rye  and  Greenwich,  and 
to  act  in  this  matter  to  the  best    of   their    discre- 

tion.  J 

The  boundary  laid  down  in  1731  remained 
without  disturbance  until  1855  when  the  question 
arose  as  to  its  existing  definiteness.  On  some 
portions  of  the  line  the  marks  had  disappeared, 
and  along  the  whole  distance  the  greatest  uncer- 
tainty existed.     Residents  near  the  border  rcfrain- 

'l^Dr.  Baird. 

;{;Town  of  Rye,  Records  p.  33. 

169 


RYE 

ed  from  voting  in  either  State,  while  officers  of 
justice  and  tax  collectors  hesitated  to  exercise  their 
authority  up  to  any  well-defined  limit.  These 
circumstances  were  taken  advantage  of  by  those 
wishing  to  evade  the  payment  of  taxes  or  the  en- 
forcement of  the  law.  In  May,  1855,  the  General 
Assembly  of  Connecticut  took  steps  to  have  the 
true  position  of  the  line  ascertained,  by  means  of 
a  new  survey  and  the  erection  of  new  monuments. 
In  the  following  year  the  New  York  legislature 
took  similar  action,  and  the  commissioners  ap- 
pointed under  the  several  acts  employed  engineers 
to  run  the  line.  The  commissioners  could  not 
agree,  however,  as  to  the  method  of  running  the 
line  and  nothing  was  done.  In  August  1859,  new 
commissioners  were  appointed  on  the  part  of  each 
State,  but  owing  to  the  tenacity  with  which 
Connecticut  adhered  to  the  claim  that  a  straight 
line  should  be  run,  regardless  of  existing  monu- 
ments to  indicate  the  original  course,  no  agreement 
could  be  reached. 

170 


RYE 

The  last  step  in  the  matter  was  taken  in 
i860.  On  the  third  of  April  in  that  year  the 
legislature  of  New  York  passed  an  act  empower- 
ing the  commissioners  formerly  appointed  "ta 
survey  and  mark  with  suitable  monum^ents"  the 
line  between  the  two  States,  as  fixed  by  the  sur- 
vey of  1 73 1." 

They  were  to  give  due  notice  of  their 
purpose  to  the  com.missioners  of  Connecticut^ 
inviting  them  to  join  in  the  duties  imiposed  upon 
them.  But  in  case  of  their  refusal  or  neglect  to 
do  so,  they  v/ere  to  proceed  alone  and  preform  the 
work  assigned.  The  commdssioners  of  New- 
York,  acting  under  their  instructions,  held  several 
conferences  with  those  of  Connecticut,  but  the 
latter  adhered  inflexibly  to  the  principle  that  the 
boundary  to  be  established  must  be  a  straight  one. 
The  commissioners  from  New  York  therefore 
pursued  the  course  enjoined  upon  them.  They  fix- 
ed and  m.arked  the  boundary  line  betv/een  the  two 

States,  placing  monuments  along  its  course  at  in- 

__ 


RYE 

Nervals  of  one  mile,  from  the  Massachusetts  line  to 
the  mouth  of  the  Byram  River.  The  work  was 
undertaken  on  the  eighth  of  June,  1S6O5  and 
was  completed  in  the  autumn  of  that  year.  On 
the  fifth  of  December,  1879,  this  line  was  agreed 
upon  by  the  Legislatures  of  New  York  and 
Connecticut,  and  con^rmed  by  Congress  during 
the  session  of  1880-81. 

Thus  ended  the  most  remarkable  boundary 
case  on  record. 

As  we  have  before  stated  Rye  had  unwilling- 
ly belonged  to  the  Province  of  Nev>^  York,  and  for 
just  cause  had  seceded.  It  renounced  the  author- 
ity of  the  provincial  government  and  returned  to 
the  colony  of  Connecticut.  Rye  continued  a 
part  of  Connecticut  from  1697  to  1700  inclusive, 
and  then  in  1700  the  King's  orders  in  Council 
placed  them  back  v/ithin  the  jurisdiction  they  had 
renounced,  'forever  thereafter  to  be  and  remain  un- 
der the  government  of  the  Province  of  New  York.' 
The  people  acquiesced  in  this  decision,    and    the 

172 


RYE 

following  action  of  the  town  is  the  record  of  the 
last  protest  made  against  an  unrighteous  procedure 
to  which  they  were  obliged  in  the  end  to  submit. 
'At  a  lawful  townc  meeting  held  in  Rye, 
on  the  twenty-ninth  day  of  September  1701, 
Deliverance  Browne,  senior,  is  chosen  to  go 
down  to  New  York  to  make  the  towne's 
aggrievances  knowne  unto  the  Governor  and 
Council,  and  also  to  make  inquiry  concerning 
the  Claim  that  John  Harrison  makes  to  our  lands, 
and  to  use  what  methods  he  shall  see  good  for 
securing  the  towne's  interest/*  It  must  be 
remembered  that  at  this  period  Harrison  and 
Bedford  were  included  in  the  Rye  limits,  and  that 
John  Harrison  in  company  with  several  other 
Quakers  from  Flushing  had  bought  of  the  Indians, 
without  the  consent  of  the  Rye  authorities,  the 
tract  of  land  since  known  as  Harrison.  The 
worthy  Brown  appeared  to  have  met  with  but 
little  or  no  success.      Harrison  and  his    compan- 

*Town  and  Proprietors'  Meeting  Book,  No.  C.  p.  20. 
_  __  __ 


RYE 

ions  were  permitted  to  retain  their  purchase,  and 
heavy  taxes  were  levied  on  the  inhabitants  of 
Rye.  The  simple  inhabitants  of  Peningo  Neclc 
did  not  know  that  while  they  were  prancing  from 
colony  to  province,  and  from  province  to  colony, 
their  taxes  were  accumulating  with  accruing 
interest.  From  this  time  they  submitted  though 
unwillingly  to  the  Government  of  the  Province 
of  New  York.  The  Justice  of  the  Peace  of  the 
County  of  Westchester  sent  orders  to  the  Town 
of  Rye  for  the  assessing  and  levying  of 
several  taxes  laid  on  the  inhabitants  of  this 
Province  during  the  time  of  the  unhappy  separa- 
tion. These  amounted  to  considerable  sums  of 
money.  Brown  asks  that  this  tax  might  not  be 
insisted  on  until  a  more  equal  apportionment 
shall  be  made,  and  promised  that  the  quota  shall 
be  colleded  and  paid  with  all  expedition.*  This 
was  not  the  worst,  the  town  troubles  caused  dis- 
sensions in  families  that  in  some  instances  were 
*New  York  Colonial  MSS.,  Vol.  XIV.  p.  38. 

■  174 


RYE 

not  healed  for  many  years.  We  see  from  this 
that  the  good  people  of  Rye  did  not  "go  to 
heaven  on  flowery  beds  of  ease."  They  struggled 
on  for  many  years  hardly  able  to  hold  their  own. 

At  the  breaking  out  of  the  Revolution,  Rye 
stood  bravely  by  her  country  and  furnished  some 
excellent  soldiers,  one  of  the  most  prominent 
was  Judge  Thomas.  Still  there  was  no  consider- 
able increase  in  the  population. 

Rye  was  the  same  quiet,  obscure  village  as 
for  generations  past.  In  1836  it  contained  but 
thirty  houses,  with  less  than  two  hundred  inhabi- 
tants. In  time  the  outside  world  recognized  the 
natural,  political  and  religious  capabilities  of  the 
place,  and  beautiful  villas  were  ereded  by  summer 
residents,  who  found  the  old  town  so  delightful  that 
they  remained  permanently,  and  now  among  the 
inhabitants  may  be  seen  many  prominent  people. 
The  Wainwrights  dire6l  descendants  of  'good  old' 
Peter  Stuyvesant  the  last  and  best  of  the  Dutch 
Governors,     the     Shermen     descendants     of    a 


RYE 

Signer  of  the  Declaration  of  Independance,  Seth 
Low,  Mayor  of  Greater  New  York,    and    others 

During  the  RebelHon,    the    Town   of   Rye 
furnished  about  3  50  men,  beside  many  who  enHst- 
ed  in  New  York  and  Brooklyn  Companies. 

Who  has  not  heard  of  Rve  Beach?  Not 
Rye  in  Sussex  England;  not  Rye  Beach  in  New 
Hampshire,  but  Rye  Beach  on  the  Sound,  a 
popular  resort   for    recreation    from    the    earliest 

period  until  the  present.  Here  our  native  Indians 
assembled  for  their  pow-wows,  and  not  unusually 
remained  a  week  or  more  to  enjoy  a  jolly  good 
time.  The  Indians  never  dreamed  of  the  crowds 
that  frequent  their  oft  time  bathing  and  canoeing 
place,  and  picnic  on  the  very  spot  where  their 
braves  were  interred.  Burying  Hill  is  well  known 
to  have  been  a  place  of  sepulchre. 

Rye  Beach  with  its  warm  sands  inviting  the 
visitor  to  repose  after  the  plunge,  its  charming 
scenery  on  land  and  water,  its  beautiful  rocks 
rising  compladily,  forming  low  blviffs,    or   broken 

176 


RYE 

in  large  irregular  masses  of  coarse  granite  forming 
islands  curiously  worn  and  perforated  by  the 
a(5lion  of  the  waters,  its  unrivaled  facilities  for 
boating  and  yachting,  its  pleasant  company  both 
at  Rye  and  Oakland  Beaches,  a  portion  of  the 
Beach  frequented  by  the  more  conservative  class, 
and  its  pretty  cottages  in  increasing  numbers. 
One  of  the  most  attradlive  cottages  is  that  occu- 
pied by  the  Westchester  Wheelman  of  Mount 
Vernon.  The  New  York  Yacht  Club  is  on 
Milton  Point. 

The  facilities  for  reaching  Rye  Beach  are  to 
say  the  least,  up  to  date;  the  trolley  from  the 
Hudson  River  by  way  of  White  Plains  conne6l- 
ing  at  Mamaroneck  with  the  Greenwich  Tramway, 
and  also  with  the  trolley  from  New  York 
City  by  way  of  Mount  Vernon  and  New  Rochelle 
brings  the  visitor  diredly  to  the  shore.  The 
syndicate  of  millionaires  who  purchased  Beck's 
hotel  property  at  the  beach,  propose  to  ered:  a 
large  country  club  house  on  it  and    make    it    the 


RYE 

rendezvous  of  the  Westchester  Hunt  Club  and 
the  new  yacht  club. 

The  beautiful  half-tone  illustration  on  the 
frontispage  of  this  number  showing  the  Pier  at  the 
beach,  and  Burying  Hill  in  the  middle  distance, 
was  photographed  by  W.  W.  Holly,  Rye  Beach. 

Union  Cemetery  originated  in  1837;  in  that 
year  three  acres  of  land  were  purchased  by  private 
individials  and  presented  to  the  authorities  of  the 
Episcopal  Church,  Rye,  to  secure  to  the  Church  a 
suitable  burial  place.  In  1855,  the  trustees  ot 
the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  of  Rye  bought 
eight  acres  contiguous  to  this  traft;  and  in  1864 
to  1868  they  added  more  than  six  acres.  The 
grounds  thus  owned  by  the  two  congregations 
have  been  graded,  inclosed  and  laid  out  uniformly, 
with  no  visible  separation  between  them;  they 
form  one  of  the  most  beautiful  cemeteries  in  this 
part  of  the  country. 

Here  we  find  interred,  the   authoress,    Mrs. 

Alice  B.  Haven,  for  many  years  a  resident  of  Rye 

_  _  _ 


RYE 

Neck,  her  morxument  in  a  cross,  upon  which  is 
her  favorite  motto  "Bear  ye  one  anothers  burdens. 
and  so  fulfill  the  law  of  Christ/* 

The  first  Chief  Justice  of  the  United  States,. 
John  Jay,  died  on  the  seventeenth  of  May,  1829,, 
and  was  buried  in  the  Jay  Family  Vault  in  the 
Town  of  Rye.  Fie  was  an  earnest  laborer  in  the 
cause  of  freedom  for  the  negroes,  and  the  first 
president  of  the  old  New  York  society  for  the 
manumission  of  slaves. 


179 


M  Fresbyterian  Cfitircfi,  Rye 


An  oil  painting  of   Dr.    Baird's  old 

church  and  the  stone  bridge,  for  sale. 


A,  A.  RIKEi 
Masnarooeck,  N.Y, 


SCHOOL!     SCHOOL!! 

^he  opportunity  is  no^o)  offered  to  a,  limited  num- 
ber of  both  sexest  and  alt  ages  to  receive  the  personal 
supervision  of  an  experienced  teacher,  J^ith  a 
thoroughly  equipped  school  room,  constantly  increasing 
facilities  for  illustrating  and  explaining  lessons, 
up-to-date  methods,  eic*,  etc* 

Lessons  in  Oil,  Water  Color  and  Pastel  Painting 
every  afternoon*     Sketching  from  Nature  a  specialty* 

First-class  references  from  long-time  residents* 
,  ^^sume  regular  duties  September  t5,  1902* 

A*  A*  %IKEMAN, 

Duboise  Ave., 
Mamaroneck,  N.  Y. 


...      -  1931